? Switching to Lantus

Nick & Binx

Member Since 2023
Hey everyone!

After hearing so many success stories, I'm switch my recently diagnosed cat from ProZinc to Lantus.

In terms of differences, is there anything I should know? My vet knows I home test, and told me to expect no change for about 72 hours. I also hear there is less wiggle room with Lantus. Lately, due to some stomach issues, Binx has been eating his meals more slowly. How should this impact his shot schedule?

It'll be a day or two before I make the switch. I have the Lantus, but only have my u-40 syringes right now. Waiting until the local pharmacy has more u-100s.

Thanks!
 
Hi. Welcome to LLB. We use two methods here so have a look at the dosing methods sticky. What are you feeding Binx? If all wet or raw you can choose either method. If feeding any dry you will follow SLGS if using one of our methods. With Lantus you will find we don’t jump around with dosing. It’s a depot insulin so the depot will take 5-7 days to build. I see you have been giving 1.0 or 1.25 so I would start with 1.0. We find feeding two meals with snacks in between works best. Lantus kicks in around +2 for most cats so no need to feed a large amount all at once. Some even free feed. Until you see how Binx reacts it’s good to pick up food 2 hours before shot time.

Do you think Binx became diabetic from prednisolone? How long since you stopped it?

There is wiggle room with lantus although the depot influences upcoming cycles. All the stickies are really good. You will see an example of an active cycle in the methods sticky. All the stickies are great. After the methods the basics is really the next to read.

Keep asking questions. There will be many.
 
Hello and welcome to the LLB forum.

It's not always true that you don't see change for 72 hours, some cats react more strongly the first couple cycles, some don't. We do recommend you switch when you can monitor fairly closely the first couple cycles. Just in case Binx is one of those that reacts.

Did the vet recommend a dose to switch to? Normally we switch to the equivalent dose of the previous insulin, based on what that dose was doing for him. Not sure I would have moved back to 1 unit. You could probably start at 1.25 units of Lantus.

I've had a few cats with GI issues. Which probiotic were you giving Binx? For a runny stool, something with S. boullardi is a good choice. More info on probiotics here. Use of metronidazole is not always the best choice. Article here. Lantus doesn't kick in typically for 2-3 hours after the shot, so he doesn't have to eat all his food at the beginning. More smaller meals are easier on his pancreas anyway. We have some members whose cats are grazers.
 
Sorry for not replying, everyone! Been a crazy few days with the little guy. Been reading the forums, but haven't had the chance to sit down and give everyone a good response!
 
Hi. Welcome to LLB. We use two methods here so have a look at the dosing methods sticky. What are you feeding Binx? If all wet or raw you can choose either method. If feeding any dry you will follow SLGS if using one of our methods. With Lantus you will find we don’t jump around with dosing. It’s a depot insulin so the depot will take 5-7 days to build. I see you have been giving 1.0 or 1.25 so I would start with 1.0. We find feeding two meals with snacks in between works best. Lantus kicks in around +2 for most cats so no need to feed a large amount all at once. Some even free feed. Until you see how Binx reacts it’s good to pick up food 2 hours before shot time.

Do you think Binx became diabetic from prednisolone? How long since you stopped it?

There is wiggle room with lantus although the depot influences upcoming cycles. All the stickies are really good. You will see an example of an active cycle in the methods sticky. All the stickies are great. After the methods the basics is really the next to read.

Keep asking questions. There will be many.


I'm feeding him a pretty high calorie diet right now of both FF pate and sensitive skin and stomach dry food. I tried to slowly switch him to entirely wet food and it destroyed his little stomach. My vet said I should leave him where he is at until he feels a little better and we have him on the Lantus for a little bit. He seems to prefer his dry food, and just grazes his wet food, so I support the idea, because it ensures he eats enough.

