Ruby&Baco
Member Since 2016
Let me introduce my friend from the Dutch forum @Fabiënne and her lovely cat Terry. Terry is almost 8 years old and weights 6.5KG (14.30LBS). Terry was diagnosed at the beginning of July and started with Caninsulin. The vet started with 3U of Caninsulin, that wasn’t enough according to the vet so a couple of days later they increased his dose to 4U, after that they went back to the vets to do a BG check and he gave an 8mmol (144mg/dl) nice right? The next day everything was going wrong, he got a hypo.. Fabiënne thought he was really lethargic and he only wanted to lie down the whole day. Fabiënne gave food but he didn’t want to have it and they drove directly to the vet. At the vets, they discovered his BG was extremely high, 29mmol (522mg/dl) He was hospitalized for a couple of days and the vet still gave Caninsulin. They discovered that Terry didn’t respond anymore to Caninsulin after making a curve a couple of times and the BG stayed around 20mmol (360dg/ml). After those couple of days he finally was given Prozinc on 7/17. He was feeling better after he was put on Prozinc. When the switch was made Fabiënne joined the Dutch forum and wanted help with dosing/food etc. to get Terry well regulated.
We are trying to help Terry get nice numbers but he’s really bouncing a lot. We’ve advised Fabiënne to switch foods a couple of times because we thought that Terry was on food that had a lot of carbs in it (first started of with prescribed food from the vet) after that started lower carb kibbles but still was too high in numbers. Now since 9/4 Terry is only eating raw food and low carb other wet food (containing +/- 6.5% carbs) I do think Terry is doing better seeing his numbers as of from 9/4 but we can’t seem to understand why he’s having low AMPS or PMPS and after a dose reduction on that pre shot number he seems to go up really high again.
For example, see 9/5 PMPS a really beautiful 7.8mmol (140.dg/ml) and we advised 1U, but he managed to have a +1 of 16.3 (293dg/ml) and a +2 of 18.3 (329dg/ml). After that night you can see at 9/6 he has a really high AMPS 21.6mmol (388dg/ml)
The same goes for 9/7, see the nice AMPS with a nice day curve, he was surfing a little bit, and his PMPS was beautiful 8.3mmol (149dg/ml) What I still don’t understand why he has low PMPS’s.. is this maybe his pancreas helping out? And then we upped the dose (because 1U wasn’t working the last time) to 1.5U and again he gave a +3 of 18.2mmol (327dg/ml)
Can someone please take a good look at what’s going on with Terry right now? It can’t be the food because he gets food that contains the least amount of carbs that is available in The Netherlands, so it can’t be food spikes. Fabiënne is getting to a point of real frustration (can’t blame her) about Terry right now. Her bottle of Prozinc will still be enough for 2 weeks but she’s considering to choose Lantus over Prozinc. This because the moderators/advisors on the Dutch forum are thinking this is a better insulin for Terry. I get that but I think that Terry is showing much better progress since he’s off almost all the carbs and is really showing some better numbers but we just want to understand them… So some extra eyes on his sheet would be really welcome. Please tag people to help look at Terry’s sheet. Oh, btw, Terry only uses MMOL instead of dg/ml so his sheet doesn’t convert but you can multiply it by 18 if you are looking at it so it multiplies to dg/ml.
Also if there are people here that have switched from Prozinc to Lantus and please tell your story as Fabiënne really wants to hear some success stories about that switch.
Thanks you in advance for helping my Dutch friend understand what’s going on with Terry’s numbers.
Here is Terry's sheet.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...18ScODUj6dFaFy5Fr1IgRzCHU/edit#gid=2112851081
@Sue and Oliver (GA) @Rachel @Bobbie And Bubba @Sharon14 @Robin&BB @Kris & Teasel @TempestsMum @AbyResq @Tuxedo Mom
Please tag other people for an extra pair of eyes to look at Terry's case.

Thanks so much guys!
This is beautiful Terry!
We are trying to help Terry get nice numbers but he’s really bouncing a lot. We’ve advised Fabiënne to switch foods a couple of times because we thought that Terry was on food that had a lot of carbs in it (first started of with prescribed food from the vet) after that started lower carb kibbles but still was too high in numbers. Now since 9/4 Terry is only eating raw food and low carb other wet food (containing +/- 6.5% carbs) I do think Terry is doing better seeing his numbers as of from 9/4 but we can’t seem to understand why he’s having low AMPS or PMPS and after a dose reduction on that pre shot number he seems to go up really high again.
For example, see 9/5 PMPS a really beautiful 7.8mmol (140.dg/ml) and we advised 1U, but he managed to have a +1 of 16.3 (293dg/ml) and a +2 of 18.3 (329dg/ml). After that night you can see at 9/6 he has a really high AMPS 21.6mmol (388dg/ml)
The same goes for 9/7, see the nice AMPS with a nice day curve, he was surfing a little bit, and his PMPS was beautiful 8.3mmol (149dg/ml) What I still don’t understand why he has low PMPS’s.. is this maybe his pancreas helping out? And then we upped the dose (because 1U wasn’t working the last time) to 1.5U and again he gave a +3 of 18.2mmol (327dg/ml)
Can someone please take a good look at what’s going on with Terry right now? It can’t be the food because he gets food that contains the least amount of carbs that is available in The Netherlands, so it can’t be food spikes. Fabiënne is getting to a point of real frustration (can’t blame her) about Terry right now. Her bottle of Prozinc will still be enough for 2 weeks but she’s considering to choose Lantus over Prozinc. This because the moderators/advisors on the Dutch forum are thinking this is a better insulin for Terry. I get that but I think that Terry is showing much better progress since he’s off almost all the carbs and is really showing some better numbers but we just want to understand them… So some extra eyes on his sheet would be really welcome. Please tag people to help look at Terry’s sheet. Oh, btw, Terry only uses MMOL instead of dg/ml so his sheet doesn’t convert but you can multiply it by 18 if you are looking at it so it multiplies to dg/ml.
Also if there are people here that have switched from Prozinc to Lantus and please tell your story as Fabiënne really wants to hear some success stories about that switch.
Thanks you in advance for helping my Dutch friend understand what’s going on with Terry’s numbers.
Here is Terry's sheet.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...18ScODUj6dFaFy5Fr1IgRzCHU/edit#gid=2112851081
@Sue and Oliver (GA) @Rachel @Bobbie And Bubba @Sharon14 @Robin&BB @Kris & Teasel @TempestsMum @AbyResq @Tuxedo Mom
Please tag other people for an extra pair of eyes to look at Terry's case.

Thanks so much guys!This is beautiful Terry!
Last edited: