Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 5

Status
Not open for further replies.
I gave him the denamarin last night. He still doesn't feel great but is a little better.
I tested him at +11 since I gave him shot a little late last night. It might have been high enough to give a dose for am. I had to go to work so couldn't stall this morning.o_O
 
I gave him the denamarin last night. He still doesn't feel great but is a little better.
I tested him at +11 since I gave him shot a little late last night. It might have been high enough to give a dose for am. I had to go to work so couldn't stall this morning.o_O
You have to do what works for you, Lisa.
 
Kris,
Do you give bupe to Teasel before or after food?
Hi Lisa,

Just getting home now. There's no instruction on Teasel's bottle about taking it with food. My vet usually puts a sticker on meds that need to be taken with food. I haven't used it on Teasel for a long time but don't recall anything special about food with it.
 
I thought so too. Did you see that I gave him 1.75 units tonight? The 2 units I gave him last time was too much. I was pleasantly surprised by his BG tonight.
I think he will be OK with that dose. I'll be up another 3 or 4 hours to make sure he is doing alright on the bupe. I gave it to him about 15 minutes ago.
 
Hi Lisa,
I see the 1.5 u with a question mark. Does that mean you're not sure if it all went in or not sure of how you measured it? It's a safe dose while you're away today. How did he handle the bupe last night?
 
I gave him the 1.5 units for am. The question mark was before I had decided on what dose to give him. His BG was a little higher this morning so don't know if he dropped low last night. He did OK on the bupe, was a little tired for a few hours. It didn't seem to bother him at all and he seemed better today.
 
I gave him the 1.5 units for am. The question mark was before I had decided on what dose to give him. His BG was a little higher this morning so don't know if he dropped low last night. He did OK on the bupe, was a little tired for a few hours. It didn't seem to bother him at all and he seemed better today.
I recall telling my vet that bupe made Teasel a bit spacey at the dose she'd prescribed for cystitis pain and she said to lower the dose. I did that - don't remember how much. He wasn't on bupe very long. Touch wood, he hasn't had cystitis since he gets "stew" as his wet meals. I think the extra water is key. I've begun doing that for my other two and they don't mind it at all. More pee lumps in the litter box though which tells me the extra water does a good job of flushing things out.
 
I just tested Smoky for his PMPS and his BG was 176! Holy moly:D He had a similar one on Jan 9 in pm which was 174. I gave him 1.25u and he only went up by 68 to 242. I thought the 1.25u might be a good dose for tonight? Or maybe one unit to keep him safe since he is not that far above his no shot number
 
I just tested Smoky for his PMPS and his BG was 176! Holy moly:D He had a similar one on Jan 9 in pm which was 174. I gave him 1.25u and he only went up by 68 to 242. I thought the 1.25u might be a good dose for tonight? Or maybe one unit to keep him safe since he is not that far above his no shot number
I think you could try 1.25 u because you're at home. You gave 1.5 u on a 167 on 01/02 and he was OK.
 
Last edited:
You're right about Jan 12, didn't pick up on that one. Smoky is laying in a box in middle of living room floor so being more sociable. I gave him 1.25 units for tonight.
 
I gave him the bupe but accidentally discharged some of it so he got a half of a dose.:eek: I didn't give him any this morning though. His appetite is better but still down from what it was.
 
Well, I was going to give Smoky a before bed test but had left a 1/4 canon food in his bowl on my dresser. Guess what happened? Yep, he got up there somehow and ate it.
Can I test him anyway or will it be an inaccurate BG?
 
Sorry, Lisa! I was fast asleep at this point. Woohoo for Smoky getting that nice PMPS! I think it never hurts to get that test, even if you know he got into contraband...if nothing else, it assures you he isn't dropping so you can sleep. The contraband should keep him from dropping but you just never know! :)
 
I was in bed by 10:30 PM last night so I'm just seeing this now. If he got up onto your dresser and ate that food he must have been 1. hungry and 2. energetic enough to find a way up. Good signs. I think your 1.5 u dose this AM should be safe. Bupe again this AM? Other meds?
 
Nope, he seems pretty good in the morning so have been giving him the bupe at night. Plus he gets the denamarin at night and the cerenia tonight.
I started him on the bupe at 8:30 pm and have to start work at 8 am. It's 12 hrs apart so can't give it to him in the am.
 
Smoky PMPS was 223. I'm up in the air between 1.75u and 2 units. He was 222 PMPS on Jan 10 and I gave him 2 units and he went down to 107 at +3 after pm shot that day. He was 146 next morning so was a no shot then. I'm wondering if it is safe to give the 2 units again?
 
