Swtiching humulin to lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

pascuzzi

Member Since 2012
My name is Katie. I'm going to be switching insulin for my cat Thumbs from N to Lantus once I save up enough money to change it. Hopefully by next week. I have a job that has random hours so giving cat shots BID every 12 hours may vary mostly on weekends by an hour or two. Is this bad? My vet wants me to start Thumbs at 2u but I was told one here that is too much to start with. Can I start him at .5u and see how that goes? Also with doing a curve, a lot of times I amps feed shot and have to go to work so I don't get the chance to curve him. Can I just curve him on a day that I have off and is one curve enough? His numbers have been high amps and pmps (340's to sometimes 400's) with being on N and not being able to curve him. Which I guess at least he is getting some insulin at this point till I can change it.
 
Hi Katie, and Welcome :-D

I hope and bet your kitty Thumbs does much better on Lantus. N is a very harsh insulin, where Lantus is gentle.

Please read all the Stickies at the top of the page and re-read them when you get a chance. Lantus is different than the shorter acting insulins and the dosing is based on the nadir, which is the lowest point in the cycle (generally around +5 or +6).

I can't access your spreadsheet :-| .
What dose of N is Thumbs currently on?

Is he eating only wet food?



I arranged my cat's shot schedule around my work hours, so pretty much based the scheduled shot time by the time I get home from work.
I shoot at 6:00am, and then I am able to get a 7:00am test, or maybe a 7:30am test, and then am out the door for work.
I pretty much always get home by 6:00pm, so that's test, shot, and feed time for PMPS.
I go to bed early, so I set alarms to wake up and test during the night, so I can tell how well the dose is doing. Remember, the dose amount is based on the nadir (the lowest point in the cycle around +6 or so).
On weekends, or any day I have off, I try to get tests throughout the day, to give me a better idea of what BGs my cat has during the day while I'm at work.
We can help you with setting up your shot times, so it works for you for the weekends. You can move a shot time by 15 minutes each cycle (shot) twice a day, or by 30 minutes once a day, to adjust your schedule.

Hope that helps.



Please ask all the questions you have, and if you don't understand, ask again.
 
Hi Katie,
Here's a link to your post on the Health forum from this past week that will help people on "background info"
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=78834&p=852739#p852739

It looks like you were on 3u of N, but recently dropped back to 1u?
If you can go into your signature and fix the link to your SS, then we will be able to look at all your data and be able to help you with advice on the starting dose.
Carl
 
I did drop his N to 1u BID from 3u because people on here said that was to high of a dose. How do I fix the link to my ss? I just set up the spread sheet so not sure why you can't access it. Not to good with computers. Thumbs is on a wet food diet only. Friskie's pate. I have been free feeding him when hes hungry but making sure he is hungry around the time he needs his shot. He is eating a lot but not urinating as much as he was or drinking as much water. I haven't been able to curve him since hes been on N due to my work schedule. So I just test his BG before I shoot. Some days he will get his shot an hour early or hour later due to my work schedule. Its hard when you don't have anyone that is comfortable enough to do shots or BG testing. I'm also confused about the ketitone test. What is that for and how often do I need to test and what should I be looking for? Thumbs is still resisting testing at home but I eventually get it after a couple of pokes. When do I know if he is suffering from the insulin not working or his body shutting down? He has a heart mummur now and his teeth are bad but I don't have the money to do anything with those two issues and I feel as though the diabetes is a little more important at this point. If I can get him regulated and save money I can do the teeth cleaning and deal with the heart murmmur. The vet didn't seem to concerned about the heart at this point. I just don't know when its time to say its his time to pass on, when money becomes an issue and his over all quality of life. So many questions I wish I had answers for. I hate having to play the role of god and say its time.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

The initial dose of Lantus can be based on a weight-related formula: initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms. However, if a cat is switching insulin, we take the current dose on that insulin into consideration. We suggest that you reduce the dose of current insulin by 30% for your initial dose of Lantus. Some cats have a marked response to a new insulin and the reduction takes that into account.

Lantus is a type of insulin that yields the best results with consistency both in terms of shot time and dose. We'll do our best to help you with your shot schedule. You should know that there can be an effect if you shoot early or late. An early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot acts like a dose reduction.

Most of us who work don't get a curve every day. Frankly, most people don't get curves every day. In the beginning, it's helpful to get a mini-curve so you are able to figure out when Lantus onset begins and where nadir falls. The latter is particularly important since with Lantus, dose is based on nadir. (This is different than with N.) In many cases, getting spot checks can be even more valuable than getting a curve.

Please let us know if you have questions. We're happy to help!
 
How do I fix the link to my ss? I just set up the spread sheet so not sure why you can't access it. Not to good with computers.

I think that there might just be a "[" in the wrong place or a character missing from the code in the link to the spreadsheet. If it all isn't exactly right, then the link doesn't work.

The link should start with "" It looks like that bracket might be missing?
Then it would say "thumbs ss" and at the end there should be "
"
See if inserting that bracket "]" fixes it.

Carl
 
Katie,
On the bigger issues - the diabetes, the heart murmur, the dental issues, the home testing.... It is very overwhelming at first for everyone. Add into it that you are also dealing with money concerns and it can seem impossible. That's why we do things in "baby steps". One issue at a time.
The home testing thing will get easier, as it has for everyone of us. It just takes practice, a treat for Thumbs after every test (whether you get blood or not), and time.
The switch from N to Lantus is going to help a great deal.
The scheduling thing, we'll help you to figure that out, and help you to figure out when you can get a curve done.

Try not to take it all in at once. Try to compartmentalize all the issues and all the procedures, and take things one at a time, one day at a time. A month from now you will look back and think "wow, it wasn't really all that bad" and you'll see the improvement in Thumbs and realize that things are better.

We've all been in your shoes, maybe not dealing with all of the same issues, but there are a whole lot of people here who have "been there, done that" and can help you get through all of this.

Carl
 
Katie,
The link works. But there's no data on the SS? It connects to a SS labeled "Thumbs ss" at googledocs. You may have to re-enter your data. When you are there, if you click on "file", then on "publish to the web...", make sure that the box that says "automatically republish when changes are made" has a checkmark in it.

But the link in your signature is fixed.

carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top