Thanks for advice and support, keep it up

Status
Not open for further replies.
thank you, thank you, the support has been so important to me, like nearly everyone faced with that diagnosis (hey, this hit me harder than when I got my own cancer diagnosis 6 years ago) -- stress, worry, sympathetic cringing, frustration that I can't make it better NOW, and having to fight with my emotional support animal and cuddle bug, less vitamin P (purr), and the intense desire to learn all I can to help

I think you described all the things I went through, too. Some days I do all over again. I think we all know. :bighug:


I imagine the vet's numbers won't match mine since she'll probably be using a pet meter and mine tests humans -- had to laugh, in putting away the syringe after the shot, I pricked myself, got a nice round blood droplet, so what the hey, shoved another test strip in the meter and got MY result (115, not bad since I'd already eaten half of my own dinner, LOL) .. now wouldn't it be great if Catcat's lancet ear prick produced as nice a drop as his smaller syringe needle did on the side of my palm (thumb side)-- I barely felt it, didn't think anything til I saw the blood well up

I brought my meter along to the vet once so we could test the same bleed with her alphatrak 2 and my freestyle lite and see how the numbers compared.
Alice is always way higher and more stressed at the vet.
And when I was learning to use my meter, I tested it on myself more than once, for practice. Lol.
 
Sorry to hear about the cancer dx, how are you doing now? The caregiver has to remember to take care of themselves even when the patient is a feline not a human! ;)
actually had a far easier journey through the cancer, for one, I had suspected it, Kaiser had been "following" me for several years of mammograms, my immune system had been fighting it off for some time and with the new digital mammograms, they found it "early", cancer was tiny (4 mm .. yes mm not cm), mostly removed anyway during biopsy, and I elected double mastectomy with no further surgery since it was a type known to be invasive; more than six years since surgery, no recurrence -- and I'm surprisingly happy with a preteen figure again
 
I think you described all the things I went through, too. Some days I do all over again. I think we all know. :bighug:




I brought my meter along to the vet once so we could test the same bleed with her alphatrak 2 and my freestyle lite and see how the numbers compared.
Alice is always way higher and more stressed at the vet.
And when I was learning to use my meter, I tested it on myself more than once, for practice. Lol.
I took my meter along to the vet this morning along with Catcat, food, and insulin -- she told me the test numbers wouldn't match, and thanks to all of you and your experiences, I could say "yeah, I know" -- she decided to keep the meter and compare each test with both her meter and mine, so we'll have another set of data; though I'm sure stress will play a big part in the curves she gets with both meters -- will have time this afternoon, 5:30-ish, to discuss with her whatever is going on and where we go from here, I am SO pleased with this new vet, smaller more rural practice, they take time to listen to everything, place smells and looks so much cleaner, as if they've used enzymes to clean rather than conventional chemicals
 
actually had a far easier journey through the cancer, for one, I had suspected it, Kaiser had been "following" me for several years of mammograms, my immune system had been fighting it off for some time and with the new digital mammograms, they found it "early", cancer was tiny (4 mm .. yes mm not cm), mostly removed anyway during biopsy, and I elected double mastectomy with no further surgery since it was a type known to be invasive; more than six years since surgery, no recurrence -- and I'm surprisingly happy with a preteen figure again

Wow, that's great they were able to catch it so early!
 
I'm feeling better, LOL -- just got Catcat back from the vet, she was going to use my meter to test for the curve, as well as theirs, and guess what? she couldn't get the ReliOn Prime to work, kept getting Error messages! makes me less critical of myself for goofing up several times ---

how's about this for a curve (on her Alphatrax) preshot 418; +2 132; +4 52 (eek); +6 87; +8 125 .. @Jasper Blue and Jay .. I see your drop and raise you one ... LOL

preshot probably high because of stress, Catcat isn't happy to go in carrier (especially with no breakfast, he was searching for food at 5 AM and vet doesn't open till 8), nor in car, though they say he was "a gentleman" about behavior at vet

anyway, per vet (my own opinion too) we're dropping dosage back to 1 unit Vetsulin, and thinking about switching to Lantus if it appears the insulin is not effective for 12 hours; that is, if Catcat doesn't transition to remission instead; there's someone offering "leftover" nonexpired Lantus only about 65 miles from us; vet says our local independent pharmacy has "the best price around", will check but it sounded like quoted price in the ballpark from Mark's in Canada, if you add the shipping on; not sure if state sales tax (~10% here) applies to insulin, food is tax free
 
