Tabitha hasn't eaten in two days

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sharon&Tabitha (TX)

Member Since 2015
Tabitha hasn't eaten for two days and yesterday no pee or boo. I will call and get her in today. I hope it's just an upset tummy. At least she hasn't started insulin yet. I was trying to convert her diet first.

To top it off she bit me late night. I've treated bites & scratches before but this one really got painful and is swelling. Texas Med opens at 8am. I'm just concerned they will give me a hard time being a bite. I did get her rabies shot on the 5th. (Two weeks ago + one day) I didn't get much sleep late night......
 
Oh, Sharon, poor you...

Keeping fingers and paws crossed here that Tabitha just has something that can be dealt with easily.
But it sounds like you need antibiotics for that bite...

Please update us when you have more news.

Will be thinking of you and sending positive vibes to you both,

Eliz
 
A warm soak for your hand with mild cleanser (no alcohol, nor peroxide!) May help clean it before you go to the doc.
And yes, at 2 days of not eating, it is time for a vet due to the risk of hepatic lipidosis.
Good luck with both.
 
I would have her tested for ketones since you have not put her on insulin yet, and pancreatitis. If she does not start eating soon she could go into liver failure. Please do take her to the vet, clearly something is wrong.

Terri
 
The vet that saw Tabitha works the weekend shift so the other vet will be there. I met him and he seems nice. I need to remember to get a copy of the results to the blood work. When I go for antibiotics I'm just going to say it was a stray cat bite. My treatment for bites & scratches is the good old fashion hot water & salt (epsom) soak. Normally does the trick. Maybe with all this stress........ Just the thought of learning & treating Tabitha all by myself ......... But I need to think of her
 
@terri1962 (I see we're the same age) I do have the strips but she hasn't peed. I have all the supplies and I was going to take it with me. Since I'm doing this alone I was thinking of starting Friday evening on the insulin but maybe Tabitha has other ideas.
 
Sharon,

I am going to try to post an article one of our senior members wrote about pancreatitis. I am still not too familiar with this new board, so here goes.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/a-primer-on-pancreatitis.79693/

If you read this article it will tell the specific test the vet needs to run to check for pancreatitis. Best of luck, like I said please get her in, not eating for two days is nothing to mess with. I will check back later as I have to take my old cat Arthur to the vet for an exam. Have them check for ketones too since you don`t know what her BG levels are.

Terri
 
It's been a long day. Got my antibiotics. The urgent care just gave me a flyer on cat bites and rabies.II was afraid they were going to quarantine her. I hope the swelling/pain goes down by the morning.

The important patient: they first used their meter and the bg was in the 290s which the vet was pleased with. Her reading when she was dx on Jan 5th was in the 490s. They took blood and ran a few panels (?). [He will give me copies when I go back Friday.] The glucose then was some where in the 300s but he wasn't concerned (the good old stress; I don't even want to think about my blood pressure reading this morning) Friday he wants to see what the reading is. If the number is good maybe no shots. What are the chances of not needing the shots?

The test results were good. What #s that were off could be explained away by dehydration or nausea. They gave her fluids and shot/pills for nausea.

Tabitha is resting quietly on my chest. I hope she feels like eating again soon.
 
Last night I tried to give her ondansetron 4mg but no go. She did eat a few bites of the freeze dry chicken treats. This morning I spent time with her; she just layed on me. I left the room to see what food to give her and when I came back I saw where she tried to throw up. 3 little foamy spots, one spot was yellow (from the treat?) I think I got a pill in her. It's so tiny. I tried to use a syringe to add water but Tabitha would have any part in it.

I slept ok last night. My hand is still swollen and red but I think it has improved a little. It's raining out side and I just want to stay home again. I'm torn between work duties and doing what I need to do for Tabitha. (Tears) Earlier I feed Marcus and the the other two their food, in my room, but I forgot to close the door. When I got up to get Tabitha's food all three cats were laying on my bed bowls empty and Marcus, who eats until food is gone, had this grin on his face. Ugh. I can do this, I can do this. If I take another sick day I still need to take Tabitha back to the vet tomorrow. Breath
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top