T1 owner now has T1 cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Libby

Member Since 2011
Hi, a couple of Newbies here!
Just found out that Rocky has diabetes. He is 16 1/2. He had a number of over 600 when diagnosed. Has lost a few pounds, too. He was rather large, so the weight wasn't noticed at first as much as the drinking and urination. I kind of knew what it was...! So, have been reading a variety of great info on this website and decided we should join. I am a Type 1 diabetic myself and am rather ticked off at this diagnosis for our beautiful boy, Rocky. It is a horrible disease, needless to say.
Is there anyone else out there on the boards who is a T1 with a T1 cat?! Have you just used your own Lantus or other long-acting insulin for your cat? I have to say, the info on this website is amazing. You have all done a super job. Thanks!
"Libby and Rocky"
 
Hi Libby, welcome :)

Question...how do you know your cat is T1? Typically we approach felines as Type 2 as the vast majority respond to both insulin and diet change...

To answer your question, lantus is a great insulin for cats, as is levemir, and for some, PZI made by Prozinc.

Have you read our FAQ yet?

Jen
 
Hi Libby and welcome from another Type I to the board you never wanted to join!

I use Lantus for all of my guys (now have 7 diabetic cats with 5 on Lantus and two in remission). Each of them has an AccuChek Aviva (use the memory download to my computer for all of us).

Yes, it is a tough disease to have, but with care it is manageable for both us and the cats. 35 years since my diagosis. Very minimal complications so far, and I'm over 65.

Do you have a meter for your cat? Check it out. We test ears. I say "ears" and some of my older ones get up on the counter for testing. My newer ones haven't quite gotten the routine yet :smile:

The critical issues are testing, low carb wet food and insulin. Not to different from what you do for yourself. Exercise is also good!

Any questions, ask away. This place is amazing.

Claudia
 
Hi, Jen. I have read many pages on the site, thanks for asking. All great info.
I understand the T1 vs T2. As to the "T1" designation, the vet said that Rocky was not producing any insulin. We will be meeting him tomorrow to go over things in much more detail. Thanks for your concern.
 
Thanks for the message, Claudia. I had read some interesting things about the Lantus and Levemir use. Would certainly help to keep the costs down, too, if we used the same insulin and syringes!
I can't imagine having 7 diabetic cats! I have enough to do to keep myself straight :lol:
I have read how the kitties are tested and how the injections are given and where. A few videos seemed to show it well.
We just found out all this before the weekend. We are meeting with Rocky's doc tomorrow to hopefully get situated on all this and I want to find out exactly what his many tests showed. He is having some other issues that may be related.
Thanks for your encouragement!
 
Hi Libby,

Are you aware that the cat pancrease can heal and begin to create insulin again? Unless we are looking at a kitten or young adult, we often see remission based on this feline ability. I've had cats with initial BGs of over 500 go off insulin within a few weeks.

Lantus insulin has a very high rate of creating feline remission. In Canada, either Levemir or Lantus is the insulin of choice to treat feline diabetes along with a low carb wet food.

Think you might want to change your heading to get some more input from people on this board. They really are great and well experience.

How is Rocky doing?

Claudia
 
Hi Libby,

I'm one of those success stories with Lantus that Claudia was talking about.

I adopted my current sugarcat Max from this very board. Max was originally a Katrina rescue, just like my first sugarcat Muse (hence the screen name) she unfortunately passed away. So when Max came up for adoption because his adopted mom became ill and had to be placed into a nursing home and the family didn't want to be bothered with treating his diabetes, he was scheduled to be euthanized. Claudia got ahold of Venita, who in turn got a hold of me. To make a very long story as short as possible. When I said yes to taking him, Claudia sprung him from the vet's office with less than 24 hours to live. She started him on lantus and changed his diet to a low carb/high protien diet while we awaited transport out to me.

Claudia had him in her care for about 1 week, she was testing him at home and giving him is insulin. Then since he was to be flown from Boston to me here in Nebraska he didn't recieve any insulin the night before his flight, she packed him up, put him on a plane to me and off he went. After a long flight out to me and a 3 hour drive home I expected him to be extremely high. Since he had been 485 when dxed. To my surprise he was a 160 that next morning, I gave him a skinny 1u, he dropped nicely to 74 at his nadir but only rose to 89 by the time his next shot was due...So no shot that night. The next morning again only 112 still well in the range of non-diabetic but higher than it should be. Again no insulin.