Smoky PMPS was 223. I'm up in the air between 1.75u and 2 units. He was 222 PMPS on Jan 10 and I gave him 2 units and he went down to 107 at +3 after pm shot that day. He was 146 next morning so was a no shot then. I'm wondering if it is safe to give the 2 units again?
I suggest 1.75 u because both times (on 01/04 and 01/10) you gave 2 on a 222 you ended up with a NS in the next cycle.
 
I was thinking that too and was just about to give him his shot . Isn't that a goal to have a low enough BG not to need any insulin?o_O
 
Smoky looks much better tonight although his appetite is not back to normal yet. He was eating 5 cans of FF per day and is down to 3 and a half most days. He weighs just over 8 lbs 7 oz so vet told me he needs to eat about 350 to 400 calories per day to gain weight.
 
I was thinking that too and was just about to give him his shot . Isn't that a goal to have a low enough BG not to need any insulin?o_O

Yes, eventually you want levels low enough not to need insulin. But first you want two shootable pre shots, not a pre shot too low to shoot and then the next pre shot higher. What usually happens is that the pre shots gradually go down and you lower the dose until the preshots are consistently too low to shoot.

Make sense?
 
I'm wondering how long prozinc would last with Smokys dosing schedule. I've had the same vial since Nov 23.
You're probably good at least until the end of January, maybe longer. If it's pooping out later on it should show up as an increase in BG numbers. Are you still considering Lantus?
 
I was thinking about trying Lantus in the late spring depending on several factors.
I am looking into another job opportunity which would pay $5.00 more an hour than my current job. However, they don't have paid time off. I'm not sure I like the idea of using an insulin that doesn't have a lot of flexibility in dosing. Smoky may have a better chance for being regulated on Lantus. I have a lot to consider with all of that.
 
I like the flexibility of the prozinc the most. Smoky was 199 for PMPS. He was 193 last Monday in am and gave him 1.5 units which he did OK on. I gave him 1.5 units tonight as well. My u100 syringes with half unit markings came in mail today. I just have to figure out to read the markings on them first before using. I put them in a separate place from where I keep the u40 syringes to avoid a possible mix up with dosing. I have the conversion chart already printed out should I need to use the u100 for smaller doses.
 
Last edited:
Smoky at 270 for AMPS, figured out how to read markings on u100 syringe. I used conversion chart to figure out dose. Either 1.6U or 1.8U? I'm leaning towards 1.6U since I don't know how low he is going on the 1.5U dose during the day.
 
Smoky at 270 for AMPS, figured out how to read markings on u100 syringe. I used conversion chart to figure out dose. Either 1.6U or 1.8U? I'm leaning towards 1.6U since I don't know how low he is going on the 1.5U dose during the day.
Try 1.6 u to see how he gets on. You're off today, right? I'm so glad you have those U100 syringes. You'll get used to them quickly and be amazed at all the extra fractional dosing options they give you. :)

Is he still on cerenia, etc.?
 
I gave him the 1.6U but a air bubble got in there so might end up being 1.5U dose.:confused:
He is still on the cerenia and thought I wld give him the bupe twice today and see how he does on that. He is still hiding by the heater right after eating and stays there most of the day.
 
I gave him the 1.6U but a air bubble got in there so might end up being 1.5U dose.:confused:
He is still on the cerenia and thought I wld give him the bupe twice today and see how he does on that. He is still hiding by the heater right after eating and stays there most of the day.
I get the odd small air bubble in a dose periodically but I don't worry about it. No syringe is perfect, no dose measurement is perfect and no human eye is perfect. We do what we can do as carefully as we can.

Smoky probably likes to be near the heater because he lacks "insulation". Is he eating well?
 
He is eating pretty well but less than he was at first. He was eating 5 or 6 cans of FF per day but still has not gained much weight. I don't get it since he is still eating about 4 cans per day plus meat snacks.
 
Smoky has had pretty good BG numbers lately so don't know why he is not gaining much weight. I need to find a higher calorie food for him as the FF classics have under 100 calories per can. He lost all that weight back in August of last year and has only gained a little over a pound since then. The vet just tells me he will gain the weight back when he is regulated. I think you said you were still trying to get Teasel regulated since last January?How are you and Teasel doing these days? I get the sense that you know how I am feeling right now with Smoky.:bighug:

I don't mean to complain so much since he has been having good BG's as of lately.
I need to test him again for ketones today since his appetite dropped over the last week. My mom said the same thing about him wanting to be by the heater because he has no " padding" to keep him warm.:D I gave him the bupe this morning but may hold off giving it to him tonight. Plus I want to get in a few extra tests today to see how he is doing during the day.:cat:
 
This is the place to complain! Sometimes we all have to do it...and it just shows how much you love your boy. :bighug:

My cats love being near the space heater when it's on...they fight over who gets to sleep in front of it. Smoky probably does just feel a bit colder without padding...and he might just also really like being super warm. I've had to drag my kitties away from the heater when their fur was so hot it burned my fingers to touch them!
 
