Taco 11/8 AMPS 215,+2 326,+4 285,+6 357,+8 336,+10 273,+11 276,PMPS 246,+3 307,+5 259, +11 232

Looks like Taco decided to do a little bouncing. Tomorrow he'll get back to the blues and maybe a little toe dipping! You listening Taco??!!??:)
Well since his mom has taken over for tonight, me Moriah, we shall see what tomorrow brings, maybe some blues, maybe more pinks. Only Taco knows what he'll do next. He says yes and no, he does what he wants when he wants.:p
 
Hi Moriah! You and your Mom have quite the tag team going there and Taco is definitely putting you through your paces! Give Taco some scritches from Auntie Linda. Maybe some bribery will work! :woot:
 
Hi Moriah! You and your Mom have quite the tag team going there and Taco is definitely putting you through your paces! Give Taco some scritches from Auntie Linda. Maybe some bribery will work! :woot:

Yeah, Taco is keeping us both on our toes just to figure out where he's going. I will give him scritches from you and tell him to 'straighten up and fly right' but also bribe him with hugs. :cat:
 
Hi Moriah! You and your Mom have quite the tag team going there and Taco is definitely putting you through your paces! Give Taco some scritches from Auntie Linda. Maybe some bribery will work! :woot:

I love my girl, Moriah,don't know what I would do without her.:kiss:

I(cindy) Just got up at 4:30 am, just to look at this mess. I guess he wanted Nana(me) up with him all day and all night.

Taco, it doesnt work that way, If one of us doesnt get sleep then you wont get better, NOW PLEASE, QUIT WITH THE ANTICS, PLEASE!! YES! I"M SHOUTING AT YOU, TACO!! Needless to say you're getting 3 Us at you AM shot time. Unless you decide to dive, and nothing with you would surprise me:rolleyes: I love you no matter what, Taco,that's why we don't give up, besides being fortunate to be able to treat you, now show me some love, Nana ,likes blue and high green, but I'll take all blues.I really will :bighug::kiss: After over 2 years, Taco? please try to follow the rules some, at least just a little, like dont't show Nana those PINKS.
I know you know that used to be my favorite color, BUT IT'S NOT ANYMORE, I LIKE BLUE or GREEN !!
 
Looks like Taco decided to do a little bouncing. Tomorrow he'll get back to the blues and maybe a little toe dipping! You listening Taco??!!??:)

Can you explain a bit more about bouncing ? In tacos SS specifically with with the one you're refering to. I'm so confused with these bounces and what they are or mean. Like, did he get used to those numbers and decided he didnt like it there? This is so mysterious to me and he's been doing this for 2 years, on 2 completely different insulin. Levemir 2-3 months longer than ProZinc.
 
Bouncing is a normal biological response that occurs when the body perceives BG is too low, has dropped quickly or has dropped to lower levels than it's used to. Diabetics get used to being in higher BG range so when they suddenly get into lower ranges that have become foreign to them, other hormones are activated that cause more glucose to be sent to the bloodstream to bring BG back up to the levels it deems "normal". Some cats are more bouncy than others. Some clear bounces quickly while others take a few cycles to clear.

On the 4th and 5th Nov, Taco was pretty much pink and yellow all day and night. On the 6th and 7th, he had better numbers with lots of blues and a little green and then yesterday he headed back up again. Interestingly, it looks to me like when he get a run of good numbers he surfs well and then suddenly seemingly for no reason, he decides higher is better again. I'm not sure holding the dose longer is the answer here. I know you don't want to be chasing BG in the middle of the night, but the longer you can get Taco surfing in low blues and some greens, the more accustomed to them he should get.
 
Bouncing is a normal biological response that occurs when the body perceives BG is too low, has dropped quickly or has dropped to lower levels than it's used to. Diabetics get used to being in higher BG range so when they suddenly get into lower ranges that have become foreign to them, other hormones are activated that cause more glucose to be sent to the bloodstream to bring BG back up to the levels it deems "normal". Some cats are more bouncy than others. Some clear bounces quickly while others take a few cycles to clear.

On the 4th and 5th Nov, Taco was pretty much pink and yellow all day and night. On the 6th and 7th, he had better numbers with lots of blues and a little green and then yesterday he headed back up again. Interestingly, it looks to me like when he get a run of good numbers he surfs well and then suddenly seemingly for no reason, he decides higher is better again. I'm not sure holding the dose longer is the answer here. I know you don't want to be chasing BG in the middle of the night, but the longer you can get Taco surfing in low blues and some greens, the more accustomed to them he should get.
He's getting a hike this AM to 3Us. I planned on holding his doses about 5 days, and it's been 5. So up he goes up about 1 hour. Taco does love high, as soon as I think he's liking the blues, he thinks about it and goes right back up. But he does seem to need more than 3 days and I'm not up to fooling with 40s-60s. It's just not good for my health. I think at this point Taco can stay healthy in the higher greens and low blues until I can get braver if that's what it's called ;) Moriah gets to the wrecked stage also and I can't stand seeing her like that at such a young age. It's her cat and already as a young person she's got a lot on her plate. So will try this SLGS method with a cap of 5 days for Taco. Hoping we all can be more at ease with this. And YES! Taco is VERY bouncy. Thanks for explaining. I guess it's all up to him!!
 
Dealing with a sea of green numbers on a SS definitely takes some getting used to but once they get there, they seem to surf much flatter and you get used to it. It's definitely a bit of a puzzle to find that balance between what kitty needs and what you are able to manage in the way of monitoring and not worrying yourself to a frazzle. Aiming for some nice low blue numbers with a splash of green thrown in is a good goal. That's pretty much what I was aiming for with Menace but she suddenly decided we were going for more exciting ride last summer. You never know... Taco might do the same.
 
Dealing with a sea of green numbers on a SS definitely takes some getting used to but once they get there, they seem to surf much flatter and you get used to it. It's definitely a bit of a puzzle to find that balance between what kitty needs and what you are able to manage in the way of monitoring and not worrying yourself to a frazzle. Aiming for some nice low blue numbers with a splash of green thrown in is a good goal. That's pretty much what I was aiming for with Menace but she suddenly decided we were going for more exciting ride last summer. You never know... Taco might do the same.
Wouldn't mind it so much, if he wouldn't take those deep sea dives, hoping for a better next few days. I like the blues with splashes of green, this color green GREEN not this GREEN :stop:
 
Agreed those light greens are scary but with all the testing you do, chances are good they will be few and far between and you'll be taking action to avoid dropping that far.
 
Back
Top