Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 13

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok my brain wasn't working so well on re-defining the ranges today so I took the lazy way for now lol. Smoky's new SS is linked within the one in your signature :D
 
April 26: Smoky BG at 259 for AMPS, 0.8U
123 for PMPS
I guess I shld have given him 0.5 units for am shot:confused: he is too low for a shot, right?
 
If the 123 was a weird number for him, you could maybe try to shoot, but given that his normal numbers are so low, and the 259 might have been a bounce from .5u being too much the night before, and 123 is only 3 away from being a non-diabetic normal number....I would say no shot.
 
Immediately retest? I think I got a wonky strip tonight so retested immediately :)

You could retest if you want, but 123 is certainly within Smoky's normal numbers these days. He's had quite a few NS's lately.
 
I tested him a little over 13 hours since his last shot. His vet suggested skipping his shot tonight and not giving him the budesonide just to see where he is at in the morning. Good idea or not?
 
You have skipped on 19, 21, and 22 April with similar numbers. BUT have also give 0.5U on a similar number 24 April. Could go for middle ground and just do 0.25U with a before bed test? Or what Kris suggested :)
 
I thought about giving him a tiny dose but decided not to give him a shot tonight. I'm working early tomorrow morning so can't monitor him tonight. I don't want to set him back but wanted to see how he does without insulin or a steroid tonight. Does that make any sense at all?o_O
 
Smoky BG at 215 for AMPS. I don't think it's too bad since it was 23 hours w/o insulin and no steroid last night. I'm thinking 1 to 1.5 units since I gave that on a similar number before. Is that too much considering his recent possible bounce?
 
Honestly, Lisa, if it was me, I think I would go for 0.5 this morning. I know it's 23 hours with no insulin, but yesterday you had a higher yellow, gave 0.8, and ended up with a NS. Plus that's a beautiful preshot on no insulin. I would assume today would follow a similar pattern and I don't want to see you end up without being able to shoot again tonight.

HOWEVER, that's just my opinion. There is also the possibility that I could be completely wrong. It's totally up to you, as you hold the syringe!
 
If you're felling conservative, go with 0.5 u. If you're feeling braver (wrt being able to shoot tonight), try 0.8 u. My two cents ...
 
Smokys pm BG was 142, nearly the same as Tues night. My question is do I give him the same dose of 0.5 units? He did have a much higher number the next morning which could have been a possible bounce? Also, I'm giving him his steroid tonight which always raises his BG.
 
On 20 and 24 April he was in same range, only went slightly higher from PMPS. Maybe try a fat 0.5U with a before bed test? Tuesday night may have been a small bounce.
 
Smoky was 117 BG in am so it was a NS morning. I'm surprised considering I gave him the budesonide last night. I seem to be having trouble finding a dose that doesn't stop him from going too low so that I can give him a shot. He is been too low to get a shot the last few times
 
Go Smoky!!! I'm jealous of all of your NS days!

Maybe try 0.4? And as always, any mid-cycles you can get (as you run out the door in the morning? before bed?) might help. Also, I wouldn't try to adjust the dose for the pre-shot numbers on this low of a dose. Just try to hold it steady, and then give NS if he's too low.
 
Go Smoky!!! I'm jealous of all of your NS days!

Maybe try 0.4? And as always, any mid-cycles you can get (as you run out the door in the morning? before bed?) might help. Also, I wouldn't try to adjust the dose for the pre-shot numbers on this low of a dose. Just try to hold it steady, and then give NS if he's too low.
I like this idea of holding the dose at these low PSs.
 
Lisa, I just saw your post over in the main forum. I'm so sorry to hear that Smoky isn't feeling well! Just looking at his numbers I was hoping the weight would start piling back on. I don't have any suggestions that you aren't already doing, I just wanted to send you some love and healing vines...
 
I know you've been doing everything you can to help him. I wonder if something like a digestive enzyme supplement might help?
 
He has not been eating that much lately.
I struggle with getting him to eat even 3 small cans of food per day this past week. He barely comes out of my closet now. He comes out for food, water, and cat box and the right back to the closet. He was out laying on the bed and in the windows a week ago.
 
Last edited:
I'm exhausted tonight and need to go to bed soon. I barely slept at all worrying about my boy last night. I work tomorrow and hate leaving him alone all day.
 
I hate it too. I've had a couple days of what it will taste like when I start working a full-time job. I asked my mum to stop by this afternoon to check on Maury for me because he was acting funny. Numbers are / were normal so I think he just wanted attention. I know I can't always ask her to do that though :oops:. I didn't ask on Tuesday though :D
 
He has not been eating that much lately.
I struggle with getting him to eat even 3 small cans of food per day this past week. He barely comes out of my closet now. He comes out for food, water, and cat box and the right back to the closet. He was out laying on the bed and in the windows a week ago.
Is a vet check something to consider at this point?
 
Definitely get yourself some rest, Lisa. I know it's tough, but you need sleep to help you stay calm for Smoky. And you'll feel better with some rest too!
 
I felt bad for my boy tonight. He was laying on the bed with me again and looked pretty comfy. I had to disturb him to test his BG and give him a pm shot.:(
After that he went back and hid in the closet again.:confused:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top