Thanks

MemberLeftDueToAbusiveMod

Member Since 2023
Thanks for the help guys. I guess this is the end of the road for help available for Artemis and I here. It's been real. I'll take it from here and hope for the best. Bye.
 
Don't know how your last 2 condos got missed. :confused: Like Elise said, sometimes members don't get a response but it's not intentional. In such cases we ask the members to use the "?" prefix in the thread title so people scanning the board know there is a question.

Link to previous condos:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-amps-370-3-280-8-352-11-311-pmps-349.281021/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...317-5-271-8-305-pmps-333-2-317-11-302.280989/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...325-6-335-9-304-pmps-411-2-396-10-322.280914/
 
I really do need the guidance. I will certainly stay if I can get the help and if I know I can count on folks to be flexible and understanding with me. I have a lot going on in my life and this has been the hardest year of my life so far. I'm not always able to read a lot nor be as consistent as I would like with forum formating etc. I'm certainly not a fan of following vets recommendations of blind shooting 5u 2x daily. Would much rather Artemis have guidance from those that already did this. I'm just trying to survive and put food and insulin on the table and keep a roof over our heads. I'm a turbulent spot right now so I appreciate everyone's patience and understanding. I love this cat and we've invested a lot into one another over the last 11 years. Certainly think he deserves the best help he can get. I just know my limits as a human being and I am pretty much at that limit now and calling for help.


Thanks for the replies and thanks for asking me to stick around. I'll put a ? on recent question post.
 
We are here to help :bighug:


Sounds like there's no reason not to do TR for this week then, would you say so?
As long as he's eating low carb wet food and you can get the tests in, I say go for it.
Were you able to decide on following TR? It does look like Artemis needs more insulin and TR will help you get him to a good dose sooner. Will you be able to get at least 4 tests a day? 2 preshots and 2 mid-cycle? Since TR is a more aggressive protocol, they are additional requirements of testing as a safety measure. Sometimes cats go lower at night and bounce in the day - which is why we suggest getting tests in both cycles to ensure we are seeing the full picture.


Took BG at 6:30 AM and got a 302.
Fed Artemis and waited an hour to take AMPS.
Got 370 and administered the 1.5u with some more food.
3 hours in and he's at 280.

How does this progression look taking yesterday into account? Time for a dose increase?
Like Elise said, with glargine, you test, feed, shoot in 15 mins. No need to wait 30 mins to an hour after food to give insulin.
 
Does this signature look ok?
You don't need to put in the dose (that keeps changing) - just the name of the insulin (glargine) is enough. And if you've decided between TR and SLGS, please add that to the Signature?

The spreadsheet and signature are the things we look at when asked for advice. It saves us asking you the same questions again and again - especially when the question is time critical like stalling or low numbers. It also saves you the effort of giving us the information every time you post! :-)
 
Were you able to decide on following TR? It does look like Artemis needs more insulin and TR will help you get him to a good dose sooner. Will you be able to get at least 4 tests a day? 2 preshots and 2 mid-cycle? Since TR is a more aggressive protocol, they are additional requirements of testing as a safety measure. Sometimes cats go lower at night and bounce in the day - which is why we suggest getting tests in both cycles to ensure we are seeing the full picture.

Yes, I'm good with doing TR for one week from today. Just want to know if I can switch to Friskies to save some money for a bit. If so, which one should I get?

Travel starts next Friday morning.
Will be on road with Arty for 2 days Sept 8-10th.
Then gone for at least 8 hours a day from the hotel (September 11 through Sept 15th/16th).
KOA, tent, then hotel for the 11th through 16th. Protocol just needs to be simplified with fewer tests no later than next Friday morning September 8th at 4AM Mountain Daylight Time.

Like Elise said, with glargine, you test, feed, shoot in 15 mins. No need to wait 30 mins to an hour after food to give insulin.

Yes, I'm aware and have been doing this since switching from vetsulin. Not sure what I wrote that insinuated I was waiting 30 min or more. Could you share?
 
And please put back your signature with spreadsheet link. If you need help Bhoona can do it for you easily :bighug:
I’m helping her with this. Thanks, Elise.

You don't need to put in the dose (that keeps changing) - just the name of the insulin (glargine) is enough. And if you've decided between TR and SLGS, please add that to the Signature?

The spreadsheet and signature are the things we look at when asked for advice. It saves us asking you the same questions again and again - especially when the question is time critical like stalling or low numbers. It also saves you the effort of giving us the information every time you post! :)
I’m taking care of this, Bhooma. I’m just waiting on some info. Thank you!
 
