? Switching from vetsulin to prozinc- Part 2

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just took one at 9.5 and it was 91. I'm getting a little worried. He was very hungry and is eating his dinner now
You still have 2.5 hours until his PMPS. That number will be the guide for dosing him. I'll have to be away from my computer then. Are you comfortable figuring out a token dose based on the experience of the last two evenings?
 
You gave him 2 u on 137 yesterday. You could try 1 u if he gets close to that or opt for no dose and pick up the slack tomorrow. Your choices have to be conservative because you can't test at lunch time tomorrow. Safety is the number 1 priority. I don't think you'll need high carb food.
 
I think I'll be alright. At what number would I not give a shot though?
For this situation (new data at good BGs, can't test in the night) how about anything below 137? I say that because you have data for 137 and a 2 u dose. Ultimately it's whatever you're comfortable with.
 
Hi Kris,
I know you are away from your computer at this time. I just wanted to give an update for smoky. He was 121 for PMPS, I can't monitor him tomorrow if I give pm shot and he does a repeat of today. I feel more comfortable skipping his shot tonight and wait and see what dose he may need in the morning.
 
Not Kris. But this sounds like a good plan. Tomorrow, I would probably still reduce a little in hopes of getting two shootable pre shots per cycle. Maybe try a skinny 3.5 or 3.25?
 
OK so AMPS was 396 which I guess is not bad considering he had no insulin last night. PMPS was 284, a high yellow but still a yellow. I'm thinking it would be safe to give him 3.25 again since the 3 units didn't drop him down too low. Anyone have any thoughts on that?
 
OK so AMPS was 396 which I guess is not bad considering he had no insulin last night. PMPS was 284, a high yellow but still a yellow. I'm thinking it would be safe to give him 3.25 again since the 3 units didn't drop him down too low. Anyone have any thoughts on that?
Just getting home now. I agree with Sue.
 
So much for the before bed test. That little stinker got up on the countertop and knocked the can of cat food onto the floor. The lid popped off and he was sitting there eating the food off the floor. The funny thing is that he is not really hungry. I have never seen him up on the kitchen counter and he usually just sits and waits for his food.
 
He migjht have just been feeling peckish....or justvreally likes that flavor and couldn't wait!
 
Smoky AMPS was 151, a nice blue number. Here we go again, got up late so can't stall this morning. I gave him 3.25 last night so I'm trying to figure out a safe dose for am. I'm thinking 2 might be OK or too much maybe?
 
I looked over smokys SS pattern, looks like he might be safe with 1.5 units for am. I don't want to skip shot and not have high enough numbers to shoot for pm.
 
Just getting here. Your boy is doing really well. Yes, try the 1.5 u as you did for a token dose a few nights ago. You're getting to be a pro at making dosing decisions.

Little stinker is up on the counter because he's feeling better and has a streak of mischief in him! :D
 
Just getting here. Your boy is doing really well. Yes, try the 1.5 u as you did for a token dose a few nights ago. You're getting to be a pro at making dosing decisions.

Little stinker is up on the counter because he's feeling better and has a streak of mischief in him! :D
He has been hanging out with me more often instead of hiding or laying in his bed all the time.
 
I thought I would test Smoky on relion and AT2 using the same drop of blood. I don't normally compare readings between the two, just was curious about the gap in between them. I was surprised by the numbers though:
PMPS: 344- Relion
377- AT2
I am still making dosing decisions by my relion meter. I thought about backtracking a little and going back to the 3 unit dose. Anyone have any advice for me?
 
Hi Lisa,

I was just out at a little Christmas get-together. I'm glad Sue was around to give you her input. Your dose of 1.5 u kept him safe today. That's why he's pink tonight.
 
Hope you had a great time out Kris.
I heard that human meters read a great deal lower than pet meters. I thought there would be a huge difference between the Relion and AT2 in BG numbers.
 
Hope you had a great time out Kris.
I heard that human meters read a great deal lower than pet meters. I thought there would be a huge difference between the Relion and AT2 in BG numbers.
The difference between the two is variable. Some people say it's less at low numbers and more at higher numbers. Your best bet is to stick with the ReliOn and use the AT2 for curves when the vet wants them. Are you still using the vet who insists on the AT meter?
 
The difference between the two is variable. Some people say it's less at low numbers and more at higher numbers. Your best bet is to stick with the ReliOn and use the AT2 for curves when the vet wants them. Are you still using the vet who insists on the AT meter?
I am still at the vet for cat clinic right now but have talked to a few other vets near me. The vets I spoke to are also big on using the AT2 meter for curves.
 
I am still at the vet for cat clinic right now but have talked to a few other vets near me. The vets I spoke to are also big on using the AT2 meter for curves.
Most vets are. Oh well, you have an AT meter and can oblige them. The rest of the time you can use your ReliOn.
 
I actually like the AT2 better but could not afford the strips all the time.
Totally agree. That's why I use Freestyle Lite strips in my AT2 meter. They're made by the same manufacturer as the AT strips and are absolutely identical in every respect except that the AT strips undergo special batch testing to ensure that they give a correct reading when used in the AT meter set at a certain cat code. The FS strips read quite close to the same number as the AT strips and are about half the price, maybe less.
 
