Taffy 11/21 - AMPS 334/+3 379/+8 222/+11 197/PMPS 134/+2 82/+2.5 75/+3 76/+4 74/+5 83/+6 107

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/taffy-amps-74-now-what-full-dose.168445/#post-1826271

Running higher #s today after the skip yesterday AM. I have not tested since +3 (about three hours ago) bcuz he is hibernating under the bed and I have not had the heart to drag him out yet. I will in another hour, likely, so that I can test.

What is a common schedule like for meals for TR. Before Dx, he got early brekkie, 2nd brekkie (which was smaller) about 3-4 hours after, and then early dinner and late snack. I'm not sure how to time the meals with the shots. He is still super hungry in the AMs and bugging me super early.
 
Sorry he's running higher today. It's a combo of the skipped shot and a bounce. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear so again good data to have and it could take 4-6 cycles for the depot to stabilize again from the skip.

There is no hard fast rule about feeding. When my Doodles was on Lantus I fed him at preshot and +4 and +5. Now he gets fed every 4 hours around the clock. You can feed anytime except the 2 hours before preshot. This way the preshot is not food influenced. Most will feed just snacks in the second half of the cycle since that's when the insulin starts to wear off a bit.
 
As Karen says there's no hard and fast rule, ECID.
Though a lot of us try not to feed after nadir, as this can put the brakes on the insulin, leading to higher PS.(personally I tried not to feed after +6, though with George even a +7 didn't seem to affect him adversely. If Taffy gets hungry or you need to give him something then what most folk have found is that givings something like poached chicken breast(no carbs) as a snack didn't affect numbers/orcycle.

Just to give you an idea:
When we first started on insulin George got fed at amps +6 pmps and +5.
Then after reading and some and experiencing some early fast dives, I changed his schedule to
main breakfast (3oz)@amps
snack (2teaspoons/1oz)@+2
snack (2teaspoons/1oz)@+4
snack (2teaspoons/1oz)@ +6
supper(3oz) @pmps
snack (2teaspoons/1oz)@+2
snack (2teaspoons/1oz)@+4
snack (2teaspoons/1oz)@ +6

Or at least that was the planned schedule, he would get more snacks (2teaspoons) if his numbers warranted it, eg he dropped fast at +1 and I wanted to slow him down to encourage a surf, or if he was in low, but safe greens and I wanted to keep him surfing, he'd get an extra snack when he needed it.

Once he went into remission and as he was approaching it, we changed from that to every three hours, he still gets fed every 3 hours now.
amps 30z
2tsp +3
2tsp+6
2tsp+9
pmps 3oz
2tsp +3
2tsp+6
2tsp+9
 
Going down steadily, kind of quickly, maybe.

He was really bugging me for another snack before dinner and I know it was within the 2-3 hour range, but I did give him a little. That is why I tested at +11, before the snack. Really it was more like +10.5 and he was 197. Then he had his small bite and at PMPS he was still going down, at 134. So I am watching him and will test at PM +2 which is about 20 minutes from now.

I need to get him weighed and see if he is still losing. He was btwn 1-2 lbs over his ideal weight the four years that I have had him, but he's dropped more than that and if he stays where he's at, it'll be fine, but if he continues to lose weight he'll be underweight. :(
 
Waiting to see that +2, I might have gone for a +1 as his number was falling going g into pmps. But definitely don't wIt past that +2 which must be due just about now.
If he is still dropping then I would give him a snack.
 
82! Yes he was dropping at PMPS and he had a snack btwn +11 and dinner. Still going down which I thought would happen. So check every hour now?
 
I thought he might drop into green, that's quite a drop for so early in the cycle, when George did that I found that getting ahead of the insulin really helped me manage his numbers so I would give a little mc at this point. And test in 30 minutes ( if you don't have mc mix one teaspoon of LC with one teaspoon of hc)
 
By MC I mean medium carb.
So mix one teaspoon of LC (low carb) with one teaspoon of HC (,,,high carb) that should give you some food that is higher in carb to try and slow him down.
 
Is some FF pate with a few kibbles on top okay?
What do you use for when his numbers are low, like below 50?
A lot of folk use the ff gravy lovers.

But if you haven't got any wet high carb then a couple of pieces of kibble now with a teaspoon of low carb would be a good idea.
 
What do you use for when his numbers are low, like below 50?
A lot of folk use the ff gravy lovers.

But if you haven't got any wet high carb then a couple of pieces of kibble now with a teaspoon of low carb would be a good idea.
Don't have any gravy versions. Will pick some up. This is our first time in green, except the other day when I skipped the dose because I had to be out all day.
 
That's OK having some wet high carb is better as it works a little quicker. But you can use the kibble most of us don't use the kibble because it can stay in the system for longer,

If when you test at +2.5 he is still dropping, a little more food will be a good idea, a teaspoon or two, try not to over do it as you will may well need him to eat more tonight if his numbers drop. With George I usually didn't have that worry as he is Avery good eater.

