Syko AMPS 146, +2 88, +4 74, +5 86, +7 104, PMPS 243, +2 117, +3 63, +3.5 65, +4 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

meowsyko

Active Member
Previous Post

So Syko's climbed back up to 146 after last night, let's see how she does with her reduction! I need to get reading glasses or a magnifying glass... that .25 dose was tricky!
Once you're on .25u, if she happens to earn herself another reduction... what do we do? I'm curious :cat:

I'm might go grab another nap, I'll get up for a +2 :joyful:.
 
Once you're on .25u, if she happens to earn herself another reduction... what do we do?

You go down to .1!! The longer we can give the pancreas some support, the better...We want a strong remission, not a fast one

What a difference the low carb food has made! That 149 is probably a little bounce from the low numbers last night....hopefully he'll come back down soon
 
You go down to .1!! The longer we can give the pancreas some support, the better...We want a strong remission, not a fast one

What a difference the low carb food has made! That 149 is probably a little bounce from the low numbers last night....hopefully he'll come back down soon
Okay I'll buy a magnifying glass then haha, that must be sooooo tiny! Down to 4.9/88 at +2... She just might earn that reduction already. She's finishing her breakfast now, didnt eat much of it earlier.
 
She just might earn that reduction already.
We generally don't recommend taking back to back reductions. Even at a small dose, there is a depot in play, so what you're seeing today is the insulin you gave plus some from the depot. Of course, if Syko gets ridiculously low (like 30s), we might have to bend the rules! Let's try to avoid that, okay? The longer you can keep her in good numbers at each dose, the better the chance she'll hold a remission.
 
Just had a chat with the vet, she thinks Syko could be in remission and recommended doing a trial of no insulin. I will probably keep her at the .25 for now though, she seems to be doing well with it today. Only worried about her going too low during our move (Next Tues - Thurs), but I'll probably just be more conservative about her dose when we're on the road.
 
Most vets aren't believers on keeping kitties on small doses. We've found there that the longer you can safely keep kitty on insulin to support the pancreas healing, the stronger the remission. Which is what we want.
 
Most vets aren't believers on keeping kitties on small doses. We've found there that the longer you can safely keep kitty on insulin to support the pancreas healing, the stronger the remission. Which is what we want.
That makes a lot of sense, and we wouldn't be anywhere close to where we are now, especially this soon, with her without the support and advice of everyone here, so we'll keep her on it as long as Syko lets us :cat:. The low numbers freaked Vet out a bit I think, but I'm a lot more confident in my ability to handle those now!

+5.5 is 86 :D Looks like I can probably get my shopping done today!
 
I just heard back from Nature's Variety and they gave me the 'as fed' info on their Limited Ingredient Cans:
a57c66f3af.png

I used this to get the 'dry matter basis' for the Lamb and came out with 10.32%, so her food might be MC? The moisture max for the Lamb is 75%.
The regular Instinct cans all have 4% or less carbs on dry matter according to this list from catinfo.org...

Not sure if I did it right but is 10% okay or should I just go get her the non-limited ingredient ones and hope her tummy approves? I need to pick up more food today anyway
 
Is this the same as the Nature's Variety on Dr.Lisa's food chart? If it's the Instinct line, it's low carb. Dr. Lisa's calculations on the carbs are the same but protein and fat are higher. I'm a little suspicious of the numbers NV provided. The numbers add up to be close to 100%.

 
It's the Instinct line, but Dr. Lisa's chart doesn't have the Limited Ingredient Diet ones listed, so I that's what NV gave me for them. It's still way lower carb than her old prescription food for sure, just not sure if it's as low as the other Instinct cans.
 
PMPS 243. Got 2 cases of Instinct Limited Ingredient Lamb, hopefully she doesn't change her mind on food now :joyful: It must be low enough in carbs anyway to cause such a change in her BG.
 
Noticed while she was eating that the underside of her tongue is very white. Got a video of it, can't get her to show me. Just when I was getting her health under control! :arghh: She does have some trouble eating, we thought she was just 'bad' at eating or a bit picky, she seems to kind of just push her food with her tongue and not always pick food up.

Going to post a link to a video of it, I might just be being paranoid. There is a definite mass of some sort there. I'll try to ignore it for now, can't do much until after we move anyway

video: https://goo.gl/photos/g8eJaW2Nnw62o1TF9
 
Last edited:
The article I read said the white spot would be under the tongue, not necessarily on the tongue. I wouldn't jump to any conclusions.

I think I told you Harvey has the same issues when eating.
 
The article I read said the white spot would be under the tongue, not necessarily on the tongue. I wouldn't jump to any conclusions.

