Squeakycats
Member Since 2017
Here's my previous thread. Summary: I'm leaving for vacation and have settled on a pretty low dose (.25) as the "vacation dose" for my petsitter to use, since (1) she won't be able to test apart from mealtimes, and (2) it's not clear that she'll always be able to test at all; kitty cooperation level has not yet been established.
I have just now been awakened, at 2 a.m., by Mr. Hungry Cat. I've been letting him do this (make me get up to provide a snack) lately and using it as an occasion to test. Half-asleep, I sort of forgot that I'd only given .25 in the evening, so when his number was 235, I was temporarily like "What is this about?!? Did I have a fur shot?" I don't really know how high to expect that his numbers may go when the depot drains.
Here's my question: what might make me say to the petsitter "Hey, we need to go up to .5"? Is there a sort of opposite of a "no shoot" number? She'll only be testing at pre-shot. If his numbers are above 250, should we consider bumping up? Above 300? Higher? I think he'd probably be ok at .5--we're being conservative, since he'll be alone so much--so I don't want to do harm by letting him stay "too high." I just don't know what would count as "too high."
I want him to feel well enough to eat, for sure, and he almost certainly won't eat while she's standing there with him. Since I have another cat, it may be hard for her to assess whether he's eating well. (If he's feeling ok, I'm not concerned about it, based on past experience--but if his symptoms start kicking back in and he's nauseated or something, it might be an issue.)
As always, any advice much appreciated! I'm leaving in circa 9 hours...groan...back to bed, and then a crazy morning of packing ahead!
I have just now been awakened, at 2 a.m., by Mr. Hungry Cat. I've been letting him do this (make me get up to provide a snack) lately and using it as an occasion to test. Half-asleep, I sort of forgot that I'd only given .25 in the evening, so when his number was 235, I was temporarily like "What is this about?!? Did I have a fur shot?" I don't really know how high to expect that his numbers may go when the depot drains.
Here's my question: what might make me say to the petsitter "Hey, we need to go up to .5"? Is there a sort of opposite of a "no shoot" number? She'll only be testing at pre-shot. If his numbers are above 250, should we consider bumping up? Above 300? Higher? I think he'd probably be ok at .5--we're being conservative, since he'll be alone so much--so I don't want to do harm by letting him stay "too high." I just don't know what would count as "too high."
I want him to feel well enough to eat, for sure, and he almost certainly won't eat while she's standing there with him. Since I have another cat, it may be hard for her to assess whether he's eating well. (If he's feeling ok, I'm not concerned about it, based on past experience--but if his symptoms start kicking back in and he's nauseated or something, it might be an issue.)
As always, any advice much appreciated! I'm leaving in circa 9 hours...groan...back to bed, and then a crazy morning of packing ahead!
Last edited: