Peter Moore
Member Since 2019
Hello everyone! Long time reader but first time poster. This seems like a wonderful community and invaluable resource. I'm hoping to get some insights and advice on our current situation, which in a nutshell is that we're VERY close to remission - but we're having trouble actually getting there.
BACKGROUND
My 14-year-old orange DMH, Zelda, has been receiving glargine since July 2018 after becoming badly hyperglycemic, including ketones, and developing pancreatitis. Our suspected culprit is Claro Otic, a long-lasting ear medication which she received a few weeks prior, which I later learned contains a corticosteroid. She had been "pre-diabetic" for 1.5 years prior, and steroids should have been avoided like the plague. Whatever the cause, she had to be hospitalized for 2 nights after refusing to eat solid food for several days, after which we met with an excellent internal medicine specialist who diagnosed her with full blown DM and prescribed glargine.
We have since been continuing to work with the internal medicine specialist on all dosing decisions. We email somewhat frequently as in person visits are difficult to schedule, and despite my offer he does not bill me for the consults. I think he's an excellent doctor and we like and respect him very much. However, I am not always 100% confident in his reasoning when it comes to maintenance and total picture type issues. She has been very difficult to regulate, and I think a good part of that has been because of some external factors and at least one questionable decision early on, as I'll discuss more below.
But first, the relevant history. The most recent and interesting history begins around 12/23/18 , but I'm providing the whole thing for reference. FYI, diet is 3-4 Fancy Feast classic pate per day. In October we also introduced a very small amount (1 tsp per feeding) of Orijen Cat & Kitten dry food on Dr.'s advice to add some complex carbohydrates for better glycemic control.
HISTORY
7/7/18: Begin 1.0 unit BID
8/1/18 curve: 60 nadir. Dr. advised remission and to stop abruptly, which I questioned but followed. Symptoms and ketones returned within days. Spot check BG of 402 on 8/6. Dr. advised to resume insulin therapy @ 0.5u BID with frequent curves and urine checks.
8/6/18: Begin 0.5 unit BID
8/14/18 curve: Pre-ins BG 221, nadir 92 @ 8 hours
8/18/18 curve: Pre-ins BG 99. I got spooked and skipped. BG peaked at 374 at 4 PM. Resumed normal schedule that evening.
8/21/18 curve: Pre-ins BG 274, nadir 154 @ 9.5 hours
8/21 - 8/29/18: Things are looking good again. Good appetite, gaining weight, better energy. Against my better judgment I proceeded with an international trip that had been scheduled since March, leaving her at home with my good friend who dutifully learned how to inject.
8/29/18: Hypoglycemic Episode #1
8/29/18: Hospitalized overnight for hypoglycemia after appetite loss and other symptoms (I was told it was in the 40s.) At first I assumed my friend incorrectly dosed, but I'm confident now based on what happened later that this was not an OD. Dr. advised to reduce to 0.5 SID as a result of this.
8/30/18: Begin 0.5 unit SID.
9/3/18 - 9/27/18: Glucose dip sticks are all 0, trace, or 1+. Spot check pre-insulin BG of 342 on 9/4.
9/28/18: Treated by PCP for relapse ear infection using Tresaderm - another medication which - I again didn't know - contained a corticosteroid.
9/28 - 10/4/18: 3+ strips, 400+ spot BG, and appetite loss. I finally make the connection between the ear medication, steroid, and BG. I consult with PCP, discontinue Tresaderm on 10/3 and resume BID dosing for a couple days until she stabilizes.
10/5/18: Symptoms much improved and SID dosing resumed.
10/10/18: Trace glucose in urine.
10/11/18 curve: 339 post-insulin, post-feeding (don't know pre-ins), 143 nadir. Advised by specialist to return to 0.5 BID dosing. I agreed because I felt like her overall energy level and health was better on 0.5 BID and at the time I thought maybe 8/29 hypo was a fluke due to depression or mistake by my sitter while I was away.
10/13/18: Return to 0.5 unit BID
10/16 - 10/21/18: Urine sticks 1+ to 2+
10/25/18 curve: 150 pre-ins post-feed, 111 nadir @ 4.5 hours.
