Thank you FDMB!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karen & Rudy

Member Since 2014
AMPS 134
+ 2 -164
+4 - 129
+5 -81
+5.5 - 64 - giving some treats
+6 - 46- gave a few more treats
+6.5 - 41- karo
+7 - 78 - gravy
+7.5 - 75
+8 -92
+8.5 -127
+10 - 251
PMPS - 420
 
Last edited:
Karen, rub some Karo syrup or honey on his gums, then follow with high-carb food, such as FF Gravy Lovers. Keep testing every half hour to see if his numbers are rising. If not, keep feeding high-carb food and Karo syrup. After 3 consecutive rises, you can breathe a little easier, but then test every hour until you're sure he's on his way to higher numbers and that he's going to stay that way. Good luck.

Here is a link to hypo instructions. Print it out so you will have it on hand when you need it. If Rudy doesn't get better numbers, soon, better give your vet a call for advice or an immediate appointment.
 
Do you have any corn syrup (Karo) or honey or maple syrup? Take a little bit and feed it to Rudy. Rub it on his gums if he won't eat it. Or mix it with some food and fed that.
 
OK- I have the karo syrup on hand but nothing with gravy. I can sent my husband out to get some- or should I see how the karo works?
 
ok- just sent hubby to the store- it's close so he should only be 20 minutes total. I just gave Rudy some karo- he actually likes it and licked it right off my fingers! at least that made me laugh... now he's eating his regular food. hopefully he is still hungry by time the gravy food gets here
 
THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!! I honestly don't know what I would do without the wonderful people on this board :-) crossing fingers we can get him up and not go to emergency today....
 
One of the times Hannah dropped too low, I had no high-carb food in the house, so used Karo and her regular food. Within an hour or so, she began to rise to better and safer numbers. I know how frightening this can be. Is he showing any signs of hypo, other than those low numbers?
 
This morning's dose of 3.50 was too much for his lower AMPS number. Perhaps you should try to dose on a sliding scale, based on his pre-shot numbers. That's what I do with Hannah. I'm not good at dosing advice, so maybe someone else can recommend what you should do the next time he gets a nice, blue number. If that number belonged to Hannah (ha, in my dreams), I probably would not have given insulin.
 
And remember that once he gets out of hypo range, it's very possible that his numbers this evening will be high. One, because of all the karo and high carb food. Two, because he will likely "bounce" high after his low. So tonight you should reduce his dose. You also need to have a no shot number. As Blamethecats and Hannah said, 3.5 was way too high for his pre-shot number. Maybe check in again before shooting tonight?
 
He is actually behaving pretty well...he is awake and laying in the living room watching me pace and panic! lol
My husband got up this morning and gave him his dose. He feels really bad about it, he didn't realize that he should have gone much lower with such a low pre shot number. We are very new to Rudy being under 200....and now he goes this low...really throwing us off
 
The fact that he's showing no signs of hypo is good. Plus, Prozinc usually nadirs (with Hannah) anywhere between +4 and +7 hours. Since you are already at the +7 mark, we hope Rudy should start rising. What's he at, now? Tell hubby not to feel bad. He was just doing his best to help. Next time he will know better.
 
He just tested at 78! omg yay!!!! the karo is working :) we'll test in 1/2 hour to make sure it is going up still... maybe we don't need the gravy ;-) THANK YOU!!!
Woo hoo, Rudy... and Karen... and hubby, too! Good news. Keep in mind this is only a temporary rise with the Karo. I'd give him about a teaspoon of that gravy from the high-carb food, just as an added buffer. I know you probably hate to do that, as don't want to boost his numbers too high, but better high for a day than too low for a minute. Just give about a teaspoon. Trust me, he's gonna love that and be a very happy boy. Just did this with Hannah a few days ago and she thought she was in kitty heaven.
 
I'm taking a short break, too. Will check in every few minutes to make sure everything is okay and will be back to see what Rudy's numbers are in about a half hour. I think you've got the hang of this. Good job! It's a heck of a way to learn, isn't it!? We've all done it... you're not alone, here.
 
so...his PMPS is 420. can we do his regular dose of 3.5? or should we scale it back tonight? if he has a normal morning test should we stay at our regular dose too?
 
Good jobs dealing with the low numbers today! I'd reduce the dose tonight, even though he is high (probably a combo of high carb and a bounce) mostly so you can rest tonight and not worry. Maybe 2 units?

I'd argue that you need to have at least a bit of a sliding scale (clearly 3.5 might be okay at 330+ but not at lower levels) We generally encourage ProZinc users not to shoot under 150, to be sure the number is rising, not falling and to shoot a mini dose, not a full dose.

If you'd like some help setting up a sliding scale, let me know.
 
Thank you so much for everyone's help today! I've seen others post about low numbers before, but it is a whole new game when it happens to you. I learned a lot today from all of you and appreciate your help and support. This is a very unique group with a really great bunch of people and I am very proud to be a part of it :-) Thanks again for not only helping Rudy get through today, but for me too. His health isn't the best, but he is still living a good life and I hope that I can keep it that way for a while longer. I love this little guy so much <3
 
Karen, I love this place and it's people too. Even though I haven't had a diabetic cat in over 7 years, I still visit almost every day.

How is Rudy today?
 
He is doing good! I can't believe that all of a sudden he has low numbers...lol...we are so confused- but in a happy way. It's just a whole new problem for us. I think I gave him too much insulin last night. He tested 154 this morning and I am trying to figure out what to give him now before we leave for work for the next 9 hours :-( diabetes is tough.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top