Switching meters--will I expect different readings?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kozykitty

Member Since 2014
We've been using the Alphtrak 2 for 3 years now. I know that it's specifically calibrated for pets. However, having had an order of test strips from Amazon get lost by the shipper, I ran out of strips and was desperate to get more which don't seem to be sold locally. I was able to purchase a few from my vet. I thought I'd get a cheap human meter as a back up and I understand the Relion is cheap and reliable.

What should I expect in terms of readings? I typically don't shoot my cat if his reading is below 200 which I've been told is the protocol for his Prozinc insulin. Will that number remain the same with a human meter?
 
The Relion Confirm/Micro is a human meter so it should read lower than the pet meter. There is no direct conversion between the two and you'll just drive yourself nuts trying to figure them out :confused::p. We usually still tell any new member to not shoot when BG is under 200 for human meters and 225 - 250 on pet meters also taking into consideration which insulin is being used. So essentially yes the No Shoot number can stay the same but I think you should've been able to lower that NS number by now ;). If it's something you're just not comfortable with, then go ahead and stick with 200 :bighug:. I was a slightly more aggressive doser with Prozinc and after learning how my boy responded, I pushed his NS number lower :smuggrin:. My situation definitely relied on "know they cat" so I don't want you to feel pressured!

In a pinch you can use Freestyle Lite test strips with the AT2 meter, just keep it on the last AT2 cat code you used and ignore the human code :)
 
Thanks. Maybe I'll just buy some Freestyle lite strips and do some side by side tests and keep them in reserve. I like the Alphatrak.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top