10/25/18: On Dr. advice, begin introducing small amounts of complex carbohydrates through Orijen Cat & Kitten dry food, supplementing Fancy Fast
10/31 - 11/2/18: Urine sticks 2+ to 3+.
11/15/18 curve: 135 post-ins post-feeding, 74 nadir @ 9 hours
11/19 - 11/27/18: Urine sticks 2+. Confusing why sticks showing glucose while BG numbers are so good.
12/6/18 curve: 166 pre-ins post-feed, 105 nadir @ 10 hours
12/18/18: Another ear infection relapse and tresaderm is still deemed the best choice. PCP and I believe that, now that we know about corticosteroid issue and insulin dose is higher than last time, it's a manageable risk.
12/20/18: Unfortunately steroid reaction is worse than before. Spot check BG 387. Appetite very poor. Dehydration. Discontinued tresaderm that evening.
12/21 - 12/22/18: Administered subq fluids with PCP vet. Symptoms improved almost immediately.
12/23 - 1/10/19: Dramatic Improvements
During this time urine sticks all 0 or trace. DM symptoms virtually gone. Previous obsessive behavior re: water (following us into bathroom, hovering over bowl, etc.) gone. Barely drinking plain water. Playing with toys for first time in a year. Shame on me, I did not do a curve during this time. Was planning to sometime in January.
1/11/19: Hypoglycemic Episode #2
1/10/19: Vomited very small amount early morning before feeding, but ate and received insulin normally.
1/11/19 AM: Vomited again, very small amount early morning before feeding. Again ate normally and received insulin.
1/11/19 PM: Ate normally. Received insulin at 6:30 PM. Around 9:30-10PM vomited almost entire dinner. Ate supplemental dry food, but couldn't keep it down. Spot BG 73 @ 10PM. Corn syrup on gums and tongue.
1/12/19 12:00 AM: Spot BG 45. More corn syrup and rushed to emergency vet for IV.
1/12/19 6:00 AM: BG back to 130, took home. Skipped AM shot. Advised to skip PM shot unless BG was over 300. Eating normally again, no vomiting.
1/12/19 6:30 PM: BG 364. Administered 0.5u.
1/13/19 6:30 AM: BG 259. Administered 0.5u.
1/13/19 6:00 PM: BG 175. Administered 0.25u on suspicion of remission
1/14/19 6:00 AM: BG 89. Skipped insulin on suspicion of remission
1/14/19 12:00 PM: BG 185
1/14/19 6:00 PM: BG 341. Administered 0.5u.
1/15/19: Begin 0.25U BID. At this point I'm strongly suspecting remission and trying to follow universal advice to reduce insulin dose as slowly as possible in such case. I finally hear from the specialist and he concurs. I'm able to reliably measure 0.25u consistently (or very close to that) using the thickness of the zero line in the syringe as a guide.
1/22/19 Curve: 94 pre-feed, pre-ins, 60 nadir @ 5 hours.
We did the curve at PCP's office for convenience. PCP advised based on curve to stop insulin, spot check BG and urine, and watch for symptoms. This advice - cease insulin abruptly - troubled me as it did on 8/1. Contacted specialist for confirmation.
1/23/19: 6 AM: 1+ on urine stick. I make executive decision to inject 0.25u that morning, suspecting remission is still possible but we weren't quite at the finish line.
1/24/19: Begin 0.25U every 16 hours
1/24/19: 6 AM: BG 324 pre-ins, post feed. I again inject 0.25u at 7 AM.
At this point it's clear that BID dosing, even in miniscule amounts, is too much for her, and yet SID dosing is also not enough. I also fear that we will lose progress toward remission if she goes back to being above 300 on a regular basis. I thus did a second injection at 11 PM and have been following 7 AM - 11 PM - 3PM - 7AM since.
1/25/19: Strips negative, good appetite and energy all day.
1/26/19:
- 303 BG spot check, pre-insulin, post-feed. Appetite was slightly lower so I wanted to rule out hypo. Trace urine strip 30 minutes later.
