Cindy&Taco
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...268-pmps-219-3-319-5-298-8-302-11-298.203944/
Not looking too good today
Not looking too good today
Tonight is cycle 6, since those greens, so I would be looking to see if she clears the bounce.
Last time he cleared the bounce, 9/27 pm cycle, he went pink in the previous cycle, 9/27 am cycle. The high before the low, sometimes kitties do this before clearing the bounce.
Looking at this mornings numbers am 9/30 I wondered if that is what he is doing, and seeing that you've now got that 222, dropping 100pts @ +4 from his +2 it makes me think that you might see numbers continue to drop tonight, as he may be clearing the bounce. I wouldn't be surprised if he hits some blue/green.
I would try and get a +6, tonight, and you may need to test more if you see he has dropped into blue.

oops need more coffee.The 222 was @ +5.
When you hear folk here refer to bounces what they are talking about is a run of high numbers that occur after a kitty hits BG values that they are not 'used to'.I'm still learning so much about these bounces, t
oops need more coffee.
When you hear folk here refer to bounces what they are talking about is a run of high numbers that occur after a kitty hits BG values that they are not 'used to'.
So the other day when Taco got into those greens, although he was in a bg range that is normal for a non diabetic, this is range that you are aiming for with TR, the range where the damaged beta cells (insulin producing) in the pancreas can heal, however, Taco's body has become accustomed to higher BG and has got 'confused' so when he drops into this healthy range his liver thinks that he is in danger, even though he is in a good/safe range, this triggers a response, from his 'panicky' liver which results in the liver releasing glucose into the blood stream from it's glycogen store in attempt to protect Taco from a perceived low. Hey presto, we have 'The Bounce'.
Experience tells us that typically bounces last up to a maximum of 6 cycles (they can be shorter), and during this period we will see the numbers remain high and flat for at least one cycle.
We largely ignore the numbers we see in the bounces and look to see where they land each time the bounce clears, we want to see if those nadirs are where we want them to be, if after a bounce clears they don't get back to green then it may be time to reconsider the dose. Dosing is going to be based on the lows we see not the highs.
Bounces are not only triggered by drops into greens, but just numbers that kitty is not normally seeing and are not used to, or indeed a fast drop in numbers.
paws crossed Taco sees green tonight but surfs nicely for you.
Yes he appears to have slowed down.So, what I see with this +8 is that he's not dropping too fast, is that what you see too,?
Yes seems reasonable, or even a +11.so what would be my next test? +10?
Yes he appears to have slowed down.
Yes seems reasonable, or even a +11.
I liked a +11, because I liked to see where George was heading at PS.
I liked to see if he was heading up, staying flat, or dropping at PS.
For George if he was dropping at PS, I knew the cycle would be exciting and I would need to monitor and probably steer the early part of the cycle to try and keep his numbers from bottoming out early. By steering I mean feeding some extra fuds to keep his numbers flat and try to avoid sudden drops.

Good luck.wish me luck in refraining to poke before +11Thank you again
![]()
Yes he appears to have slowed down.
Yes seems reasonable, or even a +11.
I liked a +11, because I liked to see where George was heading at PS.
I liked to see if he was heading up, staying flat, or dropping at PS.
For George if he was dropping at PS, I knew the cycle would be exciting and I would need to monitor and probably steer the early part of the cycle to try and keep his numbers from bottoming out early. By steering I mean feeding some extra fuds to keep his numbers flat and try to avoid sudden drops.
Good luck.
And you're welcome.
Yes, you could, though I avoided feeding late in the cycle, as this point the effect of the insulin is waning and it can have the undesirable effect of raising the overall BG.@Gill & George One more question, pleaseWould it be ok to feed him now ,say, something around 3 carbs, he would most likely eat it. He's used to more food than what he's been getting lately, usually up until his +10 ?
Yes, you could, though I avoided feeding late in the cycle, as this point the effect of the insulin is waning and it can have the undesirable effect of raising the overall BG.
Some folk will feed zero carb food like a little boiled chicken breast if they find that their kitty is prone to foamy vomit (acid tummy) if they don't eat regularly enough.