Syko PMPS 175, +1 149, +2 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

meowsyko

Active Member
Previous post

Good morning! So we had a fun night. Think I got about 2 hours of sleep with Syko's BG jumping around just enough to worry me :coffee:. That's what I get for changing foods for dinner. Guess my trip to buy new strips today isn't optional anymore. I probably have about 10 left, and now I see that 10 isn't enough! Not sure if I will get Freestyle Lite strips for the AT2 or just get whatever human meter they have free with strip purchase. Any concerns with the Freestyle Lite strips in the AT2?

Syko is due for her shot in about half an hour, but I have an appointment right about that time. So far she's still in low-blues and I suspect it won't change much in an hour. I might wait until I come back from my appointment to check her again and see about shooting an hour or so late, my Dr's office can be very slow and after last night I am very afraid to give that shot this morning and leave her for about an hour.

We're doing SLGS, so after last night I am reducing her dose to .5units.. but she might just not get it this morning.
  • "Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin"
I use the Alphatrak 2, how do I convert that number for a pet meter?
I'll wait a bit to feed her...

I am moving time zones next week so I was planning on moving her shot somehow to keep it at the same time anyway... pushing it back an hour would make it the same time after we move..

I'm going to go shower, will check back in 10. Any advice is greatly appreciated!
 
I use the Alphatrak 2, how do I convert that number for a pet meter?
.
There are no reliable conversions for alphatrak to human meter, the only number we convert is 68 on alphatak is equivalent to 50 on the human meter, which I know doesn't help you sorry.


See what she is doing at amps she might be on her way up.

With SLGS below 150 you would skip.

Are you heading out to work this morning? or will you be around this morning?
 
AMBG 6.3. I just have an appointment, will be back in about an hour. I guess I'll check her then and we'll go from there! I'm very late, I'll wait to feed her I guess until I get back.

Leaving for appt, I'll post when i'm back!
 
if you fed and skip altogether, it will allow you to reset your time to prefered shot time for when you move time zones tonight (provided she is high enough)
 
I'd go with a human glucometer. Some of us have concerns about mixing strips and glucometers. There are people who do that, but it doesn't make any sense to me. The strips and glucometers are designed as a set and I wouldn't mix them up. You're also talking about a mix between a meter made for animals and strips made for people blood.

The cheapest way to go that seems to be accurate enough is to order Arkray glucometers and strips from www.americandiabeteswholesale.com. I don't know how quickly you can get them but that site has good sales and prices - many people use them. Others buy off of Ebay - the strips are the most expensive part of this little FD adventure. If you buy from Ebay, make sure you double check on expiration dates for the strips and make sure they haven't been opened. I bought insulin off of craigslist twice and got a huge bargain both times, but you have to be confident about how it was stored and the story needs to be reasonable about why they are selling.

You could've shot this morning - it was essentially a flat number, not far off from all of last night's. Lantus is great at holding #s flat and counter-intuitively, shooting a lower number is more likely to have a flat cycle. Here's a post I wrote for someone else about "shooting low," meaning shooting the regular dose on time into normal numbers. It's always ok to skip or make another choice if you need to, but it helps to read how others do things. Take the time to look at the spreadsheets and links because seeing it in action really helps.

We're doing SLGS, so after last night I am reducing her dose to .5units.. but she might just not get it this morning.
  • "Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin"
I use the Alphatrak 2, how do I convert that number for a pet meter?

We use the same numbers regardless of glucometer, except for the reduction point for those following Tight Reg. In that case, human meter reductions are earned at 50, pet meters at 68. Other than that you can use the same #s.

You can either shoot after your appointment - knowing that the next shot is due 12 hours later. Or you can skip this morning and shoot earlier this evening. If you skip you can shoot at any point early, in other words, it's fine to have a 20 hour cycle or a 22 hour cycle - whatever time works best for you tonight.
 
One more thought - even though it says to skip if the preshot is under 150, that is suggested for people at first. You've already shot in the 130's. The goal is to move your no-shoot line down as quickly as you safely can until you're shooting everything over 90, provided you can monitor, have strips & high carb supplies. That is the SLGS no-shoot number. Those following Tight Reg guidelines work up to shooting everything over 50 (human meter).

Anytime you shoot a number lower than you've shot before, it's good practice to get a +1 and a +2 so you have no surprises.

Shooting lower numbers is the path to tight regulation and flattened out blood sugar - but for safety's sake, you want to be able to monitor those cycles at first until you've seen that your kitty will be safe.

In your spreadsheet, the # you actually shoot is the preshot number. So the 113 you got at +12 can be recorded in the cell it's in right now. I did it like this:

12=131
13=### (if you decide to shoot at +13 when you get home from your dr. appt.)

If you decide to skip, just put "skip" in the dose column for this morning. That tells us it's an intentional choice to skip the shot.
 
Thanks for all the info! I just got back not too long ago, so will wait till tonight for her shot. I might try to start shooting a bit lower, I'm just a bit of a chicken right now.

I stopped by the pharmacy and I just got the Freestyle List strips with a free Freestyle Lite meter, so I'll start switching to that and use the new meter. It's so similar to the Alphatrak, strips are identical, even the manual is the exact same with different pictures. Makes me mad that they charge so much more for the pet version! The Freestyle strips are still half the cost of the AT2's so it'll work for now. I'm in Canada, and we have a cheap Bravo meter at diabetesexpress.ca with similarly priced strips as that Arkray that I actually ordered this week but got a call that it isn't in stock until the end of September, so the Freestyle will make it at least a bit more manageable until then. I might be able to do TR once I get a cheaper meter but for now SLGS seems more manageable for us. I had to call my Fiance in to pay for part of the strips cause my card was declined! :banghead:


Not sure if I understood what you wanted me to do with my spread sheet, but does it look okay now?

