FluffBunny
Member Since 2014
Sorry to ask such a simple question, but I have been searching through the message board and I haven't found an answer to this question. I have a newly diagnosed 16 year old cat. It has been 4 years since I was here with my other cat, Fluffbunny (who is still in remission) and I can't remember some of the details of monitoring him.
Gomez's BG levels are extremely high and he has been hospitalized once, and treated at the Pet ER twice since his diagnosis 3 weeks ago. He was last at the ER yesterday morning. I won't go into the details, but he got his Lantus shot about 2 hours late in the morning. The ER vet told me to test his BG after he ate his evening meal last night at the regular time and if his BG was more than 250, then give him his Lantus shot at the regular time - which I did.
Now, I can't remember if I usually got the AMPS reading for Fluffbunny before or after he ate. What is the recommendation? I tested Gomez this morning about 30 minutes after he ate and he was extremely high again (530). I tested him again at +2 and it was down to 475. I'm just trying to remember if the AMPS is supposed to be before or after food and if the vet's direction yesterday to test after eating was just for one time only.
Also, Gomez is on 1/2 teaspoon of Renal-K to maintain his potassium level. His potassium was dangerously low while he was hospitalized, but it is normal now. I read the ingredients for Renal K gel and it appears to have some sugar in it. Does anyone have experience with Renal K and it's impact on BG readings?
Fluffbunny had prednisone induced diabetes and his BG went down fairly quickly with Lantus and tight regulation. I am used to worrying about low numbers, but these high numbers are causing me incredible stress. I will add a spreadsheet soon with details about Gomez. I should add that, even when he was first diagnosed and his BG was >750, Gomez did not have ketones in his urine. He has had a number of problems, but Ketoacidosis is not one of them (yet.)
Gomez's BG levels are extremely high and he has been hospitalized once, and treated at the Pet ER twice since his diagnosis 3 weeks ago. He was last at the ER yesterday morning. I won't go into the details, but he got his Lantus shot about 2 hours late in the morning. The ER vet told me to test his BG after he ate his evening meal last night at the regular time and if his BG was more than 250, then give him his Lantus shot at the regular time - which I did.
Now, I can't remember if I usually got the AMPS reading for Fluffbunny before or after he ate. What is the recommendation? I tested Gomez this morning about 30 minutes after he ate and he was extremely high again (530). I tested him again at +2 and it was down to 475. I'm just trying to remember if the AMPS is supposed to be before or after food and if the vet's direction yesterday to test after eating was just for one time only.
Also, Gomez is on 1/2 teaspoon of Renal-K to maintain his potassium level. His potassium was dangerously low while he was hospitalized, but it is normal now. I read the ingredients for Renal K gel and it appears to have some sugar in it. Does anyone have experience with Renal K and it's impact on BG readings?
Fluffbunny had prednisone induced diabetes and his BG went down fairly quickly with Lantus and tight regulation. I am used to worrying about low numbers, but these high numbers are causing me incredible stress. I will add a spreadsheet soon with details about Gomez. I should add that, even when he was first diagnosed and his BG was >750, Gomez did not have ketones in his urine. He has had a number of problems, but Ketoacidosis is not one of them (yet.)