Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 12

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think I will give him the 0.5U dose tonight. I'm not able to stay up really late with him. I just want to make sure he will be safe. How can you tell when your kitty's pancreas are working a little bit on their own? I hope that doesn't sound stupid of me to ask.:rolleyes:
 
I think I will give him the 0.5U dose tonight. I'm not able to stay up really late with him. I just want to make sure he will be safe. How can you tell when your kitty's pancreas are working a little bit on their own? I hope that doesn't sound stupid of me to ask.:rolleyes:
Not stupid at all but I can't answer it because I'm quite sure Teasel has no pancreas anymore ... o_O;)
 
All of our kitties are getting a little insulin from their pancreases. When you start to be able to lower the dose, that indicates that the pancreas is able to help better now than it was before. Whether that healing continues or not is a mystery...at least until the numbers are consistently low enough to no longer need insulin.

Exceptions to that would be a cat who has had his pancreas removed, or cancer, or other extreme things where the pancreas really has just stopped altogether. But for the most part, the pancreas is helping, just not enough.
 
Smoky BG at 119 for PMPS so it's a NS for tonight. The problem is that he has to take budesonide at night which always raises his BG a bit. I'm thinking about trying a 11/13 or is it a 13/11 schedule? I'll have to go back and read the stickies on that one.
I don't want to keep having to skip a dose at night. What to do?
 
I gave him 0.5 units this morning. I'm a little puzzled about his low number tonight. I thought giving him less wld give me a shootable number tonight.
 
I did notice that he is not having to eat as much to be full now as he was. He was eating up to 8 cans of FF daily not that long ago
 
I thought giving him less would give you a shootable number, too. I think you're going to have to just monitor and adjust for awhile now. Today might just be a weird little blip, or it could indicate that he's not needing as much insulin.

How much is he eating now? How is his weight?
 
On a tech note: I'm not sure what to say about the spreadsheet. If you duplicate the page, it brings all the data with it, so you'd have to clear it all out. I don't know why your page ran out of formatted lines. Maybe someone else can help out on that....?
 
Oh, wait! You can use the "template" tab at the bottom of your page, select a bunch of new lines, click ctrl+c, go to your regular page, click on a cell where you want to insert the new lines, and click ctrl+v.....I think that will work.
 
OK thanks I'll try that out for the SS.
He eats anywhere from 4 or 5 cans daily instead of 8 or 9 cans. Some days he eats a lot but the last week he has been eating less.
 
If you want to try the 11/13 schedule, it doesn't matter which way you flip it, both work, but in your case, you would want to go 13 hours between the AM dose and the PM dose, and 11 hours between the PM dose and the AM dose. That gives him more time to rise in the evening before you need to shoot, and maybe get him up to a shootable number. You could also just keep at the 12/12 and see what happens tomorrow. He seems to be going every-other-day on the evening shots :confused:
 
OK thanks I'll try that out for the SS.
He eats anywhere from 4 or 5 cans daily instead of 8 or 9 cans. Some days he eats a lot but the last week he has been eating less.
Eating less might be because of better BG control. If you want to try 13/11, you'd wait until +13 to give the PM dose. That gives more time for the BG to rise. The night cycle is then 11 hours long so you're dosing in the AM before the BG has risen to where it is on a 12/12 schedule. Make sense?
 
OK thanks I'll try that out for the SS.
He eats anywhere from 4 or 5 cans daily instead of 8 or 9 cans. Some days he eats a lot but the last week he has been eating less.
Maury started doing the same thing when we started those Yellow PS numbers. I think he's finally not starving :). I'm going to request permission to edit your SS to help, if you want. :)
 
You should be set til end of the year now :).

I kicked myself off from editing now. If you need help again, I'll just request again :D
 
Thank you :). I always hate having to call Marje but since she's on vacation I wanted to help. I don't know if there is a proper protocol for helping :bookworm:
 
Reading through everyone's week, and wow! Congrats on some good numbers with Smoky! Yay blue!
I love seeing the advice given to other people! I'm reading through this and thinking maybe I should do a 11/13 on Frank. 13 between PM and AM and 11 from AM to PM. Hmmm. Another thing to think about!
 
Eating less might be because of better BG control. If you want to try 13/11, you'd wait until +13 to give the PM dose. That gives more time for the BG to rise. The night cycle is then 11 hours long so you're dosing in the AM before the BG has risen to where it is on a 12/12 schedule. Make sense?
Yep. Thanks Kris. How do I put in a +13 on the SS?
 
You don't have to change the SS for the 11/13 or 13/11 schedule. Just add a note when you start that schedule and add to signature :). If you would prefer to have on setup for 13/11, I might be able to whip you something up. Would put on separate SS and then could always merge it into usual SS without messing up original one :bookworm:
 
I'm not sure what's going on with Smoky. He acts really hungry but doesn't eat as much as he has been lately. I'm not sure if it's due to better BG numbers as Kris stated or if he's nauseous. I noticed that he has been hanging his head over the water bowl lately. Maybe I should give him the cerenia for a few days
 
I'm not sure what's going on with Smoky. He acts really hungry but doesn't eat as much as he has been lately. I'm not sure if it's due to better BG numbers as Kris stated or if he's nauseous. I noticed that he has been hanging his head over the water bowl lately. Maybe I should give him the cerenia for a few days
Won't hurt to try that, Lisa. His PSs have been great lately.
 
He has been drinking more water than usual. He just hangs out by the water bowl for hours and sips the water slowly.
I thought maybe a flare up of the pancreatitis? How do I tell if it's from that or his IBD?
 
I don't know enough about IBD or pancreatitis to help with that, I just wanted to say I'm sorry Smoky isn't feeling well today! And also, are you able to get a mid-cycle today?
 
I'm working today so can't get in a mid cycle test. My roommate is home and knows how to treat a hypo. She won't test his BG or give him shots though. She would just call me or take him to vet if needed.
 
The weird thing is that he was purring up a storm this morning and doesn't seem ill. The only sign out of the ordinary seems to be him drinking water so slowly. Oh wait, he has been spending a lot of time in a box of blankets in my closet. I heard that kitties hide like that when feeling ill.
 
The weird thing is that he was purring up a storm this morning and doesn't seem ill. The only sign out of the ordinary seems to be him drinking water so slowly. Oh wait, he has been spending a lot of time in a box of blankets in my closet. I heard that kitties hide like that when feeling ill.
They can also purr more when when they don't feel well. Given his history, I'd assume it's a flare of something and get some helping meds on board soon.
 
Healing vines for Smoky
vibes.gif
:cat:
 
April 22, Smoky PMPS at 109! I'm thinking maybe I shld try the 11/13 dosing schedule. I could kick myself for not giving him a reduced dose in am.:banghead: He might have had a shootable BG for tonight. I gave him some bupe about 5:45 pm eastern time, so a little over 2 hours ago. I just fed him so am wondering if I shld retest in an hour and see if has a high enough BG to shoot. Or just call it as a no shot for tonight.
 
I thought 0.5 or 1 unit for am depending on his BG of course. The bupe is making him sleepy so he is curled up in his bed right now.
 

Attachments

  • 1492906980627-571150829.jpg
    1492906980627-571150829.jpg
    50.7 KB · Views: 143
I don't know why, but I've never had any luck with the stalling thing. It definitely seems like that AM dose needs to be lower right now. Smoky's giving you some pretty exciting numbers these days! Fingers crossed he keeps it up!
 
March 23, Smoky BG at 161 for am.
I think I should give a reduced dose so maybe 1 unit. I can grab a few tests today to see where that takes him
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top