If his numbers are approaching the low 60's or ,50's it might be an idea to add a little drop of honey/ or Karo to his regular food, that will bump up the carb value, and get into him more quickly and won't have the downside of the kibble.
 
I wouldn't leave him just now to go for the food, maybe tomorrow, you can manage his numbers just fine with what you have.
 
Tested at 75, still dropping.
No, not leaving now. I meant I'll get some tomorrow.
The gravy FF is med carb...mc
what would be a canned high carb? I have a/d
(I did give him the tablespoon-ish FF pate with about 8 kibbles on it)
 
If it's Gravy Lovers, it's high carb....you just pop the top, put it back and "squeeze" the gravy into another bowl.....the gravy is where all the carbs are

Mix a teaspoon of gravy with a teaspoon of pate and you'll have a medium carb food

Or you can add a drop or two of Karo, honey or syrup instead of using kibble
 
Im not sure about the Values of the various ff, I think the gravy lovers are high carb, and there are some that are mc, I'm in Spain so we don't get ff here and I haven't personally used them.
When the excitement is over you could ask the question our us members will help you with that.
 
With that 74 still being a little lower I would give a little LC now, just a teaspoon or two. And test again in 30 to 45 min. As he still appears to be dropping a little and it's his first foray into green, it pays to bd a little cautious.
 
Since he just had some kibble, I'd just retest in 30 minutes....another reason we don't like using kibble is that it takes longer to get broken down and into the bloodstream

We just want to get Taffy surfing.....He's not in any danger at this point
 
That's great.....Now no more food and retest in 30....if he can continue to surf without needing any more high carb/medium carb food, that's the best thing you can hope for!

I have to get to bed now, but @Gill & George are in Spain so they'll be watching out for you.

It will be really helpful to keep that subject line updated when you get new numbers in too
 
Good that he is holding.
Testing at +4 sounds like a good idea. and lets see if he will hold without any High carbs.

est next at +4? I'll get some mc on hand, but what qualifies as common hc wet that people use?

The fancy Feast Gravy lovers are HC, I think a lot of folk use that. Not sure what folk use as MC.
I have to get to bed now, but @Gill & George are in Spain so they'll be watching out for you
Night night chris.
 
That's great that he is still holding.

When did you give him the kibble pieces? How much?
Did you give honey if so when?

The HC can wear off so we like to make sure that taffy is holding his own without any hc. So usually when using wet hc and/or honey if they are still holding their own after 2 hours we consider it sage.

Problem with the kibble is that it stays in kitties system longer, but we don't know how long, it varies from cat to cat, that's why we prefer to steer the numbers with wet food/ honey.
 
All that said I think you could give another teaspoon of LC and go for a test at +5.

It's great that he recovered from his skipped shot so soon. This is 3 cycles since you resumed the insulin.:D:D:D
 
That's great, I would say that once you get to +6 and he is holding or has gone up you will be OK to go to bed. Giving him a meal just before you do so, that should tide him over till morning.
I wouldn't be surprised if he bounces at some point tonight and his numbers zoom up, but cats are known to surprise us, just in case he still is green in the morning it might be an idea to get a +11.5 and start a new post asking for advice/eyes if he is still low.

When you get a chance, it would be a great if you could update your ss with all the tests you did, and for your own benefit (at least I found it very useful) make a note of what you fed and when on the remarks section, when you look back it will help you figure out what works best for Taffy when you are trying to steer his numbers with food.

To update all the numbers in the +2 column you would also write something like 75@+2.5, you will need to select the text wrapping function so that we can all see what you have written to do that first go to the top of your ss and right click on the very top left hand cell, this will highlight the whole ss, then with the ss highlighted you click on where it says format at the top of the ss and from the drop down list select wrapping, and then select the wrap function. That will allow you to record the numbers and you will see them 'stacked' in the columns, it just allows us/you to see the numbers at a glance.
Hope that makes sense.

By the way Taffy seems to have a surf on, lets hope he enjoys it soooo much that we see much more of it from him.

SurfCatMO.jpg

:D:D:D
 
ok, staying up until +6. Thanks for all of your guidance. I did put my numbers in SS (except for the 2.5 right now, editing spreadsheets at 2am not my strong suit!) I keep hand written notes about the food and such as well. I'll add some info to SS. I need some FF w/ gravy and more test strips tomorrow (not out yet, but going fast).
 
ok, staying up until +6. Thanks for all of your guidance. I did put my numbers in SS (except for the 2.5 right now, editing spreadsheets at 2am not my strong suit!) I keep hand written notes about the food and such as well. I'll add some info to SS. I need some FF w/ gravy and more test strips tomorrow (not out yet, but going fast).
Just get it done when you can. It's great that you keep written notes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top