Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Disease

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

My calc says 1.4units so do your syringes have 1/2 unit markings? I am thinking you start on 1.25 to play it safe.

Are you going to shoot tonite or when?

Wendy
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

I've given him his shot. As close to 1.25 units as I could come. When should I next test his blood glucose?
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Perfect. Generally we suggest four tests a day

- always always before every shot
- mid cycle 5-7 hours after morning shot if your schedule allows
- before bed (2-3hours after PM shot)

If you need to move shot time to accommodate schedules you can do it roughly 30mins a day.

First week on lantus you want to hold the same dose to let the depot build up... Lantus takes time for the dose to settle in his system. Unless he drops under 50 and you reduce the dose by 1/4 unit.

Maybe read the protocol here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Also you should set up a spreadsheet to track your readings, we use this one which allows us, you and your vet to see what's going on.. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

Wendy
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

That spreadsheet is great but I have no idea what I'm looking at. I used the World version. I put the date in and 1.25 under the first U, which I assumed was Units but I don't know where I should put the 21 (his first reading).
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

When I mentioned to the vet's assistant that I had tested Grady's urine for ketones this is how she answered: "As for the ketones, I will pass that by the doctor tomorrow. It's not something we typically use, if ever, and they seem to play a minor role in the management of disease. But we'll see what she comes back with." Not sure how to take that.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Probably not helpful info at this point, but I just wanted to point out that (at least in my area) you do not need to be a member of Costco to use their pharmacy. I don't know however if the prices are the same for non-members as for members (I believe it is, but unsure)

And that vet tech answer sounds like they were just trying to sound smart (and failing)
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Second reading approximately 3 hrs after insulin shot was 16.5.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Excellent.

Heres how the spreadsheet works

AMPS and PMPS column is where you put the preshot readings ie last night PMPS column should read 21
You are correct - U is the dose given at that time ie 1.25
+ 1, +2 , +3... etc is the amount of hours (1, 2, 3...)after the shot. So your PMPS +3 column would read 16.5

Can you share the sheet and give us the link so we can see it?

Wendy
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

I can't see your spreadsheet. You may need to click SHARE in the upper right corner of the page and/or select Publish, under the file menu.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Yes, skip the shot, its too low for you to shoot yet since you don't have enough data to know what he is doing. Get a test in a few hours though.

Your colour coding is wacky though. Last night shouldn't be green, should be pink.? not sure what went wrong there.

Tonite try 1 unit. Shows me 1.25 is too much, we need to find a dose you can give twice a day

Wendy
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

I see the problem, you put the data in the us sheet and its giving coding assuming you are using us numbers,

Also can you put the link into your signature so we can find it easily?
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

But it says World on the spreadsheet. I guess I can convert the numbers. I'm off to work now. I'll take another reading at lunch. I didn't give him insulin.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

It says world on the other tab... The tab you are using says us/dl
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Also the reading you got this morning should be in the AMPS column (next to todays date) as it was in theory your a.m. Pre Shot (amps) test number. Then put "skip" in the U column beside it.

Wendy
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Okay, changed it. I'll just stick with the US. I didn't even see the tabs at the bottom.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Yeah that's what I do too since most people here are from the US.. Makes it easier for them at quick glance.

SS looks good, have a nice day at work! You can expect Grady's blood to shoot up now because you missed the shot but that's ok. First week there is always tweaking to find a good starting dose. 1 unit might be too much too but we will see.


Wendy
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Grady's looking even more unsteady on his paws than usual this morning. He ate most of his breakfast but not all. He's swaying a little from side to side as he walks like he's just slightly inebriated. This has been happening before now, but it's more pronounced this morning. My wife is at home with Grady today so if he needs anything she'll be there.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

So, when I go home at lunch and test Grady's blood and the glucose level is high again should I shoot? The time intervals were going to be 8 am & 8 pm for his shots 12 hours apart, but since he didn't get a shot this morning is that idea out the window? If I shoot now (1 unit) would I have to do it again at 1 am?
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Yeah 1pm would mean 1am. Might as well wait till 8pm and then it puts you right on schedule.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Meter reading was 268.2. So, yeah, it was back up. I'll do another test before 8 tonight and then give his 1 unit shot. Unless I should be doing something different?
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

That's perfect but no food two hours prior to shot to ensure that the preshot test isn't influence by food. Then test, and shoot/feed. 1 unit if (?when) over 200.