I will definitely read that post about shooting low!
 
Not sure if I understood what you wanted me to do with my spread sheet, but does it look okay now?

Perfect!!

If you want to change your shot times to earlier, tonight's the best time to do it since you skipped this morning....You can shoot whenever you want to for PMPS and get yourself onto the shot schedule you want to be on
 
I was just looking at the ss again - just fyi, it's a good idea to only put one glucometer reading in the spreadsheet. If you want to finish up your AT strips, then keep putting those test results in the ss cell and put the freestyle results in the comments section. Then when you switch to the Freestyle, insert a horizontal line and put something like "Freestyle glucometer used below".

Otherwise you've got apples (pet meter) and oranges (human meter) in the same spreadsheet and it makes it difficult to read.
 
Ah, so you're 'anonymous chameleon!' :p Okay I'll take it off and write it somewhere else until I switch. Just trying to get used to the difference between meters before I switch completely. The Freestyle reads so much lower!

I think I found her new food. Instinct Limited Ingredient Diet Lamb made her growl at me if touched her while she's eating, which I've never seen in the 6 years I've had her. No stomach issues so far with the Instinct diet.. I think she's even better than she was ion the prescription food. I'll be grabbing a case tomorrow.

I made this graph comparison for the vet and I thought it was cool, I'm a really visual person. She's doing so much better than just 2 weeks ago. Hopefully it stays this way :D!
 
heehee I've been told I'm a llama on Kathy/TiTi's ss! I was just closing open tabs and saw you had a new entry (pmps), but it wasn't showing because there was text in the box.

Instinct Limited Ingredient Diet Lamb made her growl at me if touched her while she's eating
What a good little communicator she is! That must be a great food!

She is making good progress - when you scroll down the ss you can see the colors change. That's pretty exciting!
 
Ah, so you're 'anonymous chameleon!'

I was on your spreadsheet not long ago too....I have no idea how Google comes up with those names, but I've seen some crazy ones!!

It's great that she's liking the new food!! Hopefully once you buy a case, she'll still like it!!
My human bought me a whole case of my favorite food.jpg
 
heehee I've been told I'm a llama on Kathy/TiTi's ss! I was just closing open tabs and saw you had a new entry (pmps), but it wasn't showing because there was text in the box.
I keep forgetting to change the US version when I do that :oops:. If I have text in the box on the 'world' side I have to remember to fix the US one so it doesn't get the error thing.

It's great that she's liking the new food!! Hopefully once you buy a case, she'll still like it!!
Haha yeah, I guess we'll find out! Might get a case of the Turkey too in case she starts getting picky. She was eating the Hill's d/d venison for about 8 months with no complaints though so I think I've got good chances!
 
+2 is 7.3/131
I'll give her a little food. I'll be up late packing so will be getting a few more tests in. She seems to drop most between +2 and +4, so hopefully that's what she's doing. Changing foods is stressful!
 
Came out as 4.8 on the Freestyle (same blood drop)... I really don't want to do another reduction, a .25 dose will drive me crazy :nailbiting:
So maybe I'll ignore the Freestyle for now... we'll see what the next couple hours brings
 
There could still be a little depot action from the .75, even though you skipped this morning's shot. I don't think Syko is going anywhere in a hurry, though. A nice, smooth slide is just what the doctor ordered! :)

C'mon, Syko. Keep it smooth and gentle. No theatrics.
 
+3 is 6.3/113. As long as she doesn't drop much more, I think she's doing pretty well tonight ? Dropped exactly 1mmol/L per hour so far.
 
+4 7.2/130 :cat: might get one more before bed. I'm so glad I went ahead and tried out lower carb food, it makes such a difference! (Ugh this didn't post!)
+5 7.1. Poor girl fell from my desk, I must've had something on the part she uses to get up to her window seat. We have stairs going to the desk, then the desk goes to the window sill. She seems fine though, maybe a little but of a limp when walking but she usually limps a bit. I think that she feels better with her BG more regulated, and she forgets that she is still an old lady!
 
Last edited:
AMPS is 8.3 this morning. Now that I know how she did with .75 units at Monday's PMPS of 8.3, we should have a good day with the .5 dose! It's Fiance's birthday today, so that would be a nice present for her to give him :joyful:
She seems fine after her fall, back up at her window seat this morning! :D
 
Don't forget to get a +1 or a +2, if either of those numbers are about the same or lower, that may well indicate an active cycle and you may need to get some more tests in.:)

You may want to start a new thread today with Sykos amps, and a link to this thread (we usually start a new thread every day to prevent the posts getting excessively long)

Birthday wishes for your Fiance.
 
Don't forget to get a +1 or a +2, if either of those numbers are about the same or lower, that may well indicate an active cycle and you may need to get some more tests in.:)

You may want to start a new thread today with Sykos amps, and a link to this thread (we usually start a new thread every day to prevent the posts getting excessively long)

Birthday wishes for your Fiance.
I'll get a couple more in. And alright I'll start a new thread. Thank you! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top