Switching to lantus from prozinc, dosing advice needed

Julie Sue & Oscar too

Member Since 2022
Hi there!
My bouncy boy is making the switch. I think he'll do better with a depot.
Could y'all look at his spreadsheet and advise me on dosage to start him on? I know the syringes are different and his nadir isn't lower than 100 so I'm not sure what to give him.
Also, what's the diff between the yfgn glargine and regular glargine? Are they interchangeable or should I stick to one or the other?
Thanks!
 
You will need to pick a dosing method. I’m guessing it will be SLGS based upon your testing. Usually we start the the same dose or a little less.
Yeah absolutely slgs. I'm the only one monitoring him and I can't be home all day every day. So better to be safe.
What would you advise specifically to dose.. if he's getting 2 units with u/40 syringes at the moment?
Should I wait until he clears this bounce or does that not really matter?
 
I would not start on a bounce. Once it clears you can start. Let’s see where he lands but probably 2.0 but you would need to monitor the first few days. Is that possible?
 
I would not start on a bounce. Once it clears you can start. Let’s see where he lands but probably 2.0 but you would need to monitor the first few days. Is that possible?
If he clears this bounce Friday I can monitor him through the weekend.
How do you feel about 1.5 units to start? I'm getting conflicting advice.
 
You just don’t want to start on a bounce clearing cycle. I’d probably start with 1.75 and split the difference. Starting on the weekend would be good. On a bounce is okay if you can monitor. You might get extra momentum if you start when clearing a bounce.
 
You just don’t want to start on a bounce clearing cycle. I’d probably start with 1.75 and split the difference. Starting on the weekend would be good. On a bounce is okay if you can monitor. You might get extra momentum if you start when clearing a bounce.
How do I know if it's a bounce clearing cycle? Can you give me an example of when and when not to switch? Wanna be sure I'm making the right moves.
The 1.5 was a halfway.. the other advice I got was to start at .5 or 1 because it's easier to increase than decrease.
 
Hi when you do switch to Lantus be sure to get the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings because we adjunct the dose by 0.25 units at a time
Also when you do switch can you note that in your signature and date
On your spreadsheet also up top and we like you to draw a line above the date you switch to Lantus and Write Switched to Lantus
 
If he starts to come down on a cycle and continues to come down until the next shot after being high it’s likely a bounce clearing cycle.

It’s not harder to decrease than increase. Lantus will also take 5-7 days for the depot to build. I guess I wouldn’t take a full .50 reduction as 2.0 seems to get him to some nadirs between 150-199. Did you get u100 syringes with half unit markings?
 
If he starts to come down on a cycle and continues to come down until the next shot after being high it’s likely a bounce clearing cycle.

It’s not harder to decrease than increase. Lantus will also take 5-7 days for the depot to build. I guess I wouldn’t take a full .50 reduction as 2.0 seems to get him to some nadirs between 150-199. Did you get u100 syringes with half unit markings?

I haven't gotten anything yet, but will absolutely get the ones with half unit markings.

So the current cycle he's on is a bounce clearing cycle? He was 450 this morning and 180 when I got home at +9
I've never seen him come down so steeply and so quickly. He must've slept hard all day.
 
Replying over here to keep it all together -

@FrostD got the ok from the vet and free glargine from a local nonprofit. Getting varying advice about where to start on dosage, but I agree with my vet that 1.5 might be a wise choice.

He had a wild drop today. 450 this morning to 190 when I got home. I expected him to be high on that bounce still
What do you make of that?

That is pretty indicative of a bounce break, often characterized by a later nadir and/or lower numbers. Knowing him...he's going to bounce back up lol
 
Sure I will update that!
I haven't picked up any supplies yet.. what's the best bang for my buck online for syringes?
A lot of members like these ,call them and they will contact your vet to fax over a script ask your vet for refills you can just go on line and order them . give your vets office can heads up Give the place this code
https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/1316/surecomfort-u100-syringes-half-unit-31g-3-10cc-5-16in-100ct

adw-coupon-dia10.jpg
 
@tiffmaxee I got all the supplies. I will be able to monitor him through the weekend but I'm not sure when to start. I believe he's headed up on a bounce but I'm not certain.
Still leaning towards 1.5 to be safe. I haven't had much time to get middle of the night tests so I'm not 100% sure the current 2 units of prozinc aren't taking him under 100.

What do you think?
 
Last edited:
If you aren’t comfortable shooting 1.75 then start with 1.5. You have only had 2 nadirs under 200 on Prozinc so it might not be enough but it won’t hurt him. You have elected to follow SLGS so you will hold the dose for 7 days. Just don’t get discouraged if you see high numbers. The depot will build over the week. Good luck with the switch.
 
If you aren’t comfortable shooting 1.75 then start with 1.5. You have only had 2 nadirs under 200 on Prozinc so it might not be enough but it won’t hurt him. You have elected to follow SLGS so you will hold the dose for 7 days. Just don’t get discouraged if you see high numbers. The depot will build over the week. Good luck with the switch.

Yes, I'm not super comfortable starting above 1.5
I just don't know how he'll respond to the change and would rather increase in a week if needed.
He's super high on another bounce this morning. (480) If he comes down during the cycle, should I start tonight at pm? I told my vet I would start with a preshot number between 250-350 as that felt appropriate.
 
@tiffmaxee also, somewhat related. I just got some ketone strips yesterday. I have not tested him myself but he was tested a couple weeks ago at a vet visit (no ketones). How often should I be checking for that? Can I dip it in wet litter?
 
@tiffmaxee he's come down to 190 from 480 this morning.. so it's a bounce breaking cycle. Gonna start on 1.5 of lantus tonight. He seems to be breaking these bounces much faster. Let's hope he adapts to the new insulin well.
 
I was away all day. Do start so you can monitor. Leave space between tge Prozinc cycles and starting lantus on your spreadsheet and note in your signature that you have switched. Good luck.
 
Back
Top