The day has arrived

Status
Not open for further replies.

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Well Smokey goes to vet today. :joyful:. And of course his AMPS is decent for him under 300. I hope vet will still consider changing his insulin. I am armed with my questions, have his stroller packed and have been waiting for a few weeks to get Smokey on track. I will do the switch Saturday morning since I'll be home for 4 days to watch him. But I'm sure when I come back from visit I will have questions on how to start.:nailbiting:
 
Well Smokey goes to vet today. :joyful:. And of course his AMPS is decent for him under 300. I hope vet will still consider changing his insulin. I am armed with my questions, have his stroller packed and have been waiting for a few weeks to get Smokey on track. I will do the switch Saturday morning since I'll be home for 4 days to watch him. But I'm sure when I come back from visit I will have questions on how to start.:nailbiting:
Sounds like you're more than ready, lol! Good luck, hope all goes smoothly! :):):)
 
Good luck today Paula, and doesn't it figure that he would start to fly right when you are ready to change the game plan???? :banghead:
 
Typical! That happens when I go to the doctor too. I can be sick as anything, then when I have my doc appt, I'm magically fine. That always happened with Marshmallow too. :rolleyes: Good luck and keep us posted!
 
Soooooo we are back from our visit. Smokey has lost 2 lbs since early July. Not enough food????? Diabetes???? Combination of both??????? So his canned food is getting increased. Had blood panel done I will have those results in a few days. He is sending them out because he wants a thyroid profile done. He drew blood by needle from the neck. He tested the blood using AT 2 meter and it was 227 which was +5. It will be interesting to see what the lab comes out with.

So we will start Lantus at 1u. I question the low dose but couldn't argue his reasoning so 1u it is to begin Saturday. I asked how often to test and how do I know when to adjust dose. He said to test Amps, pmps, +3, +6 for 5 days. Email my ss to him every week. I will talk with him before that when I get lab results. Asked about when not to shoot. He said we need to see how lantus works on him and he said "I trust you judgment, you know what your doing, have faith in yourself". You can always call me. I think I would feel better having a stop number, but that can be determined later. So now I have to get syringes. They only had cc syringes or the u40.
 
Good luck with the switch Paula. Hopefully the peeps here will be able to give you some guidance with your dosing and a stop number. I feel your anxiety. But, the good news is that you have served Smokey well from the get go. Look how you walked into the hypo event when you first arrived at the forum and you did great. You'll continue to do well.
 
Good luck with the switch Paula. Hopefully the peeps here will be able to give you some guidance with your dosing and a stop number. I feel your anxiety. But, the good news is that you have served Smokey well from the get go. Look how you walked into the hypo event when you first arrived at the forum and you did great. You'll continue to do well.

That was a night. I just introduced myself and wham!!!! I probably should have gone to the hospital but it's 45 minutes away and no one to go with me last 20 minutes there is no where to pull over so I wouldn't have been able to give him syrup and it was 1am. Felt he was better off home than not getting treatment for that length of time. And then again a few nights later. Considering his amps I wonder how low he got last night. How many nights was he low and didn't know it. Nights is his problem, why what's different. Oh well guess I'll never know.
 
That was a night. I just introduced myself and wham!!!! I probably should have gone to the hospital but it's 45 minutes away and no one to go with me last 20 minutes there is no where to pull over so I wouldn't have been able to give him syrup and it was 1am. Felt he was better off home than not getting treatment for that length of time. And then again a few nights later. Considering his amps I wonder how low he got last night. How many nights was he low and didn't know it. Nights is his problem, why what's different. Oh well guess I'll never know.
Yeah that was a time for you, I was breaking out in a cold sweat reading it! You were probably right about staying home and handling it rather than a 20 minute commute with no care........it was a tough call but you made the right decision. Not sure why nights are lower for most cats.
 
Good luck with the insulin switch, Paula. It's nice you vet trusts you, but it would be nice with a little more guidance too... Maybe he's like my vet and not very familiar with Lantus? I think I'm his guinnea pig for Levemir! Thank goodness for this forum!!!
 
Paula, I think the "no shot" number for Lantus newbies is 200 but the people on the Lantus forum can confirm that. Good luck with the switch and let us know how it goes!
 
He said we need to see how lantus works on him and he said "I trust you judgment, you know what your doing, have faith in yourself". .

What a great thing for a vet to say! I hope it made you feel proud - it should! Think about much you have learned since that first scary night!
 
Am sitting out here reading through this thread, and just want to say: I'm really rooting for you & Smokey; I have my fingers & toes crossed that this switch to Lantus will make for a great success story!:):bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top