? Switching to Levemir?

Cassandra & Garfield

Member Since 2019
Hello. Thinking of switching to Levemir, hoping it will flatten Garfields curves.

Has anyone seen better numbers from switching to levemir from lantus?

Today was so scary he dropped so fast and stayed low even after HC food. Imagine if one day I'm not home and something were to happen like this.

Thank you !
 
Hi Cassandra,

I've no experience between the different types, but I'm sure those bright greens were scary if you've not seen them before! I'm sure someone will comment soon, but I'm wondering if they may suggest a decrease?? Honestly, not a clue. Don't take advice from me! LOL :p

Good luck!
Darcy
 
Hi Cassandra,

I've no experience between the different types, but I'm sure those bright greens were scary if you've not seen them before! I'm sure someone will comment soon, but I'm wondering if they may suggest a decrease?? Honestly, not a clue. Don't take advice from me! LOL :p

Good luck!
Darcy
Thank you! But no he is a long term diabetic so no dose decrease according to TR Protocol.

But thanks
 
Has anyone seen better numbers from switching to levemir from lantus?
Neko eventually got flatter. It takes a little while for them to learn the new insulin, so they don't always get flatter right away. The biggest think is that onset and nadir are later. Onset typically +4 and nadir +8. It's also not unusual to have nadirs at or around +12 or preshot time, so you do have to get used to shooting full dose at lower. numbers. The flip side is you have hours before the next shot will onset, so plenty of time to get them up.

Not all cats get flatter, but I think the majority do. Just no guarantees.
 
Neko eventually got flatter. It takes a little while for them to learn the new insulin, so they don't always get flatter right away. The biggest think is that onset and nadir are later. Onset typically +4 and nadir +8. It's also not unusual to have nadirs at or around +12 or preshot time, so you do have to get used to shooting full dose at lower. numbers. The flip side is you have hours before the next shot will onset, so plenty of time to get them up.

Not all cats get flatter, but I think the majority do. Just no guarantees.
Sorry can you explain onset? When he starts dropping ? Wouldn't we ideally want a nadir at +6? Also is it "safer" to shoot low numbers on levemir? As you can see garfield is alllll over the place and sometimes has nadirs as pm preshots

:)thanks
 
A refresher from the New to the Group Sticky Note:

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
+6 is the typical (but ECID) nadir time for Lantus. Levemir the typical nadir is +8, or two hours later. Typical Lantus onset is +2 to +3. You should know those basics about how Garfield currently uses Lantus. Of course, nadir times can and do change per cycle, but there is usually a "most often nadirs" time. When cats are breaking a bounce, they'll often nadir closer to preshot time. Why would you want a nadir at +6? I liked having nadir at or near preshot, cause I was always home when Neko's was lowest. With Levemir, you still do not shoot if they are below 50, if following TR.
 
Last edited:
A refresher from the New to the Group Sticky Note:

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
+6 is the typical (but ECID) nadir time for Lantus. Levemer the typical nadir is +2, or two hours later. Typical Lantus onset is +2 to +3. You should know those basics about how Garfield currently uses Lantus. Of course, nadir times can and do change per cycle, but there is usually a "most often nadirs" time. When cats are breaking a bounce, they'll often nadir closer to preshot time. Why would you want a nadir at +6? I liked having nadir at or near preshot, cause I was always home when Neko's was lowest. With Levemir, you still do not shoot if they are below 50, if following TR.
I don't know I just thought we wanted a nadir at +6 because that way it would give a nice curve.

Since im it 1.50 with lantus what dosing would I start with with levemir? Thanks
 
Thanks @Judy and Freckles fixed my typo above.

I don't know I just thought we wanted a nadir at +6 because that way it would give a nice curve.
Lev still has a nice curve, it's just the start and end points are different in relation to preshot time.

Since im it 1.50 with lantus what dosing would I start with with levemir?
No. Some cats have strong reactions to the change, so we start the Lev dose at 70% of the Lantus dose for safety. That would be 1 unit in your case. You may end up with a similar dose, but maybe not.
 
Thanks @Judy and Freckles fixed my typo above.


Lev still has a nice curve, it's just the start and end points are different in relation to preshot time.


No. Some cats have strong reactions to the change, so we start the Lev dose at 70% of the Lantus dose for safety. That would be 1 unit in your case. You may end up with a similar dose, but maybe not.
hi wendy! Can you please tell me what is happening today to Garfield? He is at 50 2 hours before feeding supper. Which never happens that's why I ask :(. Thanks
 
He's breaking a bounce. Those cycles can have some downward momentum. That late in the cycle, you didn't need to give HC. Next time, if there is a next time, try something lower carb first if you are able to monitor. The insulin effect should be fading later in the cycle, you don't need as many carbs to boost him then.
 
He's breaking a bounce. Those cycles can have some downward momentum. That late in the cycle, you didn't need to give HC. Next time, if there is a next time, try something lower carb first if you are able to monitor. The insulin effect should be fading later in the cycle, you don't need as many carbs to boost him then.
Im just confused because they say the cat will eat to have hi bg raise if its too low but he didn't have allot of food in his dish when we left and he didn't even finish it 6 hours later -_- so even when he drops he doesn't eat to raise his bg
 
Back
Top