- Ear infection has again returned in force and is no doubt a factor in BG. PCP is getting amoxicillin compounded into an otic with no corticosteroid (which I wish had been suggested months ago)
- Finally heard from the specialist for the first time since the Tuesday curve. He does not seem to like a 16 hour schedule, citing the possibility for error/OD, and advises 0.25U SID followed by a fructosamine test in a couple weeks. Did not respond to my concerns about reducing the dose slowly or losing our progress toward remission.
QUESTIONS
Phew. So after all that, here are my questions/concerns:
We have a real dilemma as far as dosing. On the one hand, the tiniest 12-hour dose that is humanly possible to administer with a syringe - 0.25 - seems to be too much or at least dangerously close to the line. On the other hand, our foray into 24 hour (0.5 units!) dosing in September proved to be too little, and any other time a 12 hour dose has been skipped it has a dramatic impact on her BG (+250 in 12 hours sometimes).
Every veterinary source (not just anecdotal reports) I can find says that the 1/22/19 curve warrants a dose reduction and indicates possible remission, but that the insulin needs to be withdrawn as slowly as possible to not upset the beta cells and thus make the remission stick. I DO NOT want a repeat of what happened on 8/1/18, which still frustrates me as I fear we squandered a real opportunity there for quick remission by stopping 1U BID abruptly and contrary to the every authority I've since read on this.
Leaving aside the past, at this point, the only way I can conceive of to meet both criteria of reducing dose, but doing so slowly, is to drag out the 0.25 unit doses to 16 hours until we consistently see negative urine strips and good BGs, then go 18 hours, then 20, then 24, and THEN doing a curve and fructosamine test to see if we are really, truly, in remission.
I am a little baffled why this isn't a good plan, and I don't think that the remote possibility that I'll make a timing mistake is a good enough reason not to try it, especially when we're only talking a week or two of this. I think we have compelling evidence that just dropping to 24 hr dosing at this point is not going to be enough and we're gonna wind up right back to the drawing board in a month. Heck, I even have doubts about 16-hour dosing being enough based on today's 303, but want to at least give it a few days and kill this damned ear infection before drawing any conclusions. Most importantly I can't find any real reasoning behind our doctor's objection to this weening plan so I have a hard time accepting his advice this time without hearing other views.
I'm open to any other suggestions too.
Sorry for the very long post, and appreciate any insights folks can offer. Thanks!!!
BACKGROUND
My 14-year-old orange DMH, Zelda, has been receiving glargine since July 2018 after becoming badly hyperglycemic, including ketones, and developing pancreatitis. Our suspected culprit is Claro Otic, a long-lasting ear medication which she received a few weeks prior, which I later learned contains a corticosteroid. She had been "pre-diabetic" for 1.5 years prior, and steroids should have been avoided like the plague. Whatever the cause, she had to be hospitalized for 2 nights after refusing to eat solid food for several days, after which we met with an excellent internal medicine specialist who diagnosed her with full blown DM and prescribed glargine.
We have since been continuing to work with the internal medicine specialist on all dosing decisions. We email somewhat frequently as in person visits are difficult to schedule, and despite my offer he does not bill me for the consults. I think he's an excellent doctor and we like and respect him very much. However, I am not always 100% confident in his reasoning when it comes to maintenance and total picture type issues. She has been very difficult to regulate, and I think a good part of that has been because of some external factors and at least one questionable decision early on, as I'll discuss more below.
But first, the relevant history. The most recent and interesting history begins around 12/23/18 , but I'm providing the whole thing for reference. FYI, diet is 3-4 Fancy Feast classic pate per day. In October we also introduced a very small amount (1 tsp per feeding) of Orijen Cat & Kitten dry food on Dr.'s advice to add some complex carbohydrates for better glycemic control.
HISTORY
7/7/18: Begin 1.0 unit BID
8/1/18 curve: 60 nadir. Dr. advised remission and to stop abruptly, which I questioned but followed. Symptoms and ketones returned within days. Spot check BG of 402 on 8/6. Dr. advised to resume insulin therapy @ 0.5u BID with frequent curves and urine checks.
8/6/18: Begin 0.5 unit BID
8/14/18 curve: Pre-ins BG 221, nadir 92 @ 8 hours
8/18/18 curve: Pre-ins BG 99. I got spooked and skipped. BG peaked at 374 at 4 PM. Resumed normal schedule that evening.
