Booger's Mom
Member Since 2018
Would you buy test strips that were not sealed in a box?? Advice please
same here. that's why i was wondering. What I normally do is take an old vial and dump half into it, but after working hard for 35 years my fingers are big and i dont have that granular control to get those tiny thing out. i have to half dump them into the lid to get one then sometimes use tweezers so I don't pull 3 out.I’m careful in handling test strips because I don’t want to actually “contaminate” one by getting anything on the business end that might affect the reading.
Tweezers work.same here. that's why i was wondering. What I normally do is take an old vial and dump half into it, but after working hard for 35 years my fingers are big and i dont have that granular control to get those tiny thing out. i have to half dump them into the lid to get one then sometimes use tweezers so I don't pull 3 out.
make sure that the "old" vial is the last one you emptied. Each strip vial contains a dessicant and thus if yo used the same "old" vial all the time the desiccant would be depleted and you would then get inaccurate readings.What I normally do is take an old vial and dump half into it
OK now I'm stumped.Tweezers work.![]()
Somehow i missed this. Thank you, I didn't know this at all!Just
make sure that the "old" vial is the last one you emptied. Each strip vial contains a dessicant and thus if yo used the same "old" vial all the time the desiccant would be depleted and you would then get inaccurate readings.
Get that info on your SS ASAP in case we need to refer back to it soon. So, to summarize:OK now I'm stumped.
last night i held off doing a mid cycle test because I'm low on strips and haven't gotten out to get more. I got his PMPS and it was only 166. No way i dose that low. I checked an hour later and it was only 188 after giving him tuna. then I gave him a few (4) temptations, and more tuna. waited 2 more hours and his blood was +255. I onlyl shot him 2 u.
this morning his amps was 186 and I waited an hour longer due to the alte dose last night.
Not sure how to proceed
I did fill the ss in. maybe look how I did it? should I change it?Get that info on your SS ASAP in case we need to refer back to it soon. So, to summarize:
03 Apr: PMPS 166
+1 hour 188
+3 hours 255
dosed of 2 u at +3 after normal dose time
04 Apr: AMPS 186 (at the normal AM time?)
OK - his dose last night was 3 hours late so it might still have been working this AM when you did your AMPS test if it was at the usual AM time. Give 2 u again at your normal time and get a +2 test for sure. This is a much reduced dose so he should be OK. You need to get back on schedule and also get used to dosing on slightly lower numbers. He's obviously responding really well and the 3.5 u dose might be too high. It's normal for the good dose to change so getting a before bed test is important.
Is he eating less/no higher carb food? Has he lost a little weight? Both of those can affect BG.
Maybe start a new thread dedicated to dosing so others will see it if I'm not around. This discussion is buried in your Test Strips thread.
I see the blue PS now on your SS (and the notes attached to your PMPS last night). Thanks! You have a plan for today. Set up a new dosing thread and I'll check in when I can.I did fill the ss in. maybe look how I did it? should I change it?
I'll dose him 2 now then, he's 1 hour late for normal time. then check him +2
he's lost a little weight, but not much. i actually got him eating some of the cleanprotein wet food. not much but I'm hoping to transition him off the tuna. i'm happy about that.
he still sneaks the kibble and finances tightened up so I'm delayed again. but I've gotten to the point i move the kibble off the floor and he can't get to it. I'd rather have him scream at me than sneak it.
I'll follow your direction. thank you!
I see the blue PS now on your SS (and the notes attached to your PMPS last night). Thanks! You have a plan for today. Set up a new dosing thread and I'll check in when I can.
He might well have to go up in dose. The reduction is in response to the low PSs and for him to be safe. He's been very stable on 3.5 u but things can change.ok will do. Thanks!
I was a bit surprised you mentioned lowering him from his normal 3.5 once I get him back on track. I was thinking he was just about perfect where he was at. Good thing I take your guidance.
yes I know we're dealing with an anomaly here. i probably misread a reply. i thought you meant adjust him down once we get back stableHe might well have to go up in dose. The reduction is in response to the low PSs and for him to be safe. He's been very stable on 3.5 u but things can change.
ugh, i apologize @Kris & Teasel I didn't realize I was replying to a 'test strips' thread and not his chart thread.I see the blue PS now on your SS (and the notes attached to your PMPS last night). Thanks! You have a plan for today. Set up a new dosing thread and I'll check in when I can.