Last edited:
another happy note, I thought Catcat was gaining weight and vet remarked upon that before I brought it up; I also got the printouts of his diagnostic tests, found out his diagnostic initial BG was 511 ... so his AM preshot at vet being 418 today, obviously things are happening, others have told me that the diet change to low carb wet will drop BG as much as 100 pts and it appears that is true for Catcat too
 
What is it with these vets who seem to know so little about feline diabetes, don't want us to home test, and so forth? Yup, when M'row was first diagnosed, I was a basket case for two-three months; reading here, that seems to be common. The word "doctor" means "teacher" in Latin BTW. I've learned vastly more about feline diabetes from this website than from the vet (imagine huge gratitude emoticon here). M'row now four months into being a sugarkitty and doing great. And, the website is always available if I (as usual) want more info, unlike the vet.
 
I'm feeling better, LOL -- just got Catcat back from the vet, she was going to use my meter to test for the curve, as well as theirs, and guess what? she couldn't get the ReliOn Prime to work, kept getting Error messages! makes me less critical of myself for goofing up several times ---

how's about this for a curve (on her Alphatrax) preshot 418; +2 132; +4 52 (eek); +6 87; +8 125 .. @Jasper Blue and Jay .. I see your drop and raise you one ... LOL

preshot probably high because of stress, Catcat isn't happy to go in carrier (especially with no breakfast, he was searching for food at 5 AM and vet doesn't open till 8), nor in car, though they say he was "a gentleman" about behavior at vet

anyway, per vet (my own opinion too) we're dropping dosage back to 1 unit Vetsulin, and thinking about switching to Lantus if it appears the insulin is not effective for 12 hours; that is, if Catcat doesn't transition to remission instead; there's someone offering "leftover" nonexpired Lantus only about 65 miles from us; vet says our local independent pharmacy has "the best price around", will check but it sounded like quoted price in the ballpark from Mark's in Canada, if you add the shipping on; not sure if state sales tax (~10% here) applies to insulin, food is tax free


Oh wow!

Yeah I think the pet meters require less blood than the Prime/Premier so maybe they were trying with too small a sample? lol

Yeah, THAT is a drop! lol Yikes! Glad you're lowering to 1unit!

Aww, he was a gentleman, well done CatCat! :bighug:
 
could be the drop is not as precipitous here at home, since Catcat is bugging me for food at least every couple of hours, so the intermittent 1 oz snacks may smooth out the insulin action, those may be low carb but not ZERO carb, I didn't ask the vet if they'd fed him anything at that 4 hour low spot, but I doubt it, testing testing 1 2 3 4 ... of course they weren't messing with his ears, and were very calm and methodical, not adrenaline flooded and shaky like me ... tomorrow may be tough on him, as I need to drive hubby a couple hours north to Seattle for a possible surgery consult, we need to leave by 6 to dodge the worst of the commuter traffic jams, and who knows when we'll get home, appointment is around 9 but so few times are the doctors actually ready for us at the appointed time .. and taking Catcat along with us is out of the question
 
Last edited:
Yeah, THAT is a drop! lol Yikes! Glad you're lowering to 1unit!

@CandyH so agreeing here, glad you are dropping the dose!! I wish when he hit 52 at +4 that they had gotten a +5 also. A +3 might be useful data sometime too, if you can get +5s and +3s on your own eventually! :) it will help establish peak time. Especially since vetsulin could peak sooner and lower.

But Catcat, you're doing great! :D
 
Oh wow!

