Hi Everyone,
One of our cats (Robinton, but we call him Boo, long story) was diagnosed with diabetes last week. He's also suffering from neuropathy in his hind legs, so his blood sugar must have been elevated for some time.
His blood sugar was over 400 when the vet tested him and the first time we tested at home before giving him insulin was 263. Our vet prescribed 3 units of Lantus bid. We weren't vigilant about testing him initially. Our vet was most concerned with his BG halfway between his shots, so we didn't test him again until +6 hours after his second dose and his BG had dropped to 47. That made us concerned about hypo. We got him to eat more and gave him a bit of honey. Over the next couple hours, his BG had dropped even further to 40, but he didn't have any hypo systems. We were in contact with the vet who told us to hold off on any further insulin and to keep checking his BG levels. We even went down to the vet and tested our meter against theirs. It's been 3 days with no more Lantus. He's doing well and BG has stayed from 150 to 200. I'm very nervous about giving him more Lantus during the week. My husband and I both work. We want to be home to monitor him closely when we try again with a lower dose.
Here's my question. What BG levels should we be aiming for when we start Lantus again? I'm nervous about hypo, so I don't want to be too aggressive.
One of our cats (Robinton, but we call him Boo, long story) was diagnosed with diabetes last week. He's also suffering from neuropathy in his hind legs, so his blood sugar must have been elevated for some time.
His blood sugar was over 400 when the vet tested him and the first time we tested at home before giving him insulin was 263. Our vet prescribed 3 units of Lantus bid. We weren't vigilant about testing him initially. Our vet was most concerned with his BG halfway between his shots, so we didn't test him again until +6 hours after his second dose and his BG had dropped to 47. That made us concerned about hypo. We got him to eat more and gave him a bit of honey. Over the next couple hours, his BG had dropped even further to 40, but he didn't have any hypo systems. We were in contact with the vet who told us to hold off on any further insulin and to keep checking his BG levels. We even went down to the vet and tested our meter against theirs. It's been 3 days with no more Lantus. He's doing well and BG has stayed from 150 to 200. I'm very nervous about giving him more Lantus during the week. My husband and I both work. We want to be home to monitor him closely when we try again with a lower dose.
Here's my question. What BG levels should we be aiming for when we start Lantus again? I'm nervous about hypo, so I don't want to be too aggressive.