LOL I think you mean OTJ (Off the Juice) since OTC is Over The Counter. :lol:
But OTJ is when a kitty can maintain normal BG range of 40-120 without insulin for 14 days, with the majority of the numbers in double digits. Some walk them all the way down to just a drop, to give that you would push the plunger hard up against the bottom of the syringe, insert into the pen/vial and let the go of the plunger and give just what the plunger pulls in to the needle when it flexes back into place. Others if their cat is maintaining double digits and low 100s on .1 will stop insulin at that point and see if the cat can hold on it's own in the normal range. You can also do a food trial if you suspect your kitty wants off the juice by testing, (no shot) feeding, waiting 2 hours test again, wait another hour and test again. The food should bring them up slightly then the pancreas should kick in and drop them right back into normal numbers.
Here's where it gets tricky because every cat does it differently...My Maxwell I never dosed below .5 before he went OTJ, Cassanova I went to a .1 and then took him off and he held, My Autumn I think wants off but she's being a roller coaster ride of dives and bounces. She had me up late last night watching her like a Hawk but is back in the 400s this morning, but with her I think I have some other health concerns to address but don't expect her to be on insulin after Christmas if that long once we get her mouth cleaned up and her arthritis supplement kicks in.
Mel and The Fur Gang