It looks flat but the levels are not high. I like your 2.25 for the pinks; it gave you a mid 200s preshot this am. Maybe 2 is a little low for a higher mid range yellow (245/250). 2.25 might work better. Something to try next time.
But in general, not bad ranges. Regulation is mid 200s for pres shots and lower 100s or double digits for nadir, so you are on your way there. What I don't see are any Reds or blacks, which is great. Just steady progress.
Fabienne, I think Teasel and Terry are related.His curve if fairly flat which might suggest that you need a slightly higher dose (2.25 u again?) but I defer to the experts.
Oh -and anything is possible with diabetic cats! Especially kitties like Terry and Teasel.![]()
I prefer to think of it as "special needs" kitties that come to people who are willing and able to take care of them. I've had a few others in the past that started me on grey hair.It sounds like a great couple! Terry & Teasel . If I ever take another cat I will call him Teasel. All my cats' names start with a T. I had Toy ( died of kidneyfaillure at age 4
) and now have Terry ( diabetic) and Tyson ( has a heartproblem and survived an infection of his brain ( Vet thought tumor at first) ) So Teasel would match perfecty
. Or maybe I better pick an other first letter, since all our T's aren't perfectly healthy
![]()
So I should increase the dose to 2.25IU for BG 13.5 ( 243) and higher. And 2 IU for 11-13.5 ( 198-243)? Or could that last range be wider? From wich number I should stall? lower than 198?
Yes, he is doing much better.@Sue and Oliver (GA) @Rachel can you maybe explain (if there is an explanation even for it) why Terry get's low amps's and the mid cycles are higher? It should go down (normally) after insulin but Terry seems to keep wanting to stay higher... Today his amps was 245 and his +4 was 295. Yesterday was the same... I just want to understand it but I can't seem to understand it... I do find since Terry had gotten help from you all he's doing way better then before, no real bouncing and he's giving nice yellow numbers!
I would also say it has something to do with his food intake. He just gets higher foodspikes although it's raw food don't you think? Haha yes i'm analytical type so yes I need some answersTeasel does the same thing. I wonder if it's connected to how they respond to food intake in the hours after a meal? And I think (some) cats will do things we'll never understand even though the analytical types among us need answers!![]()
It might having nothing to do with the carb content of the food, Ruby. They're able to get energy from protein by a different biochemical pathway. Maybe the events that occur in this pathway cause BG increases in some cats (ECID!). Just speculating ...I would also say it has something to do with his food intake. He just gets higher foodspikes although it's raw food don't you think? Haha yes i'm analytical type so yes I need some answers
And yes he is indeed doing much better than before
Hi, I did not get more rest with Lantus and simply because shortly after Bubba started on Lantus, he had insulin resistance and would not budge and also developed ketones. With the help of the Lantus forum, I was giving him another short acting insulin in adjunct to the Lantus to break through the insulin resistance and break up the ketones so I was testing a lot more in the beginning.Now my bottle of prozinc is almost empty I need to decide if I will go on with prozinc or I am going to switch to Lantus.
Terry is feeling much better than before but al those strange numbers are making me nuts. Although there are no black or red numbers, he keeps surprising me. Not dropping like Ruby described. This night a high pmps. I don't know what to think.... but on the other hand his numbers were never as good as they were te last week.
The people on the dutch forum are trying to convince me that Lantus is a much better insulin for Terry. They think he will be more stable on lantus. And that it will give more rest for me and terry because lantus requires less tests. How do you feel about that?
Do you think lantus is more suited for him or could he be regulated any time soon on prozinc so it takes less testing?
@Bobbie And Bubba I understood from Ruby that you switched from Prozinc to Lantus? Did you get more " rest" from it when you switched?
Are there the same kind of overlaps as @Sue and Oliver (GA) mentioned?
This is why we can't let one number make us crazy! And as Alexi said above, it's easy to get hung up on the numbers. It's good once in a while to stand back and look at how your kitty is doing overall. That's very important - and easy to forget when you're busy testing and filling in a spreadsheet several times a day.Oh my husband just told me he was vacuumcleaning just before the 380-test...![]()
Aren't they fun! I had to get the granny edition for me. LOL.I LOVE these!!! Where can I get a pair???![]()