Yeah I think the pet meters require less blood than the Prime/Premier so maybe they were trying with too small a sample? lol
less blood, and who knows, she might have been putting the test strip in wrong way to, or -- I found you need to get the angle of the strip into the blood just right, or it fails to do the "sip" correctly, and you get an Error "not enough blood" even though there's plenty to sample from -- or maybe she was trying to gather the blood at the side of the strip instead of the end? or it turned off on her as it did to me several times
 
could be the drop is not as precipitous here at home, since Catcat is bugging me for food at least every couple of hours, so the intermittent 1 oz snacks may smooth out the insulin action, those may be low carb but not ZERO carb, I didn't ask the vet if they'd fed him anything at that 4 hour low spot, but I doubt it, testing testing 1 2 3 4 ... of course they weren't messing with his ears, and were very calm and methodical, not adrenaline flooded and shaky like me ... tomorrow may be tough on him, as I need to drive hubby a couple hours north to Seattle for a possible surgery consult, we need to leave by 6 to dodge the worst of the commuter traffic jams, and who knows when we'll get home, appointment is around 9 but so few times are the doctors actually ready for us at the appointed time .. and taking him along with us is out of the question

I hope tomorrow goes well! Make sure he has plenty if water as he may be a bit thirstier if his sugar is higher due to a missed shot! But without additional complications to consider, he may not feel his best but should be alright if you can't get home in time to shoot. You can also delay. But plenty of cats miss their insulin dose via a missed shot here and there and cope fine.
 
less blood, and who knows, she might have been putting the test strip in wrong way to, or -- I found you need to get the angle of the strip into the blood just right, or it fails to do the "sip" correctly, and you get an Error "not enough blood" even though there's plenty to sample from -- or maybe she was trying to gather the blood at the side of the strip instead of the end? or it turned off on her as it did to me several times

I'm just imagining your vet stumbling through all of this but like it's a silly cartoon version. How stressful though! I wish you had a meter like mine. It doesn't take much blood at all and sounds like it's easier!
 
@CandyH so agreeing here, glad you are dropping the dose!! I wish when he hit 52 at +4 that they had gotten a +5 also. A +3 might be useful data sometime too, if you can get +5s and +3s on your own eventually! :) it will help establish peak time. Especially since vetsulin could peak sooner and lower.

But Catcat, you're doing great! :D
yes, exactly, I would have loved to have them check every hour, but hey, it's worth it to have a consistent test done, since I'd only been able to get a couple of PMPS values four days apart; I'm so proud of Catcat, he didn't ACT stressed when I picked him up this evening, and oddly he wasn't as ravenous either; tomorrow I'll educate myself on the operation of the Confirm I just bought, with luck the smaller sample size needed will smooth out the testing .. plus I got a couple of baby mittens to fill with rice and stitch closed, that I can warm up, he might like those better than the cotton balls I've been using
 
Last edited:
yes, exactly, I would have loved to have them check every hour, but hey, it's worth it to have a consistent test done, since I'd only been able to get a couple of PMPS values four days aoart; I'm so proud of Catcat, he didn't ACT stressed when I picked him up this evening, and oddly he wasn't as ravenous either; tomorrow I'll educate myself on the operation of the Confirm I just bought, with luck the smaller sample size needed will smooth out the testing .. plus I got a couple of baby mittens to fill with rice and stitch closed, that I can warm up, he might like those better than the cotton balls I've been using

Baby mittens! Brilliant! :) It really does help make the process smoother to have their ears warmed!
 
I hope tomorrow goes well! Make sure he has plenty if water as he may be a bit thirstier if his sugar is higher due to a missed shot! But without additional complications to consider, he may not feel his best but should be alright if you can't get home in time to shoot. You can also delay. But plenty of cats miss their insulin dose via a missed shot here and there and cope fine.
you are so right, he always has a full bowl of water up here in the loft where he eats and hangs out with me, and the dog has a gallon-plus water bowl down on the main level that he drinks from when he's down there -- I'm not altogether sure I didn't do a fur-shot last evening which might explain that high morning BG, it didn't feel quite the same but I figured it was because I was using an area further down his spine near the flank, and he doesn't like being touched there
 
