Taco 11/12 PMPS 238,+2 286,+4 262,+7 323,+11 295,PMPS279,+3 343,+5 295,+9 170,+11 94,

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I wish I knew more to help you.
Is it a bounce? Any fur shots lately?
Have you seen numbers like this before?
Has he had a reduction recently?
It seems like Taco's numbers can be a frequent challenge, but I don't know enough about him to REALLY know that even.

However what I do know is that you are trying your hardest to help Taco, which makes you a wonderful cat mom.

Hang in there. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The two of you have been trying your hardest... that's for sure. There's only two things I can think of at the moment:
  • I know you've chosen to hold doses for 5 days, but maybe it's time to reconsider going back to TR?
  • Is it time for a vet visit? I don't know how long it's been since he's had a general check-up and blood drawn.
Is there anything different that you've noticed?
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I wish I knew more to help you.
Is it a bounce? Any fur shots lately?
Have you seen numbers like this before?
Has he had a reduction recently?
It seems like Taco's numbers can be a frequent challenge, but I don't know enough about him to REALLY know that even.

However what I do know is that you are trying your hardest to help Taco, which makes you a wonderful cat mom.

Hang in there. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
He's been doing this for over 2 years :( First on Prozinc and over 1 year on Levemir :( He had a raise 4 days ago. There is one thing that concerns me, and he seems to develop a lump on the side where he gets his shots, I'm wondering if his depot is just settled in that one spot? He doesnt get fur shots, because we shave his shot sites NOT to get any, he gets his shots in the area that is shaved , but, not the exact spot. There's only 1 person drawinf insulin and giving the shot, so as not to get different amounts and giving shot the same way every time. I'm so sad about this, he seems well, he poops good , and pees good ,so I'm so stumped :(
 
The two of you have been trying your hardest... that's for sure. There's only two things I can think of at the moment:
  • I know you've chosen to hold doses for 5 days, but maybe it's time to reconsider going back to TR?
  • Is it time for a vet visit? I don't know how long it's been since he's had a general check-up and blood drawn.
Is there anything different that you've noticed?
Just what I wrote above to Joanne about the lump, It's like in the skin, That is the only difference. If you can show me how TR has helped , I will go back, but, I dont see how it did? :) Not being snarky just trying to understand, :) I don't want to go as low as the numbers in TR, so is there another option for Taco? I think my first consideration, would be to try and find some 1/2 inch needles, I HATE the short and maybe the insulin is going into skin instead of under skin. What do you think? I have examined this guy with a fine tooth comb!! Can someone put the link up to ADW for the 1/2 inch needle with 1/2 marks ,I cannot find them. Just to let you know, that is why I left the FB group, G just abandoned me when the going got tuff with Taco, I hope to continue to get the support here if I need it. Also , at this point, going to the vet, I don't know what I would tell him? He's against me using Lev and health wise Taco is doing good, besides his crazy BG. Taco had a dental in October at my pleading.The vet situation is not good, and at this time I really have no options as I have called all of them and exhausted all vets in my area. The only thing I can do is try to find one where we are moving, but, I cant see the difference in quality and knowledge ,yet :(

He wants me to use a AT II and he calls my spreadsheet a comic book and wont look at it :(
 
Last edited:
Anyone here have their kitty develope a lump around the injection site ? And if you did, what did you do different? Taco has had this on both sides, and only after going to the short needles. So I'm wondering if the insulin isnt going under skin and into skin? Trying to figure out what may be going on :(
 
Just what I wrote above to Joanne about the lump, It's like in the skin, That is the only difference.
Sounds like something to have checked out.
If you can show me how TR has helped , I will go back, but, I dont see how it did? :) Not being snarky just trying to understand, :)
I don't think you are being snarky. Not at all. I'd also be worried and looking for answers. Tight regulation is a goal... it doesn't describe the process. You'll only see how it has helped when the goal is realized.
I don't want to go as low as the numbers in TR, so is there another option for Taco?
I wish I could say yes, it's do-able, but we just don't have that kind of control. I wish we did, but we don't.
I think my first consideration, would be to try and find some 1/2 inch needles, I HATE the short and maybe the insulin is going into skin instead of under skin. What do you think?
Do it. Maybe a longer needle would be better. There's no way of knowing without trying.

