Sybil new thread - maintaining

I was just noticing that the Churu did make her go up quite a bit in a short period of time.

I hope things are getting back to normal at your house after Milton. I noticed you had roofers at the house. I thought they had finished up before the storm? I hope you didn’t have any damage.
 
I was just noticing that the Churu did make her go up quite a bit in a short period of time.

I hope things are getting back to normal at your house after Milton. I noticed you had roofers at the house. I thought they had finished up before the storm? I hope you didn’t have any damage.
Thank you, ok I see what you are saying now. I’m sleep deprived. Yes I had damage. The roof was not finished prior to the storm so… ugh… but we are safe and that’s what matters! I appreciate your help :)
 
Oh that’s awful. I am so sorry. I hope you can get everything fixed and cleaned up. My family in West Palm was okay. I was worried because there were tornadoes.
 
Oh that’s awful. I am so sorry. I hope you can get everything fixed and cleaned up. My family in West Palm was okay. I was worried because there were tornadoes.
Yes it was a scary storm. Glad your family is ok. Things will have to start getting better soon. Have a great day.
 
Sybil is doing good. Last night I reduced to 0.75 unit because she had an under 90 number earlier in the day. Looks good so far. Thanks so much @Suzanne & Darcy for all of your help and support. Soon I should be able to get a day and get more readings. Have a great night. Hope you’re feeling better, I read you were ill.
 
And….we have 132 amps this morning. Out of my league. The PZI Dosing instructions say under 150 when this happens to skip a dose so I will do that until I hear back for tonight. Any suggestions @Suzanne & Darcy ? Thank you!
 
Last edited:
:)Hi. Since you were able to monitor, I would have given a reduced dose of maybe .5 units and tested. These kinds of situations are great opportunities for gathering data on how the cat does with lower preshots. You can then find out if .5 was a little too much or if it wasn’t enough - all good information. The goal is to be able to shoot lower preshots over time as you gather data. When following SLGS, don’t shoot if the cat is under 90. With the Modified ProZinc method it would be lower, of course. We are not there yet.
I am really pleased with how she’s doing. We want to give her a chance to spend more time in the “healing greens” but we will get there :)
 
:)Hi. Since you were able to monitor, I would have given a reduced dose of maybe .5 units and tested. These kinds of situations are great opportunities for gathering data on how the cat does with lower preshots. You can then find out if .5 was a little too much or if it wasn’t enough - all good information. The goal is to be able to shoot lower preshots over time as you gather data. When following SLGS, don’t shoot if the cat is under 90. With the Modified ProZinc method it would be lower, of course. We are not there yet.
I am really pleased with how she’s doing. We want to give her a chance to spend more time in the “healing greens” but we will get there :)
Excellent detailed specific information which I need or I freak out. You’ve given such good guidance. Thank you! I’m a nervous Nellie.
 
Okay. So today’s cycle we can see that a .25 dose with an AMPS of 151 wasn’t enough insulin, but I am glad you shot something. That’s good. Next time, I would try .5 and see how it goes. It’s possible that shooting the full dose would be perfectly fine at this point and, I would actually recommend that if you were going to be home to manage the cycle.

If you had tried a .25 dose yesterday with the 132 AMPS, we would have had a better idea that today she needed a little more insulin.
 
I’m just checking in to see how Sybil is doing.
She’s doing great, thank you in this relatively short amount of time. Playing, walking better, jumping up again, her coat is nice and shiny and she’s such a love bug. Her numbers are trending down for sure. I’m practicing shooting lower when I can. We are seeing definite progress and I’m so happy about that. I feel very positive. We are doing our best. Thank you for checking in. Have a great day.
 
:cat:I think that last night it looks like she could have had the .5 dose, to hopefully help prevent that yellow AMPS this morning. Of course, we didn’t know that until this morning!
 
Last edited:
One thing that is troubling me about Sybil’s spreadsheet is how fast she drops in the very beginning of the cycle. Which one of the DM foods is she eating because the carbs differ. Which FF Naturals does she eat? The ones I have looked at are all very low carb. 2-2.5 percent
 
Last edited:
One thing that is troubling me about Sybil’s spreadsheet is how fast she drops in the very beginning of the cycle. Which one of the DM foods is she eating because the carbs differ. Which FF Naturals does she eat? The ones I have looked at are all very low carb. 2-2.5 percent
I feel good since overall she’s trending down and that’s a good thing. It seems her peak has been two hours after her shot since the start which was the very end of August so there’s a lot of progress in a month and a half. She eats varied Fancy Feast Naturals and according to a spreadsheet I found on this thread, they are virtually zero carb, regardless yes very low. I’m happy with her progress and I know she’s feeling better with all the good other signs I mentioned earlier. Thanks so much for checking in as her numbers and doses decrease. You’ve been a great help. Have a good day.
 
Last edited:
Are you happy with Sybil’s numbers? It looks like they may be creeping up somewhat. Any idea where these odd mod-cycle yellow numbers are coming from? Is she eating carbs (the dry?) or getting into some contraband cat food that is higher in carbs?
 