I'm just imagining your vet stumbling through all of this but like it's a silly cartoon version. How stressful though! I wish you had a meter like mine. It doesn't take much blood at all and sounds like it's easier!
yes, with purrrr-severance (I'm remembering a storybook from childhood, chorus was "purrrseverance pays") I managed to find and buy the very last ReliOn Confirm in three counties at least, and it requires a .3 ml like the Freestyle does, in contrast to the Prime's .5 ml -- I actually have a Freestyle Lite left over from hubby's try of monitoring, years back, and the battery is still good, it turns on, but I looked at the price of strips and went OUCH .. maybe someone will come along with unexpired strips that fit it, at a price that doesn't shock me
 
darn it's difficult to get the preshot test, but I managed it again tonight, amid growls and spits, but this time I had both meters ready, the Prime I've been using, and the Confirm I just got .. I hit the edge of a previous bruise (didn't intend to, he jerked) so I had more than plenty blood for both, and I had a tiny plastic spoon (Baskins&Robbins sample size) to scoop up blood if I needed to, turned out it wasn't necessary this time -- so -- Prime recorded 318, Confirm recorded 298. he's just finished his "treat" which is actually the first 1/3 of his evening meal; in a few minutes he'll get the rest, and the adjusted 1 unit of Vetsulin, and in a couple of hours I'll give him his bedtime "mugup" of Fancy Feast .. maybe that way his nadir won't go as low during the night, that late at night I'm too shaky to try to get a test
 
getting closer to acquiring enough test results to figure out how to do a spreadsheet -- thanks to the smaller, easier, test strip for the Confirm, I have my first AMPS

321 this morning, and the little sample spoon to scoop up the droplet, worked great, I could let the cat go instead of fighting him to get the test strip into the drop on his ear -- I showed him the can of Instinct food just before I unveiled the lancet, that might have helped too
 
thought about what I posted this morning, tried an experiment tonight -- I've set up a test site at the foot of the mattress, where Catcat often curls to sleep, put down a soft green plaid flannel shirt (from the ragbag) and set all my test materials up next to it -- then I picked up one of the unopened catfood cans and shook it and clucked at Catcat to get his attention, then showed it to him, put it down on the shirt, showed it to him and prrupted at him, he leaped up onto the shirt and there I got the test, then as soon as I got the meter reading (and it was far easier this time) I jumped over and loaded up Catcat's feeding dish with his pre-shot half of the evening feeding

yes he knows what that can contains !!!! :joyful::joyful::joyful: :woot: :)

oh I am so happy that the Confirm strip takes only a cat-size drop to give the reading ... PMPS was 261 today so I think our schedule of feeding mini meals at +2, +4, +6, and +8 may be helping smooth out his glucose curve
 
morning PS was 287 -- he got food enough last night at +2 that he left some behind, I've been short on sleep for awhile since he wakes us up at 5 AM wanting food, being a real pill about it too (may be stressing him), and he's on an 8 AM>8 PM schedule for now -- so no, I didn't wake up during the night to feed him --- if he keeps waking us that early I may gradually move to a 6 AM>6 PM instead, which would have the additional advantage of being able to feed snacks at +2 and +4 in the evening
 
Last edited:
did my best to set up spreadsheet this morning -- in case anyone wonders why I'm staying with the 1 unit dose -- vet did a curve last week while he was on 2u, and the +4 on her pet meter was 52 !!! .. as I get Catcat used to testing (he still growls, fights, and tries to bite and claw) I'll be able to get an in-home curve on my own Confirm meter to see if he's still crashing at nadir -- and to see if the ~ every 2 hour snack feeding is making a difference
 
can't seem to update the spreadsheet, posted that in the Test and Support forum too -- +4 today was 214 .. a far cry from vet's petmeter test at +4 which was 52 !!!

don't want him to go as low as he did on 2u at vet, would like to see him lower on 1u at home, other possibility is that I did another fur shot this morning, or the mini feeding I did at +2 is keeping glucose higher than if he didn't eat at all .. but at least the lowering from 287 preshot to 214 now, is a hopeful sign, and that may mean he doesn't bounce later
 
found one way, possibly the most roundabout, to update spreadsheet -- +6 value was 235 so on the upswing, leading me to believe that nadir is either prior to +4 or between +4 and +6... on the vet's curve -- 418>132>52>87>125 ... preshot>+8 ... I would infer the same thing ... will try again another day when I'm calm and cat is eager for post-test treat (he loves :cat: loves :p loves :joyful: that MeowMix seafood in sauce, he's searching everywhere for the least little spot or morsel left)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top