I think it is possible that the prednisolone played a part. He does fit all the criteria, long term chubby, not very active, middle-aged, all dry diet for years, and indoors. I think the prednisolone just pushed him over the edge. He was on it for awhile, with 1-2 week cycles here and there, and 2-3 day cycles as needed. The vet never informed me of the risks. I think they assumed because I was a broke college student at the time that I wouldn't shell out for a high-cost inhaler. But I certainly would have if I knew the risks. He hasn't taken any in about 3 weeks, but the past few months he probably only took 8-10 in general. I learned of the long term effects and tried to use it more sparingly. I just didn't like to see him cough, the Flovent actually worked almost immediately and I haven't seen him breath so well in years, very rarely even coughs now.
 
Hello and welcome to the LLB forum.

It's not always true that you don't see change for 72 hours, some cats react more strongly the first couple cycles, some don't. We do recommend you switch when you can monitor fairly closely the first couple cycles. Just in case Binx is one of those that reacts.

Did the vet recommend a dose to switch to? Normally we switch to the equivalent dose of the previous insulin, based on what that dose was doing for him. Not sure I would have moved back to 1 unit. You could probably start at 1.25 units of Lantus.

I've had a few cats with GI issues. Which probiotic were you giving Binx? For a runny stool, something with S. boullardi is a good choice. More info on probiotics here. Use of metronidazole is not always the best choice. Article here. Lantus doesn't kick in typically for 2-3 hours after the shot, so he doesn't have to eat all his food at the beginning. More smaller meals are easier on his pancreas anyway. We have some members whose cats are grazers.


That's good to know about the 72 hour thing. My vet, knowing how I test him so often, just wanted to let me know that if I don't see results right away not to panic. She can tell I'm like a hover-dad with him and am constantly monitoring his health.

They suggested switching to 1u to start. The bump to 1.25 was my own accord, and this is a different vet than the one who diagnosed him, so they just met him. I think she is playing it safe, I'll see her again in a week and a half and talk about the bumping schedule she suggests. I think she just wants to better safe than sorry, but at the same time I am eager to get his BG under control to avoid long-term health affects.

I am currently giving Binx straight S. boullardi. As well as a 1 a day cat treat (he doesn't like it, so it's more like 1-a few days lol). I haven't really seen any benefits from it, I thought I did at first, but now I'm unsure. His stool was REALLY runny, I'm talking just straight liquid, and he would strain to push it out. The probiotics didn't seem to help, so I moved his vet appoint to that day. That diagnosed him with chronic tummy ache and suggested the antibiotics. He has has stomach issues for years and the vet thinks the change in food played a large part. I started with the suggested dose of the vet, but he really didn't like the pills (they taste bitter, he is used to taking pills because of his former prednisone). They also seemed to make him more lethargic. I skipped a dose by accident one day and he seemed to start feeling better. I gave him half the dose that evening and he was back to being sleepy. However, almost immediately his stools started getting firmer, so it is more likely an intestinal bacteria thing. I spoke to the vet, they said continue giving half the dose, and as soon as his stools harden a bit to stop giving it to him. They deemed that the immediate treatment of his watery stools was more important that the side effects of the meds, and I think I agree. As soon as his stomach gets better, he is getting off of them. But if they're working I don't want to interfere too much. Thank you for the article! I actually read it when you posted it in another thread a few days ago before I gave him his first dose. It made me nervous, but for right now if it'll help, I'm gonna give it a try.
 
So as long as he’s eating dry if you follow our method it is SLGS.
Thank you (: that was my plan, I don't feel confident enough yet to try something like TR. Although I really want to see him go into remission as soon as possible, I need to remind myself to be patient.

His former vet only offered ProZinc, when I asked the vet tech about Lantus (I was actually reading this forum before my cat was diagnosed, I was suspicious of diabetes and wanted to prepare) she literally had no idea what it was and said "all of our feline patients take ProZinc". Immediately switched vets, haha. I'm excited to get him on Lantus, I hope it does better than ProZinc has thus far. He was on a low dose of ProZinc, so I understand why I didn't get great results. But it did seem like he would hit the low to mid 300s again every PS, even if his nadir was in the low 200s. Hoping Lantus will offer less fluctuation.
 
Back
Top