You know, there was a time I wasn't getting the usual results with Alex. I finally realized my shooting technique wasn't quite right after shooting for a couple years. I's hard to describe, but I was going in more parallel to her body than on a 45 degree angle. I remember mentioning it to Marje at the time. Once I corrected the angle I saw improvement. I have no idea if this might apply, but thought it worth mentioning.
Can someone put the link up to ADW for the 1/2 inch needle with 1/2 marks ,I cannot find them.
I've never used them. I hope someone shares the info. I bolded your request in hopes someone sees it. If not, ask the question on Health or as a separate thread here in the group.
Also , at this point, going to the vet, I don't know what I would tell him? He's against me using Lev and health wise Taco is doing good, besides his crazy BG. Taco had a dental in October at my pleading.The vet situation is not good, and at this time I really have no options as I have called all of them and exhausted all vets in my area. The only thing I can do is try to find one where we are moving, but, I cant see the difference in quality and knowledge ,yet :(

He wants me to use a AT II and he calls my spreadsheet a comic book and wont look at it :(
Oh boy, that stinks! I only suggest a vet visit for a check-up and blood work when nothing seems to be working in case there's a physical reason behind it all. Health issues are often a stumbling block in regulation.
 
Anyone here have their kitty develope a lump around the injection site ? And if you did, what did you do different? Taco has had this on both sides, and only after going to the short needles. So I'm wondering if the insulin isnt going under skin and into skin? Trying to figure out what may be going on :(
Do you rotate the shot to different areas? The same site can toughen up and make scar tissues which can effect absorption. I am not sure about the lump.

I agree with Jill to go back to TR so you can get Taco in better numbers faster. The more they are in green numbers, the faster their bodies accept them as the normal numbers that they are. Even when you had that nice run of greens on 10/17, he was still in safe numbers. It was some work to make sure he didn't sink, but he was still safe.

And maybe a vet appointment is in order to check out the lump. Hang in there Cindy. I hear your frustration and I feel for you. :bighug:
 
Do you rotate the shot to different areas? The same site can toughen up and make scar tissues which can effect absorption. I am not sure about the lump.

I agree with Jill to go back to TR so you can get Taco in better numbers faster. The more they are in green numbers, the faster their bodies accept them as the normal numbers that they are. Even when you had that nice run of greens on 10/17, he was still in safe numbers. It was some work to make sure he didn't sink, but he was still safe.

And maybe a vet appointment is in order to check out the lump. Hang in there Cindy. I hear your frustration and I feel for you. :bighug:
Do you rotate the shot to different areas? The same site can toughen up and make scar tissues which can effect absorption. I am not sure about the lump.

I didn’t know this, I give bella his injection the same place everyday, glad to know
 
Do you rotate the shot to different areas? The same site can toughen up and make scar tissues which can effect absorption. I am not sure about the lump.

I agree with Jill to go back to TR so you can get Taco in better numbers faster. The more they are in green numbers, the faster their bodies accept them as the normal numbers that they are. Even when you had that nice run of greens on 10/17, he was still in safe numbers. It was some work to make sure he didn't sink, but he was still safe.

And maybe a vet appointment is in order to check out the lump. Hang in there Cindy. I hear your frustration and I feel for you. :bighug:
My daughter uses different areas on one side, because we noticed the lump on the left side when we used that side, we started using his right side , and the lump on the left went away, but,is now on the right. It's soft like and about 2 inches in a round shape. To me it feels like what would be a depot area. or like you said scar tissue . As far as 10/17? he had to be steered for over 13 hours, so that is why I'm confused with TR. I need to understand it better :)
 
Sounds like something to have checked out.



You know, there was a time I wasn't getting the usual results with Alex. I finally realized my shooting technique wasn't quite right after shooting for a couple years. I's hard to describe, but I was going in more parallel to her body than on a 45 degree angle. I remember mentioning it to Marje at the time. Once I corrected the angle I saw improvement. I have no idea if this might apply, but thought it worth mentioning.

I've never used them. I hope someone shares the info. I bolded your request in hopes someone sees it. If not, ask the question on Health or as a separate thread here in the group.

When you say 45 degree angle, are you saying at a slight tilt, something like this? / ? We go straight into the tent. He has real thick skin and I used 1/2 inch for over a year. Then I wasnt able to find them with the 1/2 marks. I really liked them better because of how thick his skin is.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I wish I knew more to help you.
Is it a bounce? Any fur shots lately?
Have you seen numbers like this before?
Has he had a reduction recently?
It seems like Taco's numbers can be a frequent challenge, but I don't know enough about him to REALLY know that even.

However what I do know is that you are trying your hardest to help Taco, which makes you a wonderful cat mom.

Hang in there. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Joanne!!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Just found this in my files. It might help.

