The Switch to Prozinc, Part 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan and Timmy

Member Since 2017
Timmy is at 47 @ +5. He is having his second LC snack and I will test again in 15 minutes and will post. Yikes!! :nailbiting: At +4 he was 154, didn't see this coming at all.
 
That was a big drop and congrats on the reduction tonight! Looks like he nadirs sometime around +6 -7 so he might need a bit more than LC if the next number is coming up for you. He is responding nicely to the ProZinc.
 
No, I was able to steer him with LC food, thank goodness!! I had my hypo kit out and ready just in case though. He is 137 now and sleeping in a sunbeam in the middle of the floor...completely oblivious to the morning events.
Susan, great job steering with LC food :). Grats on your reduction, Timmy!
Remember, don't be surprised if he spends a little time on the trampoline tonight after that lime green. Stick with the reduced dose, numbers permitting :cat:
 
Susan, if after yesterday you just need a couple of more relaxed days, please ignore me....

But I'm wondering about having your AM and PM doses vary a bit? Timmy is still too high in the evening (last night was to be expected - I'm looking at his past week). That may be because he's getting such strong responses in the morning cycle that he's staying high at night - kind of like a mini-bounce every night. But I'm wondering if trying him at 2u in the evening and 1.75 during the day might even that out a bit? It may need to be even more than that at night, but I really don't like having the doses get too far apart from each other if we can help it.

Even if those evening cycles are mini-bounces, there is a school of thought that you shoot through the bounce - meaning that after a low like yesterday, you don't lower the dose until after the high flat cycle(s), since that higher cycle needs more insulin, not less insulin. That is another one of those strategies that does require a skilled bean to manage it, but you've shown yourself plenty capable if you want to consider it.

Again though, this is a more aggressive approach, and I wouldn't suggest it to everyone. It never hurts my feelings if you don't want to try it. :)
 
Susan, if after yesterday you just need a couple of more relaxed days, please ignore me....

But I'm wondering about having your AM and PM doses vary a bit? Timmy is still too high in the evening (last night was to be expected - I'm looking at his past week). That may be because he's getting such strong responses in the morning cycle that he's staying high at night - kind of like a mini-bounce every night. But I'm wondering if trying him at 2u in the evening and 1.75 during the day might even that out a bit? It may need to be even more than that at night, but I really don't like having the doses get too far apart from each other if we can help it.

Even if those evening cycles are mini-bounces, there is a school of thought that you shoot through the bounce - meaning that after a low like yesterday, you don't lower the dose until after the high flat cycle(s), since that higher cycle needs more insulin, not less insulin. That is another one of those strategies that does require a skilled bean to manage it, but you've shown yourself plenty capable if you want to consider it.

Again though, this is a more aggressive approach, and I wouldn't suggest it to everyone. It never hurts my feelings if you don't want to try it. :)
I was thinking last night that it's great that he earned a reduction, but how to get those preshot numbers lower? I'm willing to give it a try starting tonight. I'm wishing for yellow preshot numbers now, go figure. :)
 
Reductions are tricky.

Sometimes there are cycles that just run higher than normal. Sometimes there are cycles that run lower than normal. When the low cycles happen, we usually reduce, because safety matters - but sometimes it turns out that the low cycle was just an anomaly and not really that the dose was too high. Only way to know is to reduce, wait a few cycles, see what happens, and then either hold the reduction, or end up increasing again. Yong is right - the pre-shots should come down as he spends more time in the blues and greens, but it does take time. It's frequently said around here that our kitties didn't become diabetic overnight, and they won't heal overnight either. That's why we all have patience pants. And wine. ;)

I love that you want yellow pre-shots now! Fingers crossed that you start to see more and more of them!
 
Here is my favorite pair - wine included ;)

upload_2017-5-20_19-2-32.gif
 
Timmy's PMPS is 165 after stalling for 30 minutes. I am stalling for another 30 minutes to see if he comes up more. I have no data at this number.... @Kris & Teasel, @Djamila, @Rachel, @Yong. I will post again in 30 minutes. I was just getting comfortable with yellows.
 
Last edited:
Timmy has a history of being high at night, so I would hate to skip the dose altogether.

I think you could very safely shoot one unit if you're nervous about shooting a blue. You really don't have data on a low number, so better safe than sorry.

And if that makes you too nervous, you could skip it, but I would encourage you to get a mid-cycle even if you skip so you can see what he does on his own.
 
I agree that you could shoot 1 unit. That would be good data to have if you did since we would then know what he does on a blue. And remember this blue is almost a yellow. :)
 
I don't want to skip the dose. He is doing so well. I am going to give 1 unit and then freak out. :nailbiting: I was so not expecting a blue preshot. Even though I am nervous about shooting a blue, I am so excited about his numbers today!!! He has never had a day with these low numbers through preshots. :)
 
Last edited:
Yuck on that red. Well, I think we learned some important things about his low pre-shot number! At least during the PM cycle right now. Don't worry, he'll be back on track in no time!
 
Yuck on that red. Well, I think we learned some important things about his low pre-shot number! At least during the PM cycle right now. Don't worry, he'll be back on track in no time!
Learning is so good. When I saw that red this morning, I was thinking that he might be stuck in the higher numbers today, but he surprised me with some blues. I haven't seen good greens in a couple of days, hoping he gets there soon, like tomorrow.
 
Timmy is now 118 at +3.5. I gave him a tsp of LC food just to try to slow him down a bit. I'll test again in 15 minutes and see. Hopefully he slows down. Geesh! I said I wanted greens...tomorrow!
 
He is now 91 at +4. I'm going to give a tsp LC food one more time, just to slow him down a bit more. He's been around this range at +4 during the day, first time at night.
 
He's 79 at +5. He's holding. I'll keep monitoring for at least another hour or so to make sure he doesn't get to lime green. He was racing to those greens tonight. Maybe he is trying to make up for no greens over the past two days.
 
Woohoo! We have a PM green! Way to go, Timmy! And hang in there, mama bean! It's so exciting to see how well he's responding to prozinc! And Susan, you're doing such a great job of taking care of him!
 
Wow Timmy! Decided to head down that scale last night, huh?

You really ARE doing a great job Susan!!! He's super lucky to have you as a mama bean!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top