You can look at his spreadsheet in my signature to see how all the numbers went but as of today, My guy is still OTJ (off the juice) He has gained weight, his coat is soft and silky and he loves chasing his toys and housemates through the house. He is just one big beautiful armful of love and purrs. And it is all thanks to what these wonderful folks here taught me about feline diabetes, and cat health in general.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang.
 
Hi,
Yes, we are aware that cats can go off insulin. We have read a lot of the pages on this site and others. I am a big "research" nerd, too, and being a T1 myself helps, of course. We hope Rocky will be one of those kitties that can get off insulin. His blood sugar at diagnosis was over 600. He is 16 1/2 and seems healthy in most other ways. He certainly keeps our rescue dog on her toes. (He has always ruled the household pets!)
We've been feeding Rocky low carb wet food all weekend, adding some pieces of kibble during his overnight feeding. We will be meeting w/our vet this afternoon. Once we have that appt., we'll know much more. Maybe I jumped the gun in posting before our diabetes consult w/the vet.
Anyway, will let you know what happens. Thanks again so much!!!
 
Please keep us posted on how the vet visit goes and if there is anything we can help you with to make Rocky's treatment as easy as possible.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang.
 
Hi Libby,

If the vet prescribes either Lantus or Levimir, be sure that they write the script for cartridges. Upfront the cost is a little higher, but long term cheaper.

Good idea to have a script even if you use your left over insulin.

Good luck at the vets.

Claudia
 
Hi Libby,

You definitely did not jump the gun by posting before the appointment. It's great that you've changed the food to wet during the day. What type of dry are you leaving at night?

You could leave out canned during the night. When I adopted Kiki she was very hungry all the time so I added water to a can of food and during the night she could eat it without it drying up.

Looking forward to learning more about your sweet Rocky and you.
 
Re: T1 owner newbie with Rocky

Hi,
Just as I was about to post an update, another problem. Poor Rocky. I wish I could help him more.
We had our consult on Monday afternoon. Decided to start Rocky on ProZinc and did so. He has had very soft poop, some vomiting. It wasn't so bad until this noon.
Rocky made 2 loud funky meows. His signal to vomit again, so moved him to the kitchen floor where he did so 3 times. Then I tested his blood off his foot and it was 30. Sheesh! I know what I feel like at 30 – almost dead! So, I got the syrup out and rubbed a bunch in his mouth. Waited a few minutes to test again to see if it was working and I was trying to get some blood out of his foot and the pest control guy rings the doorbell. (He is really a nice guy and I like him and his visits, but not today!)
Anyway, I ended up over at the vet clinic around 12:30. The staff reached him before I got there and he cut his lunch and came back. Their test showed him still low, of course, and after talking and putting it all together, we are cutting him down some to 1 unit twice a day. His numbers were so very high in the beginning, I guess the vet figured Rocky needed more insulin. I will also add back some kibble to his meals and test him in another couple days. He has slowed way down on drinking and urinating already and gained 3 lbs. of missing water weight back almost immediately. Yay! But, poor guy still doesn’t act right and I can’t get him to eat. Anyway, so much harder with a cat than a human...

As I was rereading this in order to post it, my dog bounced out of the room barking. I went to see why and Rocky had diarhhea on (mostly, thank goodness) the front door mat. 2 smaller areas next to mat. I cleaned it up, came back to send this post and the dog ran out again...this time Rocky has moved to his bed, but when I went to it I realized he had urinated on his pillow and his quilt (Yes, I quilt. And make darn sure my animals have quilts, too! : ) ) He still isn’t looking great, although I enticed him to eat a few pieces of kibble. The vet was worried that maybe there really was more to Rocky's problem than just diabetes. We weren't ready for the expense of additional testing at that point. Mayybe there is something else wrong...
Anyway, as of this very second, that is the Rocky update.
Thank you again, everyone!
 
Wow! How wonderful you were able to hometest and caught that low number.

Have you seen the PZI forum: viewforum.php?f=24 and the stickie with info on PZI: viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799 We have a number of people using PZI in very small doses and doing very well. You might check out some of their spreadsheets in their posts.

One unit twice a day is a good starting dose and should be safe until you see how the insulin works for Rocky. It is also good to get a number 6 hours or so after the shot, as that is usually about the lowest point in the cycle.

Here are some ideas to get him to eat: Getting your cat to eat It is vital that he eat while on insulin so whatever it takes. Some of us handfeed for a while to get them back in the "mood" - having them eat off our fingers. If he really likes dry, you can crumble up pieces and sprinkle over the top of the wet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top