Good Morning!
Well, we got several readings this weekend, now to make sense of it all! On Friday I did get the ReliOn meter without too much trouble. On Friday night we tested on time and got 233, and Munchkin got fed on time too. I was so focused on trying to work the meter and get him fed that I didn't realize until later that we hadn't given Munchkin his shot, so he got his shot 2 hours late Friday night. I felt 233 was high enough for his regular shot (2u) and didn't think another thing of it until his AMPS was 90, and later 87 (after a 15 minute wait).
So, no AM shot on Saturday morning. It was kind of dissappointing for me since I had planned to do a curve on Saturday (our only chance for the next two weeks) and now the curve wouldn't even be representative of a normal day. But, I needed the practice at testing so we did the curve anyways. At +1 Munchkin was 129 and by +2 he was 281, so his sugar went up and stayed up, just like we expected. (BTW - we feed Munchkin twice a day so it was +1 from feeding time since no shot on Saturday morning, +2 from feeding, etc.) The rest of the morning and afternoon was 313 at +4, 285 at +6 and 347 at +9, and we fed him and gave him his shot (1.5u) at +9. We gave 1.5u for PM shot in an effort to be conservative (versus 2u). Our rationale: we had no real long-term data to go on but we thought he probably went too low Friday night/Saturday early AM and better to have the sugar run a little high than too low, again. At +2 from Saturday PM shot he was 266.
Sunday morning his AMPS was 263 and gave 1.5 (with feeding). +6.5 was 162, probably nadir. All-in-all it was a good day and Munchkin was feeling lovey-dovey. I left for church in the evening, all is well, and then later my husband feeds Munchkin 30 minutes too early (I wasn't home and Munchkin puts on a good "starving kitty" act). My husband, however, didn't give Munchkin his shot. We had talked about how Munchkin shouldn't get his shot until after he had been tested. So, Munchkin was fed at +11.5 w/o shot and I tested him at +12 (30 minutes after feeding) and he was 242. I didn't give him his shot; Sue and I had talked that if he was between 200 - 250 we would hold the shot and retest to make sure the sugar was rising. So, at +12.5 I tested Munchkin again (1 hour after feeding) and he was 230; he went down a few points.
Talked to Sue again. Decided to test again 2 hours after feeding, after the food has finished influencing the BS numbers. At +13.5 since AM shot and also 2 hours after feeding, Munchkin was 239 - still hovering around the same numbers (242, 230, 239). I didn't want to end up in the same pickle I had been in Saturday morning where he got super-low during the night, so I didn't want to give 2u, or even 1.5u. But, I didn't want to skip the dose entirely especially since he's been getting 2u twice a day for months and months. Decided to give a reduced dose of 1u. This morning AMPS was 374 (+10 since PM shot) and gave 1.5u.
I can't begin to predict what his BS numbers looked like in the night. Maybe the 1.0u was too much for a PM shot with pre-shot values of 235-ish and he bounced up this morning? (But, he's been getting 2u twice a day for months.) Or, maybe the 1.0 wasn't enough and it rose throughout the night? Or this is just normal for Munchkin - he has a habit of giving his highest BS numbers first thing in the morning, always has, unless something is wrong.
He never has given a number breaking 400; his highest numbers have been in the 300s but most frequently in the 200s. However, we haven't been testing at home, just at the vets so that really isn't all that many data points. He's been diagnosed for a little over two years and we've been giving low-carb (<6% carb), wet food for about a year-and-a-half. It has worked well for us; no complaints. I can't say if it has reduced his need for insulin. We made the switch to the low-carb, wet food while he was still unregulated and the vet (and me too) had high hopes he could be diet controlled, but that didn't materialize. So, still didn't have his sugar down enough so we kept increasing the insulin over the following couple months. He was overweight so we worked on some weight loss too. When we had success with the weight loss, that is when he soon after starting having seizures and hypo episodes.
Mild at first but got more severe over many weeks, a couple months. Had a bad one on a Saturday morning and I called the vet on the emergency line. That time we recognized it as hypo and seizures. I love that vet; he called us back right away. We had already given Munchkin some food to help him recover and the vet said to reduce the insulin dose and come in for BS tests. I think that was in June and thats when we took him in for the June 2012 BS tests that you can see on his spreadsheet. His numbers were okay enough that the vet said to keep him on the new, reduced dose. (I think that was the June 2012 BS test but I'm not 100% sure.) He'd been on the flat insulin dose (with no home testing, just periodic tests at the vet's office) for many months and he'd been on the low-carb food for many months; the weight loss was the only change - healthy weight loss. We'd been slowly cutting back on how much we fed him and he lost the weight over several months (9 months?). The vet was happy with the pace. Munchkin had always been a little overweight.
Munchkin still acted odd at times and this time I recognized the hypo symptoms. That is when we went back for more BS tests over August through to November. He was going hypo and the vet kept stepping down the insulin dose until we were at 2u twice a day, and that is what we have been giving him since November - 2u twice a day. (His dose had been as high as 5 or 6 units twice a day.) I haven't seen any more hypo episodes but that doesn't mean he hasn't had them. After this weekend, I'm sure he's had them, just not the pronounced symptoms, or not while we're around.
Protocol, I need one. I know I don't have much data to work with, but I need some kind of protocol to go by for the next two weeks and to give the catetaker this weekend (we're going out of town.) (BTW - still need to find a cartaker for this weekend.) We've stepped his dose down from 2u twice a day to 1.5u twice a day, after this weekend's readings. So, I'm thinking 1.5u as long as pre-shot is over 250? If its between 200 - 250, then wait, retest and see if it is rising or falling. But what then? If it is below 200 then hold the dose? What do ya'll think?