Jenna & Kitsu (GA)
Member Since 2018
Hello all!
Today I'm taking Kitsu to my new vet and I'm wanting to speak to them about switching her to ProZinc. She has been on Vetsulin for almost 7 months now and while most of the time the results are decent, I still feel like she might benefit more from ProZinc because of how gentler it is (less risk of hypo) and how the curve for ProZinc makes more sense than Vetsulin. There have been times that Kitsu has gone hypo because of her appetite issues and how hard Vetsulin hits, so I would like to play it safer with ProZinc, especially as I will not be around to BG test her during the cycle as much as I am now (starting school soon). Ideally, I wanted to put her on Lantus, since it seems to have great results for most cats, but I feel like I wouldn't be home enough to test her and Lantus seems to require a lot more BG tests during the cycle to make sure they are properly regulated. Am I misinformed on that, or is that accurate?
Anyway, I've been reading some threads here on how ProZinc works, but have some questions of my own.
First off, in case the vet doesn't advise me correctly (has happened before with other vets), what dose should I start her off with? I see the "start low, go slow" method being recommended, but does that apply when she's being switched off another type of insulin? Right now she is on 1 unit twice daily, unless her AMPS/PMPS shows up at 160-190, in which case I give her a half unit instead (and skip her dose all together if lower than 160). Should I start her on 1 unit twice daily for ProZinc as well, since it's a gentler insulin than Vetsulin? Or maybe start her out on 0.5 unit just to be safe?
Secondly, does anyone have any recommendations on what I should watch out for on ProZinc that I didn't have to worry about with Vetsulin?
Last, any tips on the transition would be more than welcome! I plan to keep my Vetsulin vial until it expires (March 2019) as a backup or in case I need to switch back to it, but I'm hoping that ProZinc will help me regulate Kitsu more and maybe even give her a better shot at remission. I can dream, can't I?
Thanks in advance!
Today I'm taking Kitsu to my new vet and I'm wanting to speak to them about switching her to ProZinc. She has been on Vetsulin for almost 7 months now and while most of the time the results are decent, I still feel like she might benefit more from ProZinc because of how gentler it is (less risk of hypo) and how the curve for ProZinc makes more sense than Vetsulin. There have been times that Kitsu has gone hypo because of her appetite issues and how hard Vetsulin hits, so I would like to play it safer with ProZinc, especially as I will not be around to BG test her during the cycle as much as I am now (starting school soon). Ideally, I wanted to put her on Lantus, since it seems to have great results for most cats, but I feel like I wouldn't be home enough to test her and Lantus seems to require a lot more BG tests during the cycle to make sure they are properly regulated. Am I misinformed on that, or is that accurate?
Anyway, I've been reading some threads here on how ProZinc works, but have some questions of my own.
First off, in case the vet doesn't advise me correctly (has happened before with other vets), what dose should I start her off with? I see the "start low, go slow" method being recommended, but does that apply when she's being switched off another type of insulin? Right now she is on 1 unit twice daily, unless her AMPS/PMPS shows up at 160-190, in which case I give her a half unit instead (and skip her dose all together if lower than 160). Should I start her on 1 unit twice daily for ProZinc as well, since it's a gentler insulin than Vetsulin? Or maybe start her out on 0.5 unit just to be safe?
Secondly, does anyone have any recommendations on what I should watch out for on ProZinc that I didn't have to worry about with Vetsulin?
Last, any tips on the transition would be more than welcome! I plan to keep my Vetsulin vial until it expires (March 2019) as a backup or in case I need to switch back to it, but I'm hoping that ProZinc will help me regulate Kitsu more and maybe even give her a better shot at remission. I can dream, can't I?

Thanks in advance!

