The color of stable green or blue/green

Status
Not open for further replies.

Los Gatos

Member
What numbers am I aiming for? Low/mid 100s or low 100's with some mid/high 100's?
He is on PZI 12/12 and it seems to be lasting longer than the 12 hours. In the past 6 days I've all but burned through a tube of strips and Fluff suspects he is a pincushion.
 
With PZI, we look for a smile curve. Higher at AM and PM, lower in the middle. Fluff seems to stay fairly flat. Lots of kitties with blue preshots have green nadirs. I wonder if reducing the dose would help? It looks like when you reduce, you have lower preshots. Maybe 1.5 as an experiment? Providing you can monitor if course...
 
I'm thinking the lower I go, I keep pushing the nadir out farther. I'd hate to experiment more with him just to see green if I don't have to.

Fluff hit a all time PS low 123 :mrgreen: I may have jump started him. Still lethargic,sleepy,depressed,unhappy and stressed :-D
ie: Very Normal
First time in a very long time, I've caught him drinking.
 
It looks like Fluff is getting excellent duration. However, I'd caution you that shooting that 123 this morning, and the 129 two nights ago is awfully low to be shooting without a lot of data to show it's safe. I'd keep a really close eye on Fluff's numbers this morning. For example, during the PM cycle of 6/29, I suspect Fluff may have dropped quite a bit lower early in the cycle, and the 90 you caught at +4 was when he was already on his way back up. The following cycle - AM of 6/30 was flatter blue which could be some bouncing - although minimal - in response to what was likely a pretty low green number the night before. Without any night tests on 6/30, you also don't know how low he went on the 1.75 units on a preshot in the low 200's.

"Normal" numbers for a cat are generally 50-120, give or take. If you catch a number below 50, you're generally going to want to reduce your dose. On ProZinc - "well-regulated" would generally be pre-shots in the mid-200's or lower, with nadirs that are between 50-120, but not below 50.

I'm suspicious that Fluff may be giving you some lower numbers than you're catching. It does look like something has changed in the last few days - which means you're going to have to be really diligent. I would suggest getting a +2 or a +3 test after each shot. If the number is significantly lower than your Pre-shot, you can often anticipate that it's going to be a "busy" cycle - particularly if the +2 is lower, since that suggests an early onset of the insulin, or Fluff's pancreas is pulling down his pre-shot numbers on it's own.

I see some definite positive changes here, and you've got good reason to be excited! :mrgreen: BUT - I strongly suggest that you keep a very close eye on Fluff's numbers - particularly when your pre-shots are under 200.
 
Jen&Eddie said:
...I'd caution you that shooting that 123 this morning, and the 129 two nights ago is awfully low to be shooting without a lot of data to show it's safe.

...I'm suspicious that Fluff may be giving you some lower numbers than you're catching. It does look like something has changed in the last few days - which means you're going to have to be really diligent. I would suggest getting a +2 or a +3 test after each shot. If the number is significantly lower than your Pre-shot, you can often anticipate that it's going to be a "busy" cycle - particularly if the +2 is lower, since that suggests an early onset of the insulin, or Fluff's pancreas is pulling down his pre-shot numbers on it's own.

I see some definite positive changes here, and you've got good reason to be excited! :mrgreen: BUT - I strongly suggest that you keep a very close eye on Fluff's numbers - particularly when your pre-shots are under 200.

Jen has given you some extremely good advice.

Your cat's need for insulin is decreasing, and you're seeing better numbers. That's good news!
As a kitty's situation improves it can become necessary to give shots at lower preshot numbers. But this improving picture that you're seeing also requires that you show caution where needed, and monitor your kitty's blood glucose very closely indeed.
The 129 and 123 preshot numbers you got are normal blood glucose numbers for a kitty.
The general advice for folks new to diabetes is not to give a shot below 200 until the care-giver has data to indicate that this may be safe. And even very experienced folks who have a lot of data rarely give shots below a preshot of 150.

You're doing a great job. But do please be cautious.

Do you have a hypo kit on hand in the event that you find yourself faced with a very low number? (It can be as simple as glucose/karo and a supply of test strips. And some people like to give higher carb food (the type in gravy)). You may never need to use your hypo kit, but it is as well to be prepared.

Eliz
 
Of course.
Since I've started I don't let him go to his hidey hole where I can't watch him until a good 5+. Just tested him after reading this and it was a 94. I'll retest in another ~20min and at the top of the next.
I never want to see a 50, I'll accept a 75 though.
I almost feel impelled to give him a shot when over 100+, to keep his system acclimated to the PZI and dose level stable. Otherwise I could be chasing numbers by using too different of doses. (if that makes sense)
Great advice, thank you very much.
 
Hypo kit:
A can or 2 of high carb gravvied food
Karo or other sugar type syrup
Oral syringe

Short version of low number/hypo protocol:
If a test results in number below 50 mg/dL on a human meter, re-test asap
If test 2 confirms low number, give 1-2 teaspoons of high carb gravvied food
Wait 20-30 minutes
Re-test
Repeat as needed.

You want at least 3 rising numbers and to be past the nadir (lowest glucose level) before stopping.
Post on Health for more immediate replies to a request for help.
 
The less PZI I give him the lower his numbers are today. I better see some high 100's or 200's in the AM or no nasty wet food for him....
7/1 PM <1U and +4 is 84 10 days ago it was 3U and 300's dropped down from 4U.

Hmm, regardless of the dose the apparent nadir is the same???
 
He may be moving towards remission if you have been able to drop the dose successively.

Nadir is usually closer to +5 to +6 with BCP PZI and ProZinc; you want to check a tad later to see if goes even lower. Be cautions about shooting below 150 mg/dL on pre-shot; you may want to further reduce to 0.5 units when shooting that low, especially if you won't be home to intervene should he hypo on you.

Normal numbers without insulin are 40 to 120 mg/dL on a human glucometer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top