8/21/18 curve: Pre-ins BG 274, nadir 154 @ 9.5 hours
8/21 - 8/29/18: Things are looking good again. Good appetite, gaining weight, better energy. Against my better judgment I proceeded with an international trip that had been scheduled since March, leaving her at home with my good friend who dutifully learned how to inject.
8/29/18: Hypoglycemic Episode #1
8/29/18: Hospitalized overnight for hypoglycemia after appetite loss and other symptoms (I was told it was in the 40s.) At first I assumed my friend incorrectly dosed, but I'm confident now based on what happened later that this was not an OD. Dr. advised to reduce to 0.5 SID as a result of this.
8/30/18: Begin 0.5 unit SID.
9/3/18 - 9/27/18: Glucose dip sticks are all 0, trace, or 1+. Spot check pre-insulin BG of 342 on 9/4.
9/28/18: Treated by PCP for relapse ear infection using Tresaderm - another medication which - I again didn't know - contained a corticosteroid.
9/28 - 10/4/18: 3+ strips, 400+ spot BG, and appetite loss. I finally make the connection between the ear medication, steroid, and BG. I consult with PCP, discontinue Tresaderm on 10/3 and resume BID dosing for a couple days until she stabilizes.
10/5/18: Symptoms much improved and SID dosing resumed.
10/10/18: Trace glucose in urine.
10/11/18 curve: 339 post-insulin, post-feeding (don't know pre-ins), 143 nadir. Advised by specialist to return to 0.5 BID dosing. I agreed because I felt like her overall energy level and health was better on 0.5 BID and at the time I thought maybe 8/29 hypo was a fluke due to depression or mistake by my sitter while I was away.
10/13/18: Return to 0.5 unit BID
10/16 - 10/21/18: Urine sticks 1+ to 2+
10/25/18 curve: 150 pre-ins post-feed, 111 nadir @ 4.5 hours.
10/25/18: On Dr. advice, begin introducing small amounts of complex carbohydrates through Orijen Cat & Kitten dry food, supplementing Fancy Fast
10/31 - 11/2/18: Urine sticks 2+ to 3+.
11/15/18 curve: 135 post-ins post-feeding, 74 nadir @ 9 hours
11/19 - 11/27/18: Urine sticks 2+. Confusing why sticks showing glucose while BG numbers are so good.
12/6/18 curve: 166 pre-ins post-feed, 105 nadir @ 10 hours
12/18/18: Another ear infection relapse and tresaderm is still deemed the best choice. PCP and I believe that, now that we know about corticosteroid issue and insulin dose is higher than last time, it's a manageable risk.
12/20/18: Unfortunately steroid reaction is worse than before. Spot check BG 387. Appetite very poor. Dehydration. Discontinued tresaderm that evening.
12/21 - 12/22/18: Administered subq fluids with PCP vet. Symptoms improved almost immediately.
12/23 - 1/10/19: Dramatic Improvements
During this time urine sticks all 0 or trace. DM symptoms virtually gone. Previous obsessive behavior re: water (following us into bathroom, hovering over bowl, etc.) gone. Barely drinking plain water. Playing with toys for first time in a year. Shame on me, I did not do a curve during this time. Was planning to sometime in January.
1/11/19: Hypoglycemic Episode #2
1/10/19: Vomited very small amount early morning before feeding, but ate and received insulin normally.
1/11/19 AM: Vomited again, very small amount early morning before feeding. Again ate normally and received insulin.
1/11/19 PM: Ate normally. Received insulin at 6:30 PM. Around 9:30-10PM vomited almost entire dinner. Ate supplemental dry food, but couldn't keep it down. Spot BG 73 @ 10PM. Corn syrup on gums and tongue.
1/12/19 12:00 AM: Spot BG 45. More corn syrup and rushed to emergency vet for IV.
1/12/19 6:00 AM: BG back to 130, took home. Skipped AM shot. Advised to skip PM shot unless BG was over 300. Eating normally again, no vomiting.
1/12/19 6:30 PM: BG 364. Administered 0.5u.
1/13/19 6:30 AM: BG 259. Administered 0.5u.
