Tara & Buster AMPS 374, +5 400. PMPS 376, +4 156

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
I saw everyone's posts on my last thread - thank you for the warm welcome! I will get some numbers in the evening hours tonight and over the weekend. I do work 8-5, M-F as an FYI.
 
Re: Tara & Buster AMPS 374

Hi guys, we didn't get a chance to stop by yesterday so welcome from us! Having a full time work schedule and dealing with FD can be hard at times .. we understand that .. is there any chance on running home at lunch time to grab spot checks as well? just a thought anyways .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: Tara & Buster AMPS 374

Hi Tara,

I just wanted to say hi! It's great to see you posting! A lot of people who work all day make up for the lack of tests in the daytime by taking some pm tests and getting the nadir on the weekends along with more tests that can't be gotten during the week, so you can learn how Buster uses the insulin and when he is usually highest, lowest, etc. No matter how you do it though, we'll be glad to work with you to help you help Buster.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: Tara & Buster AMPS 374

Thanks for letting us know that you're not home during the day.

If you're home in time, are you able to get a +11 test? It may give a hint as to what's happening with Buster's numbers during the day. If your PMPS is still too low to shoot, I'm thinking you may need to reduce Buster's AM shot even further so you can shoot twice a day.
 
Re: Tara & Buster AMPS 374

I work, but I am fortunate to live very close by. I am currently testing pre-shot before I go to work, I come home for lunch about 4-5 hours later to test again, then I test at +12 before his pm feeding. I haven't been testing at night because I haven't been giving insulin. This weekend, however...it's on!!

How on earth do you get lower than .25? Is there a different syringe?
 
Re: Tara & Buster AMPS 374, +5 400

Well so far we seem to be going the wrong way :-| I suppose it's possible he didn't get that morning dose like I thought he did. It's kind of a good thing I guess - now I'm pretty sure he'll be able to get that second dose at PMPS!
 
Re: Tara & Buster AMPS 374, +5 400

Hi, Tara,

RE: the 400; don't worry; it will come back down eventually; your cat has shown that she responds to insulin.

RE: the syringes -- yes and no. There are other syringes, but I don't know if we can get them and they are hard to use. They are glass, appartently, have to be sterilized, and have disposable needles. I'm trying to see if I can get one through my vet.

If you search for "calipers" on FDMB you should get a discussion of how to use them to figure out whether you are getting the right dose. I haven't tried it yet as we are are still at about 0.25.

Have a good day.
 
Re: Tara & Buster AMPS 374, +5 400

It's the same syringe. If you look in the New to the Group sticky, there are photos of micro doses. If you look on some of our spreadsheets (SS), you'll see we shoot fat and skinny doses, as well. You can get a little cross-eyed with adjusting the doses.

There are some people here who use the calipers. I don't. Never have. I figure out what I'm calling a dose. Burn what it looks like into my brain and shoot that amount consistently -- or at least as consistently as I can. Some people have gotten visors that have a magnifying lens that are used for craft projects to help them with seeing the syringe markings better.
 
Re: Tara & Buster AMPS 374, +5 400. PMPS 376

PMPS is 376 - I'm so confused confused_cat but I'm shooting him up with .25 anyway - let's see what happens in 4 hours.... nailbite_smile
 
Re: Tara & Buster AMPS 374, +5 400. PMPS 376

Like you said, you may have given a fur shot this morning. There's no way to know. It's also possible that the lowered dose has finally reduced the insulin in the depot so you can shoot more consistently. How about getting a +2 test?
 
+4 dropped him down to 156 :-D I'd like to say I can get another one tonight, but I'm soooper tired! AMPS is going to have to tell the tale.
 
Tara,

I know it's confusing, but this is normal. It's hard to understand how Lantus works. It took me forever. Don't be shocked if you see a high number again. That +4 reading tells you it's working, and it takes a while for the numbers to level out across the cycle -- maybe even days. Please keep posting and the people who know how to tell you about dose will keep helping you! You are doing great!!!!

Dale
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top