Richard P
Member Since 2018
I need some advice on testing and dosage. This is where I'm at with my cat Big.
Test 1: This all started with my vet checking his BG and it being 380. We had some hic ups in the beginning on dosage and a little confusion on both our parts so in the end he was started with 2 units. They said 1 unit but they also said first line and the syringes I used put the first line at 2 units. The reason this was caught by me was because I ran out of syringes. Being new to this I bent a bunch, dropped a few more, etc. They were suppose to give me the same syringes but ended up giving me different ones size wise by mistake. My friend is a nurse and he explained the markings to me. So I corrected the dosage problem.
Test 2: This was given 2 weeks later at vet. Big was up too 480. Increased dosage by a unit. He is now at 3 Units.
Test 3: This was given 4 weeks later at vet. Big was down, but only to 418. Increased dosage to 4 units.
Test 4: This is happening this week. They wanted to do this in 6 weeks but I had them change it to 4 weeks.
My Question and statement: First, I'm a little confused by the testing and such. It seems like many are testing after each meal and daily. There is a log sheet and everything. Should I be doing this too? Why is the vet doing the testing so far apart if it seems everyone else is doing it daily? I just don't understand this. I've read posts but can't seem to find the info I need. This is where I standing with dosage:
Insulin: Novolin N
Dosage: 4 units
Times: 2 per day, morning and night
Like you my cat Big means the world to me. I've been with him through some rough bits other than this so I'm determined to do whatever it takes. He was up to 24 lbs but is down to 21.5 pounds now. I was told that once the insulin started he would be gaining some weight but that hasn't happened and I can tell he's down some more. He does need to lose weight but not like this. It's coming off too fast and not by diet. He's been eating the Fancy Feast pate that I've switched him to once this has begun. Please, any information would be helpful. Thank you from a desperate cat Dad.
Best,
Richard
Test 1: This all started with my vet checking his BG and it being 380. We had some hic ups in the beginning on dosage and a little confusion on both our parts so in the end he was started with 2 units. They said 1 unit but they also said first line and the syringes I used put the first line at 2 units. The reason this was caught by me was because I ran out of syringes. Being new to this I bent a bunch, dropped a few more, etc. They were suppose to give me the same syringes but ended up giving me different ones size wise by mistake. My friend is a nurse and he explained the markings to me. So I corrected the dosage problem.
Test 2: This was given 2 weeks later at vet. Big was up too 480. Increased dosage by a unit. He is now at 3 Units.
Test 3: This was given 4 weeks later at vet. Big was down, but only to 418. Increased dosage to 4 units.
Test 4: This is happening this week. They wanted to do this in 6 weeks but I had them change it to 4 weeks.
My Question and statement: First, I'm a little confused by the testing and such. It seems like many are testing after each meal and daily. There is a log sheet and everything. Should I be doing this too? Why is the vet doing the testing so far apart if it seems everyone else is doing it daily? I just don't understand this. I've read posts but can't seem to find the info I need. This is where I standing with dosage:
Insulin: Novolin N
Dosage: 4 units
Times: 2 per day, morning and night
Like you my cat Big means the world to me. I've been with him through some rough bits other than this so I'm determined to do whatever it takes. He was up to 24 lbs but is down to 21.5 pounds now. I was told that once the insulin started he would be gaining some weight but that hasn't happened and I can tell he's down some more. He does need to lose weight but not like this. It's coming off too fast and not by diet. He's been eating the Fancy Feast pate that I've switched him to once this has begun. Please, any information would be helpful. Thank you from a desperate cat Dad.
Best,
Richard