Tasha's numbers are weird today, litter issue this am- help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

stacia

Member Since 2014
Since Wednesday, she's been relatively stable in her patterns at a .25u dose. In fact, we were discussing starting to follow the PZI protocol, decreasing acceptable pre-shot numbers, adjust on nadir, etc.

So of course today Tasha has decided to play tricks on us. Last night's PMPS was a bit higher than usual (266) and at +5 she had dropped quite a bit (133, nowhere near hypo). We shot .25 this morning (226), fed her, and shortly after she had a poo (deliberate) accident in the hallway. Consistency was not usual. At +5 she was higher than usual (198). I just retested 90 minutes later (so +6.5?) and she's at 266. She hasn't eaten in the meantime other than a few freeze-dried Halo chicken treats at +5 for testing rewards.

Possible issues: We just switched from 40mL to 100mL syringes and we're using the conversion chart but I'm finding it difficult to get between the dashes consistently. And even if I do, I think that's more like .3, not .25. Still, that's been consistent for 4 shots now (all noted in spreadsheet). My husband gave her AM shot today - first time with new shorter needle, he's not as comfortable with it. I'd say maybe he missed but her number did originally go down at +5.

Should I be concerned? Am I too jumpy over numbers in one cycle? What's my move at this point?
 
Re: Tasha's numbers are weird today, litter issue this am- h

Could the a.m. dose be a fur shot or perhaps get into food she shouldn't have? I can't say much about numbers because Im a number FREAK lol, when Hidey's numbers jump even slightly I start over assessing so hopefully someone will chime in on how to approach that. I'd assume dosage needs to be upped a bit BUT 1 unit seemed to be WAY too much, 0.5 seemed close but gave you a no shoot in the a.m. tough call on dosage.
 
Re: Tasha's numbers are weird today, litter issue this am- h

Totally possible husband gave a (even partial) fur shot. Less likely she got into food - we feed both kitties at the same time and bowls were picked up after. Unless these two fur-freaks have a stash I don't know about, I don't think there's food anywhere for her to get into.

I'm thinking an increased dose, even just up to a solid .4, may be in order based on what I've read? Although stressed because I haven't had nearly the time to read and devote to researching as I'd like this week. Testing her and dosing her at all hours as me exhausted in addition to my work. But I'll do what I need to do for Tasha.
 
Re: Tasha's numbers are weird today, litter issue this am- h

I'd bet on maybe a bit of a fur shot. I think it would be fine to go up to .4, as long as you monitor the first cycle. With the .25, she was in the general range of regulation, but she has room to drop for the preshot and nadir.
 
Re: Tasha's numbers are weird today, litter issue this am- h

Ok thanks everyone. Her PMPS was 250 and we just gave her .4u. I haven't taken a +2 recently (husband thinks we're poking/stabbing her all the time) but I'm going to this time to make sure she's not crashing too fast. She's also chomping down her dinner like she's never seen food before. And then we'll get a +5 before bed.

Oh, kitty, I remember sleep... The best part is trying to stay awake to test her, all the while she's snoozing away.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top