Tabby's numbers don't make much sense. please check and advise

Status
Not open for further replies.
Often if the dose lasts longer than 12 hours, the dose is too high. With her numbers tonight, if it hadn't been your long cycle, she probably would have been in the 160 range or maybe longer at normal pmps (+12). And then again, we would have thought the dose was too high.
 
Hmm so the 1.5 units this morning was to much.. meaning we are heading down to maybe 1 unit now morning and night maybe?
 
Maybe. Definitely if she has a amps of 200, then one unit. Remember the stalling thing if she is lower than 200.

Matt, tomorrow can you start a new thread. Once they go to 2 pages, they are too long and hard to reply to.
 
Prozinc is a 12 hour insulin (it is called an "in and out" insulin vs. a longer lasting, depot insulin like Lantus) but when it does go longer, then there could be a need for a possible reduction. The only way you know that is if you know what the mid-cycle (nadir) number is. The other reason could be how the cat reacts to the insulin in the day versus the night time. Some cats will go higher in one 12 hour cycle compared to say a day time cycle. The reason why some cats run high at night is because the cat doesn't eat that much or there is less stress. With my cat, the insulin doesn't last the full 12 hours at night i.e. his AMPS is usually higher than his PMPS numbers. During the day, he does go the full 12 hours and a little more. I don't know why he does that.. So I have to shoot an almost 11/13 schedule. Prozinc you can choose to have more flexible schedule.

So. I am rambling, but to summarize, there could be a couple of reasons why Prozinc may go a little longer than 12 hours; needs a reduction in dose and sometimes it is just how the cat assimilates the insulin. Others may have other theories to add to. Good question, Matt.

Edited Update: I thought of a third reason why Prozinc may last more than 12 hours and that is when the pancreas does wake up or sputter for a time during a cycle. That could add to the 12 hour.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top