Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 9

Status
Not open for further replies.
1.75 u this AM? I like that he seems to have gotten over the AM BG spike from the steroid since you started giving it every second day. Have you had to give his other meds - nausea, etc. - often?
 
Smokys PMPS at 195 tonight, I may have to put him back on the budesonide every day for a week. He is having problems with his IBD these last couple of days. I am going in to work early tomorrow so can't get in a before bed test today. I'm about to give him his pm shot and am thinking that 1.6U would be a good dose for tonight. Is that too little of a dose since I am giving him the steroid tonight?
 
Sorry I wasn't here to give an opinion, Lisa. I think your choices were fine last night and this AM. You know that you're likely to see some pink AMPSs with daily steroid. At least you can tell there's a positive effect on his IBD because of the symptoms reappearing with less dosing.

Busy Saturday ahead for you because of your move. I hope it all goes smoothly.
 
I'm moving on Sunday instead of Saturday, heavy rain and thunderstorms for Saturday. Smoky had a good BG considering that I gave him the steroid last night. Did you take another day trip?:cool:
 
I did a little experiment with Smoky. I tested him at +2.5 hrs after pm shot.
AMPS was 241 for Feb 24, gave him 1.75U.
His PMPS was 224 and I gave him the same dose tonight. Normally I give him the budesonide right after his pm shot and do a +2 to +3 test. I'm skipping the steroid tonight and gave him a small amount of HC food to ward off too much of a drop. Smoky still has 3 and a half hours in the first half of cycle so wanted to keep him safe.
 
Yep I'm packing today, have been doing that all week. I worked half a day today and just checked him at almost +5 and his BG was 49. Yikes! It had been 4 hours and 45 minutes since his am shot. I gave him his LC lunch and two teaspoons of gravy food. I think I probably shld have waited on the HC food. He is almost halfway thru the cycle now. It was a bit of a shock to see that number. I have to wonder if he dropped lower than that while I was at work.
 
Oh goodness! Even though he's halfway through the cycle, there are some days where it looks like he's dropped a bit after +5, so giving him a little boost was probably a good idea. Are you moving nearby? Or far away?
 
Whew! Too exciting! Of course, being a cat, he'll do it when you're busy with other things ... :confused:
As Sue has said often on here, once they're at/near 50 it's time for high carb food to come out. You can also put a little karo or honey in LC food if you don't have gravy food at home. Or honey in gravy food if you need a stronger boost. I'd do the honey on the gums thing as a last resort. The pure sugar shot is too short in duration. If it's in a bit of food the boost should last a little longer.
 
Last edited:
It's a good thing we changed our moving date to Sunday. Severe thunderstorms, cloud to ground lightning, and 1 inch hail possible in my area right now. :nailbiting:
 
It's a good thing we changed our moving date to Sunday. Severe thunderstorms, cloud to ground lightning, and 1 inch hail possible in my area right now. :nailbiting:
Yikes! It's pouring rain here right now and the snow pack is down a foot. We had thunderstorms last night. Very weird weather!
 
Wow! He really wanted to give you an exciting day huh?

That weather is nuts...it's been in the 70's here...though it keeps going back and forth between freezing and summery weather.
 
That is weird weather:p figuring out smokys dose for tonight. I was thinking 1.5 units, any thoughts? I'm giving him the budesonide before bed tonight.
It will be a stressful day for him tomorrow.
 
It's a good thing we changed our moving date to Sunday. Severe thunderstorms, cloud to ground lightning, and 1 inch hail possible in my area right now. :nailbiting:
Heyyyy that I got that storm too. Very glad Maury is not afraid of T-storms like my first boy because I'm sure it would effect his BG levels :cat:
 
I gave him the 1.5 units and am giving him the steroid about two hours after that. The pharmacist said it is better if the cat doesn't have a full stomach. The budesonide works better to treat the IBD that way if it doesn't have to compete for space with food.
 
I gave him the 1.5 units and am giving him the steroid about two hours after that. The pharmacist said it is better if the cat doesn't have a full stomach. The budesonide works better to treat the IBD that way if it doesn't have to compete for space with food.
Pharmacists are great sources of info on meds. Better than doctors.
 
I just gave Smoky a little bit of HC food.
His BG was 139 at +2 and will leave him his usual half of a 3 oz can of LC food in his feeder overnight. I'm falling asleep on my feet so going to bed to try to get some sleep.:eek:
I think he will be OK between the boost from the food and the steroid.
 
Feb 26, Smokys BG at 321 for am PS.
Not totally unexpected though with the HC gravy food last night plus the steroid.
I'll be busy moving furniture today so can't monitor too closely. I think the 321 might be a combo of a bounce, the HC food, and he is stressed from all the moving activity.
I don't feel comfortable giving him 2U even with the 321 PS for am since it will be hard to watch him today. I'm thinking 1.5 units to keep him safe. Any suggestions would be appreciated.:)
 
Feb 26, Smokys BG at 321 for am PS.
Not totally unexpected though with the HC gravy food last night plus the steroid.
I'll be busy moving furniture today so can't monitor too closely. I think the 321 might be a combo of a bounce, the HC food, and he is stressed from all the moving activity.
I don't feel comfortable giving him 2U even with the 321 PS for am since it will be hard to watch him today. I'm thinking 1.5 units to keep him safe. Any suggestions would be appreciated.:)
I agree with the lower dose, Lisa. You don't need to be worrying about Smoky's BG in the midst of a move. Good luck! :)
 
Last edited:
Cld someone look at Smokys ss for today and let me know if they think he is OK so far with his BG.
You're well away from the BG of 50 (on a human meter) where you have to intervene. You could give a low carb snack and retest in 30 minutes or give high carb to keep him up a bit. Retest in 30 minutes if you can.
 
@Lisa and Smoky - What is this magic you are doing to get those beautiful green numbers? I'm jealous! ;) Looking through your threads and your spreadsheet, you've really worked hard to care for Smoky! Hope the move is going well today!
 
Smoky BG at 241 for PMPS. We moved most of our belongings to our new place. We will finish moving tomorrow. I'm only giving smoky a token dose of 1 unit tonight. I'm too tired to watch him tonight and have to go to a work meeting from 8 to 10 am tomorrow.
 
Smoky BG at 241 for PMPS. We moved most of our belongings to our new place. We will finish moving tomorrow. I'm only giving smoky a token dose of 1 unit tonight. I'm too tired to watch him tonight and have to go to a work meeting from 8 to 10 am tomorrow.
Good plan!
 
We finally moved everything at last. I still have to unpack half of my belongings though.:nailbiting: Smoky is doing pretty well with his BG since the move. I've been seeing some yellow numbers even with him taking the budesonide.:)
 
Yeah for being done! (at least with the moving part) How was the first day at your new job?
 
Just checking in, Lisa. I know you're very busy with the new job and settling into a new place. I see that Smoky gave you some excitement last night! How is he doing?
 
He is doing OK so far. He threw up his food on Thursday morning. I forgot to leave food out for him that night. He was pretty hungry and ate it too fast. I have to take him back for a recheck next week and get a refill on the budesonide. How are you and Teasel doing these days?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top