Okay. Three hours is a long time. I would not recommend shooting at her normal time tomorrow morning because if you shoot too close together it could cause her to go too low. What time did you shoot tonight and what time do you have to shoot tomorrow?
 
We don’t recommend shooting sooner than 11.5 hours between shots —- so advancing 30 minutes per day (or splitting into 15 minutes per cycle.)

Since she is running higher these days and staying mostly in blue and yellow, you might be able to push that a little bit, but I am personally would not give insulin to my cat only 9 hours after the last shot. (3 hours early.) All should go well tonight.
 
We don’t recommend shooting sooner than 11.5 hours between shots —- so advancing 30 minutes per day (or splitting into 15 minutes per cycle.)

Since she is running higher these days and staying mostly in blue and yellow, you might be able to push that a little bit, but I am personally would not give insulin to my cat only 9 hours after the last shot. (3 hours early.) All should go well tonight.
I gave her shot one hour and 24 minutes late. Thank you for responding. I feel like 3 hours is way too much also. I got home as fast as I could and threw everything down. I need a break! Thanks as always for your help.
 
I gave her shot one hour and 24 minutes late. Thank you for responding. I feel like 3 hours is way too much also. I got home as fast as I could and threw everything down. I need a break! Thanks as always for your help.
Oh good. It was only about 1.5 hours late. Can you just ease her back to her regular shot time tomorrow and Sunday. Of course we have the time change tomorrow night to complicate things.
 
Well I have great support and wonderful instruction from you who has taught me so much and built my confidence quite a bit during this journey.
So I did 0.5F this morning. What do you think about me raising her dose to 0.75 units tonight? I can monitor her a bit as her nadir is usually at +3. I would like to get those greens back. Thanks for your input.
 
Last edited:
Maybe she will have a higher green at +3? I think possibly you could increase to .75 and I do not think she would go too low as long as she has that access to food while you’re at work. Sorry I didn’t see this in time before your shot!
 
Maybe she will have a higher green at +3? I think possibly you could increase to .75 and I do not think she would go too low as long as she has that access to food while you’re at work. Sorry I didn’t see this in time before your shot!
It’s ok, thanks for the response. I’ll try it sometime this upcoming week. This weekend was all out of whack anyway. I appreciate it.
 
Ok so she’s been on 0.75 units a few days. I’m not loving these numbers. We were doing so well. No food or anything like that has changed. The only thing I can think of is I cannot stand these syringes. The one unit ones I had were so much easier and less air bubbles. I wrote to the manufacturer and they think maybe the batch is not good so I’m getting a new box. Or maybe she’s just high again for whatever reason.
So what do you think about either raising her to one unit and see how it goes? I can monitor a bit tonight and tomorrow morning for sure. Or using the one unit syringes and eyeballing the 0.75? I mean I have to estimate the 0.75 on the 1/2 unit marked ones anyway and I feel comfortable with that.
Thanks @Suzanne & Darcy I hope you are well. I’m feeling a little defeated.
 
What kind of syringes are you using that are giving you trouble? Hopefully the new box will be better! If you feel confident using the old syringes until the new ones arrive then I would try that. I would just not increase to 1 unit at the same time as going back to the old syringes. I would either increase to 1 unit or try to eyeball .75 on the current syringes (that you don’t like.) Or I would see if using the syringes having only full unit marks makes any difference.
 
Ok yes that all makes sense. The neighborhood has been noisy and the cats both looked spooked yesterday. Poor babies.
The syringes were giving too many air bubbles, bending needles in some, and the plunger so hard to move. I’ll try the 0.75 units in the old syringes and see how that goes. You are right about not changing the dose now. I will keep you posted. As always, thank you.
 
Hi @Suzanne & Darcy we are back with a question :)
So the new syringes are great whew. Sybil had a couple of greens and one at 89 this morning. Would it be ok to keep her at the 0.5 unit tonight since it is only one number under it is it mandatory to lower 0.25 unit tonight? I can monitor it or a few hours tonight. I’m thinking the 0.25 won’t be enough. Thoughts? Thank you!!!
 
So I guess you just had a bad box of syringes. Glad the replacements are better!

I completely agree that you should not reduce her dose down to .25 units. Keep the .5 dose for now and if you decide you want to fatten that dose or go back to .75 units, you can. You test enough to even follow MPM anyway, where the reduction point is lower. At this point — since you also have more experience with her numbers and we can see her patterns — you can choose a custom reduction point lower than 90. I agree that reducing to .25 would leave her in higher numbers. She’s doing well.

I hope you have an enjoyable Sunday.
 
Good morning and Happy Thanksgiving @Suzanne & Darcy .
So this morning Sybil tested at 48 amps, this is a first of this low number so I gave high carb wet food and tested 20 minutes later she was up to 180. In hindsight, I should have retested that 48 but didn’t this time. So I skipped her am shot because I don’t know if that was a true reading or if the HC food spiked it. I’ll test as much as I can today as I recently had a family emergency I’m dealing with too. It’s been a helluva week.
Thanks for everything and have a good day.
 
Back
Top