Yes, I'm good with doing TR for one week from today.
Excellent! Then please take him up to 1.75U tonight. Will you be able to get a test before bed? Say +2 or later? Btw, did you not give insulin last night? The SS says "0" in the units cell.

Just want to know if I can switch to Friskies to save some money for a bit. If so, which one should I get?
Friskies pates are low carb. I'm not in the US - are they cheaper than Fancy Feast pates?
 
Excellent! Then please take him up to 1.75U tonight. Will you be able to get a test before bed? Say +2 or later? Btw, did you not give insulin last night? The SS says "0" in the units cell.


Friskies pates are low carb. I'm not in the US - are they cheaper than Fancy Feast pates?
No insulin last night. I was in the emergency room and didn't get home until 4AM.

After PM I can do +2 for sure. Maybe +3. Usually can get a +11 or +10 in the morning.

Friskies is much cheaper than FF on an oz per oz basis.
 
I just noticed you are waiting to dose after preshots. With Lantus you test, feed and shoot all within 5-10 minutes. You don’t wait like with Vetsulin.
I'm not waiting 30 minutes anymore since switching. I do test first and feed and then shoot. All within 15 minutes. Not sure where I wrote I was waiting 30 min still. Sometimes he's begging for food and it's too early for his shot so I'll test and see where he's at, feed, then do my AMPS or PMPS measurement when it's time for the shot and feed again and then shoot.
 
@Twinkleboots

While redoing your signature block, we discussed ketones and testing. Here is a post which will help. You can buy urine ketone testing strips (just get the ketone ones and not the ones that also test sugar in the urine) at Walmart or any pharmacy. The biggest thing is you must read the results at exactly 15 seconds (or whatever the bottle states but it’s usually 15 secs). The post gives tips on how to catch urine and test it.
 
@Twinkleboots

While redoing your signature block, we discussed ketones and testing. Here is a post which will help. You can buy urine ketone testing strips (just get the ketone ones and not the ones that also test sugar in the urine) at Walmart or any pharmacy. The biggest thing is you must read the results at exactly 15 seconds (or whatever the bottle states but it’s usually 15 secs). The post gives tips on how to catch urine and test it.

Sorry, I can't seem to find where they explain how to collect the ketone sample. Can you point me in the right direction? I understand what ketones are and how a ketone test strip works. I just don't know how to get kitty's pee. He'll freak out if I try and mess with him in his litter-box I am sure of it.
 
Hi Josh so sorry I missed your thread, I know exactly how you feel and I felt the same way a few times. I was ready to bail on this forum and never come back, I felt really hurt.

but, in the end I put my own feelings aside because tbh I desperately needed the help and I was not willing to let my cat down. And so glad I did, after getting over that rough patch I have never looked back.

It is hard to not take it personally when you see other threads getting tons of replies and it feels for all the world like yours is just being ignored! Even though in reality it is not personal, nobody is ignoring you...it just gets missed.

Again I am sorry that happened to you. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hi Josh, with TR you can increase every the dose by 0.25U every 6 cycles till you start seeing nadirs below 200. This morning would have been 10 cycles at 1.75U for Artemis? He looks good for an increase to 2U. With TR, you want to get at least 1 mid-cycle test in addition to the preshot test.
 
Hi Josh, with TR you can increase every the dose by 0.25U every 6 cycles till you start seeing nadirs below 200. This morning would have been 10 cycles at 1.75U for Artemis? He looks good for an increase to 2U. With TR, you want to get at least 1 mid-cycle test in addition to the preshot test.
Hi. Thanks, I understand. I'm starting him on 2 tonight.

I'm not able to get the mid cycle tests all the time unfortunately.
 
No luck with Friskies pates either?
NO. Friskies is the devil for this cat. He'll never eat that again. Something seriously wrong with it for him at least. Besides, the carb content of Friskies pate is way higher than the Docs chart - guaranteed. It needs updated for Friskies I can assure you.

Good luck with the increase!
Thanks! I assume He'll be at 2.25+ by next week.

I don't see data on your SS after AM+10 on 9/5. I'm assuming you have been on 1.75 from the PM of 9/1 to the AM of 9/6.
Yep, that's right. 10 cycles. I forgot I hadn't filled in values yet. Busy busy. Life won't stop.
 
Back
Top