Sya AMPS 300 Trying new dose for the first time today

Status
Not open for further replies.

K. Sya and Sophie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Successful encounter with the vet. After one in office curve and him seeing our spreadsheet he was surprised to find his numbers pretty much like mine. From now on he's satisfied with me e-mailing her data to him.
We're trying a bump up of the dose today. So far so good?
 
so far so good.

Two things, normally here we would increase by 0.25 instead of 0.5, because she has had numbers mostly in the 200's (and lots of low 200's at that). 0.5 is ok, you just need to step up your testing to see how the dose is doing. It might drop her more than you expect, so stay on top of it.

Second, you really need to work on getting those AMPS tests. Trust me, I know it's hard to do in the morning (you can look at my spreadsheet to see how long it took me to start doing that). I can also show you my condos here to show you how everyone was pushing me to start. It's important, especially since you're getting some pretty good numbers and just increased the dose.

Overall though, you're doing great! Just step it up a little and you might be surprised at how well your kitty responds. :smile:
 
Thanks. I knew that once we moved to a new dose not doing AMPS was no longer an option. It is hard...we dose 5:30/5:30. Oh well, enough whining. Anyway, thanks for the advice. BTW my Sya is Tonkinese too! :mrgreen:
 
Sya PMPS 327 New dose today Problem or test and watch?

A little nervous about changing doses. Vet did approve it. Not like she hasn't had these numbers before. No symptoms of any problems...
 
are you worried because she is a little higher than usual? It is common for numbers to be higher for a cycle or two after a dose increase.
 
Hello and welcome (not sure how long you've been in LL since I don't think I've visited your condos yet, so that's why the welcome)! I was going to say the same thing Libby did...You increased the dose by .5u and .25 would have been better, but as long as you are diligent on getting more tests done, all should be good. Spot is on the 6am/6pm dosing schedule so I know how hard it is to get those tests, but it is so important. I even set my alarm for 1:30 a.m. so that I can see where he's going. Call me obsessive, lol.

I hope that Sya has a good reaction to the new dose and that you start seeing some really nice numbers.
 
Sya was just diagnosed last month. You folks have been a godsend in getting me up to speed in how to deal with all this. I had a regular spreadsheet on Excel, but this is the first weekend I've had a moment to breathe and figure out how to post on Google docs. My civie Sophie was diagnosed with metastaic cancer (not treatable) last week too, so life has been a bit of a turmoil. OK. I'll breathe and keep testing. Time to go shoot!
 
In looking at Sya's SS, you have a couple of comments about dry food. Can I ask what you're feeding your kitty? We encourage feeding a low carb diet (under 10% carb) -- preferably of canned food. If you're not already familiar with these resources, Lisa Pierson, DVM has an excellent website on feline nutriotion and Janet & Binky's food charts contains information about the carbohydrate content of most available canned and dry food.
 
One thing I did not see mentioned yet to you is that you may see higher numbers or odd numbers when you change the dose, some may refer to NDW or new dose wonkiness.
When you increase the dose, Sya's shed will need topping up so you will see some higher numbers until that shed is filled.

I just thought I'd mention it so you don't get upset about the pink higher number. Sya will come back down soon enough, but keep in mind that you have gone from 1.0 to 1.5, yes? And that is a 50% increase so it may take a couple shots to catch up, and then you should see some better numbers.
 
Hi,
Happy to see the PM+4 is back in yellow. Never thought I'd be happy to see yellow again. Yes we did go to 1.5 u from 1.0. Vet did tell me to keep a close eye on her numbers. I think he forsees a big dip from it. He wants her at least below 200. I guess thats what he calls the renal threshold? So much to learn this past month.
Am working on getting rid of the dry totally, but it is a slow process. Sya is a bit of an addict. Right now they're getting mainly the Wellness grain free wet versions and about 1/8 of a cup of dry food split into a morning and evening portion. Amounts to about a pinch of the kibble morning and evening. They eat the Wellness Core dry. I think its about 11% which is moderate, yes? I've tried to do the Evo both wet and dry, but their stools get wierd with it.
Onward to tomorrow
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top