INJECTIONS.JPG
 
If L is 90 degrees, the 45 would be going through the angle intersecting the
Where were you shooting ? What areas ? :bighug:
I was only doing the shoulders. When I started adding the scruff, his numbers came down. Now I do the middle scruff, right side scruff, left side scruff and left and right shoulders.
 
If L is 90 degrees, the 45 would be going through the angle intersecting the

I was only doing the shoulders. When I started adding the scruff, his numbers came down. Now I do the middle scruff, right side scruff, left side scruff and left and right shoulders.
It's weird because all we did was the scuff for 1 year, and then I read where it wasnt good to do the scruff, so we started doing both shoulders only and no scruff. Going back to all areas you mention. I do have a feeling that bump is from using only that side for a while, because the other side lump went away. I WONT GIVE UP !! I'm going to start giving him his shots instead of my daughter and use the 1/2 inch once I get them, will see if that makes any difference, something has to give ;)I just gave him a good shave in those areas, :) So no fur shots, even tho he's short hair, like I said he has some thick skin and between the hair and thick skin ,I know I gave him a fur shot once, and then that's when I shaved. Actually it doesnt look bad at all and from a few feet you can't tell. because he's all different colors in those areas and I used the short guard on the clippers and it leaves a soft velvety area. See, I'm trying to convince myself he's still beautiful and he is :joyful:
 
It's weird because all we did was the scuff for 1 year, and then I read where it wasnt good to do the scruff, so we started doing both shoulders only and no scruff. Going back to all areas you mention. I do have a feeling that bump is from using only that side for a while, because the other side lump went away. I WONT GIVE UP !! I'm going to start giving him his shots instead of my daughter and use the 1/2 inch once I get them, will see if that makes any difference, something has to give ;)I just gave him a good shave in those areas, :) So no fur shots, even tho he's short hair, like I said he has some thick skin and between the hair and thick skin ,I know I gave him a fur shot once, and then that's when I shaved. Actually it doesnt look bad at all and from a few feet you can't tell. because he's all different colors in those areas and I used the short guard on the clippers and it leaves a soft velvety area. See, I'm trying to convince myself he's still beautiful and he is :joyful:
I just has a rash of FS, three in a short amount of time, with today's AM being the 3rd one. I was so distraught and when this happens to me in 3s I start scouring the internet looking for videos of giving subq shots to cats. Today, I found a great one! The vet said to tent the skin, and then put the needle into the tent at a 45 degree angle and then let go of the skin and shoot! She said that will help with not shooting through the skin which is how I usually do a FS. Tongitht when I gave the PM shot, I felt empowered, LOL.
 
I just has a rash of FS, three in a short amount of time, with today's AM being the 3rd one. I was so distraught and when this happens to me in 3s I start scouring the internet looking for videos of giving subq shots to cats. Today, I found a great one! The vet said to tent the skin, and then put the needle into the tent at a 45 degree angle and then let go of the skin and shoot! She said that will help with not shooting through the skin which is how I usually do a FS. Tongitht when I gave the PM shot, I felt empowered, LOL.
WOW!! you could never tell by your SS. That's interesting about letting the skin go, Taco just tried to take off on me while I had his skin pulled up, gave a scruff shot. Maybe I'll have to try that one. what an art :arghh: Thank you! Did you find a video showing that?
 
I usually tent Tiny's skin but will try releasing it once the needle is in. Tiny is losing her fat so it can be difficult to grab and tent her skin. I usually get her in her belly. It is interesting that depending on the area you inject the insulin is better absorbed .
you would think it would be easier without the fat,looser skin. Which site do you think it better absorbs ? Tiny seems to be the poster kitty for getting better quickly ;)
 
you would think it would be easier without the fat,looser skin. Which site do you think it better absorbs ? Tiny seems to be the poster kitty for getting better quickly ;)

It seems that as she loses her fat the skin is tighter and harder to tent or pinch to tent. I like to get different areas on her belly. I'm right handed, so when she lays on her side I put y left arm over her to kind of guide her to continue to lay down, pinch and tent and inject. I try to rotate both sides
Also, if your daughter can hold Taco and expose his belly to you, it is easier to get to the belly.
 
WOW!! you could never tell by your SS. That's interesting about letting the skin go, Taco just tried to take off on me while I had his skin pulled up, gave a scruff shot. Maybe I'll have to try that one. what an art :arghh: Thank you! Did you find a video showing that?
Yes I have linked the
Video

The actual part about administering the shot is about 51 seconds into the video.
 
Back
Top