Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 3

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think I will try 1.75 u for pm depending on if he has a similar PMPS as last night.
He was pretty hungry this morning and ate two 3 oz cans of FF for his breakfast.
 
Smoky PMPS 264, may be influenced by food. I left a small amount in his bowl and went to the store for an hour. I cld have texted my roommate to pick up his bowl had I known it was down. I don't have any idea if he ate some food or not. I cld not have picked a worse time to do this.:banghead: I'm still thinking about giving him the 1.75u since I don't know how much food played a role in his higher BG.
 
Yeah I think that would be fine. If he ate some it could have caused those numbers.

Don't beat yourself up...it happens. We've ALL done that.
 
Smoky was 166 for AMPS, a nice blue but I'm not sure what is a safe dose to give him for am. Maybe 1 unit? I can't do a midday test today.
 
I thought about giving him 1.5 u but decided on 1u since I can't be there. I'm still trying to decide on my no shot dose, was thinking if it's under 140.
 
I thought about giving him 1.5 u but decided on 1u since I can't be there. I'm still trying to decide on my no shot dose, was thinking if it's under 140.
The no shot BG cut off point is tricky, especially when you can't be around to monitor. If monitoring is possible it's better to do the stall thing and/or token dose. My personal guideline for a token dose is 30 - 50% of the regular dose at that time. However, I'm able to monitor.

The main goal is always safety so it has to guide dosing decisions. I know you know this. :) Good to be thinking about this, though, because Mr. Smoky is doing extremely well!
 
My current vet doesn't think that Smoky has much of a chance to go into remission since he is an older cat. I have more faith in my boy than that.
 
I'll be starting a new thread on Thursday as this part is getting a little long. It's on to part 4 tomorrow. I gave 1 unit for am but think I need to give either 1.5u or 1.75u tonight. Smoky was 294 for PMPS. Is going from 1 unit to 1.75 too much of a jump in dose? Any suggestions wld be appreciated.:)
I have about 20 minutes before shot time.
 
Smoky is a little higher than last night so am thinking 1.75u wld be good. I am home from work tomorrow to keep an eye on him.
 
Good idea. I think maybe a +4 and +8 would be good. He has been growling at me here and there so he is stressed from all the testing. He only does it when I am testing him.
 
Good idea. I think maybe a +4 and +8 would be good. He has been growling at me here and there so he is stressed from all the testing. He only does it when I am testing him.
I know it can be annoying to them sometimes. It's what keeps him safe though. Do you give a treat with each test?
 
Yep I give him turkey meat. He doesn't like most freeze dried snacks. I bought him some orijen treats to try but waiting to get them
 
I'll start part 4 after I wake up a little bito_O Smoky was nearly the same for am as pm last night. I don't know if pm dose was too much or not. AMPS was 282 and last night was 294. It's a bit higher this morning than last several days. I'm trying to decide what dose to give for am.

Just to use as a reference point for am:
Relion: 282
AT2: 379
 
Is it normal to up the dose by that much?
1.75 to 2.25?
You can do that especially when you're there to monitor. You have lots of data that shows Smoky isn't really a bouncy cat. As for higher numbers, he had two AM no shots in a row on 12/26 and 12/27 plus a low dose of 1 u for AM yesterday. He's had a fair bit less insulin the last three days.
 
That's true, he did not really have a lot of insulin lately. His appetite is really good and he us gaining weight. Darn, I was getting used to those lower numbers.:smuggrin:
It's time for his am shot.;)
 
I gave him 2.1u for am, I'll check him a few times today to see how low he is dropping. I need to pick up more syringes with half unit markings on them later.
I didn't sleep well last night so was too tired to eyeball the 2.25u this morning.
I'm setting my alarm for a few hours from now to get a +4 test in there.:D
 
That's true, he did not really have a lot of insulin lately. His appetite is really good and he us gaining weight. Darn, I was getting used to those lower numbers.:smuggrin:
It's time for his am shot.;)
Those numbers will be back, Lisa. He's responding very well to the I'm very glad he has a good appetite and is gaining weight.
 
Last edited:
I gave him 2.1u for am, I'll check him a few times today to see how low he is dropping. I need to pick up more syringes with half unit markings on them later.
I didn't sleep well last night so was too tired to eyeball the 2.25u this morning.
I'm setting my alarm for a few hours from now to get a +4 test in there.:D
Are you still using U40 syringes, Lisa? I highly recommend that you try U100 syringes with the conversion table so that you can split Smoky's doses into small fractions without doing so much eyeballing. It's much easier to do than you might be thinking and I'm here to help. :) You'll probably get into lower dose territory soon and these syringes would be very helpful. You can get them at Walmart for a low price. Just make sure they're o.30 cc/mL with half unit marks on them in whatever gauge you like.
 
Last edited:
Smoky- BG at 145 at +4 on 2.1 units.
I still have a whole box of u40 syringes in whole units and a box of same in half units that came in mail today. I wanted to use those first. They don't have u100 syringes in Walmart by me in half unit markings. I would have to order them online.
 
Smoky- BG at 145 at +4 on 2.1 units.
I still have a whole box of u40 syringes in whole units and a box of same in half units that came in mail today. I wanted to use those first. They don't have u100 syringes in Walmart by me in half unit markings. I would have to order them online.
You might was well use what you have then. So far so good with BG.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top