Smoky dropped from 270 AMPS to 90 at +4 hours. He had 1.6 U this morning. Is that too fast of a drop and can I expect him to drop more? :nailbiting: He usually hits his nadir around +6 or +7 hours after his shot. I gave him some lunch but he only ate a little bit of it. He did eat 2 cans of FF for breakfast.
 
Smoky dropped from 270 AMPS to 90 at +4 hours. He had 1.6 U this morning. Is that too fast of a drop and can I expect him to drop more? :nailbiting: He usually hits his nadir around +6 or +7 hours after his shot. I gave him some lunch but he only ate a little bit of it. He did eat 2 cans of FF for breakfast.
I'd give him a higher carb snack if you have something with gravy. That's a big drop and he has a way to go to get to nadir. There'll likely be some bouncing later.
 
Smoky has had pretty good BG numbers lately so don't know why he is not gaining much weight. I need to find a higher calorie food for him as the FF classics have under 100 calories per can. He lost all that weight back in August of last year and has only gained a little over a pound since then. The vet just tells me he will gain the weight back when he is regulated. I think you said you were still trying to get Teasel regulated since last January?How are you and Teasel doing these days? I get the sense that you know how I am feeling right now with Smoky.:bighug:

I don't mean to complain so much since he has been having good BG's as of lately.
I need to test him again for ketones today since his appetite dropped over the last week. My mom said the same thing about him wanting to be by the heater because he has no " padding" to keep him warm.:D I gave him the bupe this morning but may hold off giving it to him tonight. Plus I want to get in a few extra tests today to see how he is doing during the day.:cat:
Teasel was diagnosed at the end of January 2016 and was on Lantus for the first 2 months. It didn't go well. He had HUGE bounces (360 to 54 in a few hours then back up to near 400) then got stuck in high numbers and wouldn't budge. The vet wanted to take him off insulin for 48 hours and then restart him but after 24 hours without he went into DKA. He spent 3 days in the clinic's ICU but made it through this very $$$$ episode. He was changed to ProZinc after that. Of course I wasn't doing the FDMB thing then so I have no idea if I could've made the Lantus work. I did leave me reluctant to go the Lantus route again. My gut tells me he'd be a bouncer on Lantus and dosing in tiny fractions is a lot harder with it being a U100 insulin. Still leaving the Lantus idea on my back burner.

I've been giving Teasel ProZinc since the beginning of April last year but only came here to FDMB in mid-August. He still bounces, is still unregulated, but has better numbers over all. I have a MUCH better understanding of what's going on with him. He might never be properly regulated - he's that kind of cat. Remission isn't even on my radar. My goal is to keep doing what I'm doing to get his numbers into yellows, blues and maybe good greens as much as possible. I certainly haven't given up on him, I'm just being realistic. I find it much easier to go forward calmly day by day in this sugar dance if I don't set high expectations. :)
 
I gave smoky his lunch and a meat snack. He was eating his low carbs food about 30 minutes ago. Shld I test him again anyway? I do have FF gravy lovers food on hand, shld I test first or just give him some of the gravy now? His last test was 1 hour and 45 minutes ago.
 
I gave smoky his lunch and a meat snack. He was eating his low carbs food about 30 minutes ago. Shld I test him again anyway? I do have FF gravy lovers food on hand, shld I test first or just give him some of the gravy now? His last test was 1 hour and 45 minutes ago.
I'd say test him now to see if the food you gave him is having a positive effect on BG. If it is, no need for the gravy right now.
 
83 at +6 hours. Shld I give gravy food?
I will give him a little of the HC food.
When shld I check him again?
 
Last edited:
83 at +6 hours. Shld I give gravy food?
Hard to say. That's actually a nice green but you don't know if his nadir has been reached or not. I think you should give him a teaspoon or so of gravy from the gravy food. It won't fill him up much if his appetite isn't what it should be. His regular food might fill him up and then he won't want to eat more if you have to continue steering. Retest in 20 or 30 minutes.
 
I gave him about 2 teaspoons of the gravy and will check him again soon. He ate about a teaspoon and a half of the gravy. He also ate a half ounce of his regular food an hour ago.
 
"I just updated my SS from earlier. Smoky was 108 at +7 which was one hour after I gave him some HC gravy food."

Just saw this on the other thread. I think he'll be OK. Maybe check in an hour or two?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top