I think I told you Harvey has the same issues when eating.
I'll try not to worry and just make sure the vet looks at it after we move. I'll still probably stare at her tongue like a weirdo when she's licking though. I get some funny looks from her.

PM +2 is 117, kind of a big drop? She's eating again now. I'll re-check in an hour. Might also give her a bath tonight, she spends most of the day on her window seat, and there isn't much room so when she's done eating she turns around and sits in her food! :rolleyes: She isn't the most flexible so she can't clean everywhere on her own really, so her backside is getting a little crunchy :p
 
if she's a big eater, I'd go ahead and give her another teaspoon of LC food....if you're concerned that she might be getting full, I'd go with MC and then test again in 30
 
Mixed a crumbled freeze-dried turkey treat into the LC, she's eating it fine :smuggrin:

Good!! We have an unwritten rule around here that if we offer to help in these kinds of situations, we don't leave unless we find someone else who has enough experience to continue guiding you and keeping you safe

I'm pleased Tricia was able and willing to watch out for you for awhile

Surf safely please Syko!!
 
Good!! We have an unwritten rule around here that if we offer to help in these kinds of situations, we don't leave unless we find someone else who has enough experience to continue guiding you and keeping you safe

I'm pleased Tricia was able and willing to watch out for you for awhile

Surf safely please Syko!!
That's so nice of you guys! :) Have a good night! :bighug:
 
I think I would still get one more test, just to be sure - especially if she's not eating. She's gone up then dropped before. Before you do go to bed, I would try to get her to eat a little more.

I'll be up another hour at least. Harvey didn't get all his eyedrops today because I was gone, so I need to get them in. I'm not his favorite person right now. :rolleyes:
 
I think I would still get one more test, just to be sure - especially if she's not eating. She's gone up then dropped before. Before you do go to bed, I would try to get her to eat a little more.

I'll be up another hour at least. Harvey didn't get all his eyedrops today because I was gone, so I need to get them in. I'm not his favorite person right now. :rolleyes:
Aw. Syko isn't very impressed with me either, those poor little ears look a little sore. She doesn't complain about all the treats she gets though! I'll check her again in half an hour.
What are the eye drops for?
 
He gets one in each eye for glaucoma, twice a day, and an antibiotic drop in the right eye four times a day because of a tear in his inner eyelid and six times a day in the left because of an ulcer. He also gets one for his retina in the left eye three times a day, and a thick one four times a day in each eye to combat dry eye. Last, but not least, he gets some ointment in the left eye twice a day! No wonder he wants to run when he sees me coming!

Did you get another test yet?
 
He gets one in each eye for glaucoma, twice a day, and an antibiotic drop in the right eye four times a day because of a tear in his inner eyelid and six times a day in the left because of an ulcer. He also gets one for his retina in the left eye three times a day, and a thick one four times a day in each eye to combat dry eye. Last, but not least, he gets some ointment in the left eye twice a day! No wonder he wants to run when he sees me coming!

Did you get another test yet?
Just got one, 74.

Wow, That's a lot of eye drops! Poor little guy. I would lose track of all of that
 
I would lose track of all of that
Spreadsheets are wonderful things. I have one for his oral meds and one for the eyedrops. When I was treating four cats at once they kept me from dosing the wrong cat (most of the time ;)).

I think you can go to bed when you're ready. Has she eaten anything more?
 
Just got one, 74.

Wow, That's a lot of eye drops! Poor little guy. I would lose track of all of that
I had to add it up. 23 drops. On top of diabetes and everything else he has going on. He's a very lucky kitty to have you to take care of him! Syko is the calmest cat but I don't think she would like that much either.

Spreadsheets are wonderful things. I have one for his oral meds and one for the eyedrops. When I was treating four cats at once they kept me from dosing the wrong cat (most of the time ;)).

I think you can go to bed when you're ready. Has she eaten anything more?
She hasn't eaten for 2+ hours, she's been sleeping on my clean laundry :rolleyes:. I'll probably go to bed soon, once the laundry is put away. I'll try to feed her a little before bed
 
So she's been below 90 most of the day, for SLGS that's a reduction... But since it's so soon, and the higher doses are still in her depot, I should hold the .25 for now, right? Just want to make sure I know what I'm doing in the morning :)
 
Yes, you should hold the dose. She came up relatively easily and surfed for you. The only reason I would consider reducing would be if you can't monitor tomorrow.
I'll be home most of the day tomorrow. We were going to go to the mountains but I think that's switched to Saturday now, so I'll be able to watch her :)
I'm off to bed, hope you have a good night! Thank you for your help :bighug: Hope you and Harvey have a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top