My friend who bought me the starter kit for the AT2 also gave me a box of 50 FS lite test strips. It's good to know they cost less although still more than Relion strips are. It's past my bedtime so I will have to wait and see how my boy is doing in the morning.
 
Smoky: AMPS: 206.
I've noticed that Smoky is higher numbers in am or pm but not both. Is that normal for FD kitties and can you give different doses am and pm due to that? I thought I would give him 2.25 for am?
 
Last edited:
Smoky: AMPS: 206.
I've noticed that Smoky is higher numbers in am or pm but not both. Is that normal for FD kitties and can you give different doses am and pm due to that? I thought I would give him 2.25 for am?
Yes, this difference in AM and PM numbers can happen. Many people end up using "sliding scale" dosing where you give a different dose based on the BG. That's what Sue was referring to yesterday when she suggested 3.25 u for the pinks and 3 u for the yellows. You have to have enough data accumulated to decide on what to give because it's based on past experiences with a certain dose and what it did to BG. You also need a kitty who responds fairly consistently. I think Smoky is one of those kitties. If you decide you want to try this you can post here for advice as you've been doing. I don't do this with Teasel because he's too unpredictable.

I see you gave 2.25 u this AM. He'll be safe on that dose and you'll have more data to help you decide about sliding scale dosing.
 
I would rather give him the same dose each time instead of having to figure out what dose each time. I want him to be safe though when I can't be there to watch him. it's a catch 22 situation. Plus, I would think most vets would flip out over me changing his dose all the time.
How often should a cat be taken in to have bloodwork done? My current vet wants to do that every few months which could get expensive for me.
 
I would rather give him the same dose each time instead of having to figure out what dose each time. I want him to be safe though when I can't be there to watch him. it's a catch 22 situation. Plus, I would think most vets would flip out over me changing his dose all the time.
How often should a cat be taken in to have bloodwork done? My current vet wants to do that every few months which could get expensive for me.
You have to do what you're comfortable with. Having said that, you've already done some dose changing in response to Smoky's BG when you had to lower it because of a surprise BG number. He's responding well to ProZinc and I think the effective dose will get lower over time. Just keep filling in your SS and posting here for an opinion. :)

As for how often to get blood work done, I think it depends on how Smoky is doing. My vet has recommended every 6 months for Teasel. Maybe once after 3 months for Smoky because he had a hard time earlier on and then after 6 months if all goes well? Could your budget handle that?
 
Re the nighttime/daytime differences - some cats just run lower one cycle than the other. It could be the difference in food/activity/stress - who knows? But it's pretty common. If you just think of it as lowering the dose when the preshot test is lower than normal, your vet might be on board?
 
You have to do what you're comfortable with. Having said that, you've already done some dose changing in response to Smoky's BG when you had to lower it because of a surprise BG number. He's responding well to ProZinc and I think the effective dose will get lower over time. Just keep filling in your SS and posting here for an opinion. :)

As for how often to get blood work done, I think it depends on how Smoky is doing. My vet has recommended every 6 months for Teasel. Maybe once after 3 months for Smoky because he had a hard time earlier on and then after 6 months if all goes well? Could your budget handle that?
I think my budget can handle twice a year for bloodwork.:)
 
Smoky was 206 AMPS, gave 2.25 units
PMPS was 215 and gave him 2.5 units
I hope that is not too much of a dose increase at one time. On the other hand, I think it's good that his am and pm BG were so close to each other.
 
Last edited:
Smoky was 206 AMPS, gave 2.25 units
PMPS was 215 and have him 2.5 units
I hope that is not too much of a dose increase at one time. On the other hand, I think it's good that his am and pm BG were so close to each other.
Wow! Looking great, Lisa! You're right, similar AM and PM PSs are what we like to see.
 
BTW, what is the shelf life for prozinc?
Smoky started his on Nov 23 so it's been about three weeks. I've used about 60% of the vial so far. It's $120 a bottle here in PA.
 
BTW, what is the shelf life for prozinc?
Smoky started his on Nov 23 so it's been about three weeks. I've used about 60% of the vial so far. It's $120 a bottle here in PA.
If it's stored and handled properly most people find they can use the whole vial. How long that takes depends on your kitty's dose size of course. I get about 2 months out of a vial but never use it to the last drop. I read a hint on here somewhere a long time ago that you should reserve the last little bit in a vial in case you accidentally drop and break the new vial. This gives you a small emergency supply to have on hand until you can replace the broken vial. I thought that was a good idea so I've been doing that.

Another thing I do as a safeguard is to only start a new vial on a day when I can monitor just in case it's a bit more potent than the old one. So far, I haven't seen any drastic differences but better safe than sorry.
 
I did the same thing with Smoky, started him on insulin on a Monday when I was home. I know vetsulin says 6 weeks usage out of a vial. I think that's a great idea about saving the last of the old bottle. I kept the vetsulin in fridge when I got the prozinc. I probably shld throw out that vial now.;)
 
Looks like the 2.5 u last night was a good choice. Are you giving 2.5 u again this AM? Can you do a lunchtime test to see how low he goes? Being able to get lower BGs on a lower dose is a really good sign. The ProZinc certainly agrees with him. :)
 
I gave him a dose halfway between 2.5 and 2.75 units in am. I have meetings today so can't go home for lunch. I can run home tomorrow for lunch.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top