If not over 200 then stall 30mins.. Don't shoot, don't feed and wait 30 to see if it rises on its own and let us know.

You are doing great!

Wendy
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Meter reading 352.8. One unit of insulin given, then food. Also did a ketone test. Still negative.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

That video was very helpful but also made me realize I'm a bad person. I inadvertently contaminated my first vial. I drew too much insulin out and so squeezed what I didn't need right back into the vial. So, yay for me! Start from scratch again tomorrow with fresh vial. I'll keep the bad one in the fridge as a sort of emergency backup.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

No reason to stop using the that vial. Just use it until it no longer works.
sirswithin said:
That video was very helpful but also made me realize I'm a bad person. I inadvertently contaminated my first vial. I drew too much insulin out and so squeezed what I didn't need right back into the vial. So, yay for me! Start from scratch again tomorrow with fresh vial. I'll keep the bad one in the fridge as a sort of emergency backup.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

291.6 this morning. Gave 1 unit shot and fed. Everything seems to be going along fairly smoothly. I notice Grady flinches every time I depress the plunger of the syringe (not when the needle goes in). Does the insulin sting as it enters the body?
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

252 Meter reading mid day. Off to the vet to try and get a sterile urine sample for a culture.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

It figures that the ones I have (Soft/Chunky Loaf) aren't listed. I'm going to assume they're not terrible for him and give them to him when he won't eat anything else.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

What you are looking for (in terms of diabetes control/remission) is the column C on the link Larry provided, to be less than 10%. So less than 10% calories from carbs. Some of the natural choices meet this requirement.

Wendy
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Yep - shove them in a cupboard for emergencies. And yes the insulin does sting some cats but usually its at higher doses - so it could also be cos its cold. Try leaving the syringe out for 5 minutes before shooting to warm up a little.

Do you have your hypo kit set up yet? (below)

Wendy

Put together NOW the following items and put in an easily accessible place!
Phone number of your vet
Phone number, address and map/directions to your nearest emergency vet (or phone number of the cab company and some cash/credit card)
Karo syrup, honey or corn syrup
High carb canned food with gravy – 2-3 cans
Some favourite treats
Spare pack of 25 blood glucose strips
Coffee for you ;)
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

The insulin that's currently in use remains out, so it's room temperature, while the rest is in the fridge. We have most everything on that list. Just need some glucose strips and some new honey (the stuff in the cupboard has crystallized) or corn syrup.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

I always keep mine in the fridge to extend its lifespan.. Months..
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Would you please add Lantus to your signature block? Right after the meter info would be a good place.

Yes, the manufacturer only tested for a 28 day life span. But we have found, that with refrigeration, the Lantus Insulin will last 4-6 months. It's expensive so we like to "waste not, want not" keep it cool and extend the insulin life whenever we can.

Handling info for Lantus. Sticky: Lantus & Levimir - Info, Proper Handliing and Storage from the ISG Lantus TR forum.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Mistakenly gave insulin before doing conversion of numbers. I guess I didn't think 9.8 was that low but after the conversion it's actually 176.4, quite a bit below the 200 threshold. Hopefully, this doesn't impact him negatively. Of course the vet wanted me to shoot him with 1.5 units twice a day, regardless of any measurement. Will check his glucose in another few hours.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Hello and welcome from someone just across the water from you. Grady seems to be having a good reaction to the Lantus so far. Since I'm in the same time zone as you, I'll be up a little later than Wendy and Deb if you have questions tonight. Post when you get your +2 test and we'll see where you go from there.

BTW, I get my insulin at Save-on-Foods pharmacy and they give free sharps containers. London Drugs has better prices than Shoppers on diabetic supplies in the west.
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

Damn. I just picked up a sharps container from Pharmasave and paid $5 for it. And we shop at Save-On!
 
Re: Tentative Diagnosis of Diabetes Mellitus & Kidney Diseas

+2 reading 192.6. He did eat after his shot, although not a lot, which is his norm. He seems fine so far. What's up next?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top