1/13/19 6:00 PM: BG 175. Administered 0.25u on suspicion of remission
1/14/19 6:00 AM: BG 89. Skipped insulin on suspicion of remission
1/14/19 12:00 PM: BG 185
1/14/19 6:00 PM: BG 341. Administered 0.5u.
1/15/19: Begin 0.25U BID. At this point I'm strongly suspecting remission and trying to follow universal advice to reduce insulin dose as slowly as possible in such case. I finally hear from the specialist and he concurs. I'm able to reliably measure 0.25u consistently (or very close to that) using the thickness of the zero line in the syringe as a guide.
1/22/19 Curve: 94 pre-feed, pre-ins, 60 nadir @ 5 hours.
We did the curve at PCP's office for convenience. PCP advised based on curve to stop insulin, spot check BG and urine, and watch for symptoms. This advice - cease insulin abruptly - troubled me as it did on 8/1. Contacted specialist for confirmation.
1/23/19: 6 AM: 1+ on urine stick. I make executive decision to inject 0.25u that morning, suspecting remission is still possible but we weren't quite at the finish line.
1/24/19: Begin 0.25U every 16 hours
1/24/19: 6 AM: BG 324 pre-ins, post feed. I again inject 0.25u at 7 AM.
At this point it's clear that BID dosing, even in miniscule amounts, is too much for her, and yet SID dosing is also not enough. I also fear that we will lose progress toward remission if she goes back to being above 300 on a regular basis. I thus did a second injection at 11 PM and have been following 7 AM - 11 PM - 3PM - 7AM since.
1/25/19: Strips negative, good appetite and energy all day.
1/26/19:
- 303 BG spot check, pre-insulin, post-feed. Appetite was slightly lower so I wanted to rule out hypo. Trace urine strip 30 minutes later.
- Ear infection has again returned in force and is no doubt a factor in BG. PCP is getting amoxicillin compounded into an otic with no corticosteroid (which I wish had been suggested months ago)
- Finally heard from the specialist for the first time since the Tuesday curve. He does not seem to like a 16 hour schedule, citing the possibility for error/OD, and advises 0.25U SID followed by a fructosamine test in a couple weeks. Did not respond to my concerns about reducing the dose slowly or losing our progress toward remission.
QUESTIONS
Phew. So after all that, here are my questions/concerns:
We have a real dilemma as far as dosing. On the one hand, the tiniest 12-hour dose that is humanly possible to administer with a syringe - 0.25 - seems to be too much or at least dangerously close to the line. On the other hand, our foray into 24 hour (0.5 units!) dosing in September proved to be too little, and any other time a 12 hour dose has been skipped it has a dramatic impact on her BG (+250 in 12 hours sometimes).
Every veterinary source (not just anecdotal reports) I can find says that the 1/22/19 curve warrants a dose reduction and indicates possible remission, but that the insulin needs to be withdrawn as slowly as possible to not upset the beta cells and thus make the remission stick. I DO NOT want a repeat of what happened on 8/1/18, which still frustrates me as I fear we squandered a real opportunity there for quick remission by stopping 1U BID abruptly and contrary to the every authority I've since read on this.
Leaving aside the past, at this point, the only way I can conceive of to meet both criteria of reducing dose, but doing so slowly, is to drag out the 0.25 unit doses to 16 hours until we consistently see negative urine strips and good BGs, then go 18 hours, then 20, then 24, and THEN doing a curve and fructosamine test to see if we are really, truly, in remission.
I am a little baffled why this isn't a good plan, and I don't think that the remote possibility that I'll make a timing mistake is a good enough reason not to try it, especially when we're only talking a week or two of this. I think we have compelling evidence that just dropping to 24 hr dosing at this point is not going to be enough and we're gonna wind up right back to the drawing board in a month. Heck, I even have doubts about 16-hour dosing being enough based on today's 303, but want to at least give it a few days and kill this damned ear infection before drawing any conclusions. Most importantly I can't find any real reasoning behind our doctor's objection to this weening plan so I have a hard time accepting his advice this time without hearing other views.
I'm open to any other suggestions too.
Sorry for the very long post, and appreciate any insights folks can offer. Thanks!!!
