Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 12

Status
Not open for further replies.
So, first disclaimer: If you look at my spreadsheet, you'll see that I've never done a full, official curve. I test every two-three hours until he rises, and then I stop. So with that confession aside...I also just test through the snacks. Both of my kitties free feed, so rarely take more than a few bites at a time. So since they aren't eating a full can of food, that might be a factor, but I don't make them wait two hours without food for each step of the curve. I just let them eat like normal, and test at whatever intervals I want without worrying about the two hour fasting window. The only time I enforce that is right before the pre-shot tests. So all that to say, I think you can probably just keep going with your curve (if you want to), and not worry too much about the snack he just had.
 
What I usually do since he eats every few hours anyway is feed him, wait 2 hrs and test him, give him a snack, wait until he finishes that. I then wait 2 hours from then to test again. As a result I usually end the curve around +10. I end up waiting for him to eat and it moves the time up and I don't want to have to give his shot late. Does any of that make any sense? Smoky is severely underweight so I have to feed him a lot of food and it can take him a long time to eat it at times.
 
OK, I'm thoroughly puzzled now. My AT2 meter seems to out of whack today. I did a complete reset on it and checked test strips and even tried a different battery.
I did a +3 test and the reading I got was 168 on the AT2 and 132 on the Relion.
I gave him 0.5 units in am. The weird thing is his BG numbers so far today.

AMPS: 135- AT2. +3 test: 168
AMPS: 199- Relion. +3 test: 132

Does anyone else think that it's odd that his BG seems to be climbing with AT2 meter but dropping with the Relion? Just a note to add: I used the same blood drop for the +3 test.
 
Difficult to say because with AT2 AMPS: 108 -162 +3 test: 134 - 201
ReliOn AMPS: 159 - 238 +3 test: 106 -158

I wouldn't try to read too much into them :) Theoretically it could be a flatter cycle than it looks ;)
 
I'm just wondering if the AT2 meter is working right. He doesn't have much of an appetite today. He usually eats at least 6 cans of FF per day. I might have to give him some meds to help with nausea and appetite.
 
You have a control solution for AT2? For the record, my ReliOn and AT2 use same battery CR2032 :). And my Aleve Pain therapy tens unit! lol
 
I did run a control test on the AT2 and it came back within range. However, the control solution I have is old, 12/1/16
Both of mine use the same battery as well. I tried swapping them but got the same results
 
What I don't get is why the numbers on the AT2 keep going up while the Relion meter shows him still dropping at +5.
Unless he dropped really low by +2 and then his BG started rising by +3 already.
 
This is a mystery but I'm not sure it isn't down to the large variations occurring naturally as well as 20% meter variance. You might as well finish the dual curves to see how it plays out.
 
I came home from running errands to get in a +9.5 I picked up his food bowl upstairs but forgot the one downstairs. It was completely empty.:confused: the last test I did today was at +7.5 hours. I'll check him with both meters at PMPS and see what readings I get.
 
Updated Smokys SS,
PMPS- 246( AT2)
PMPS- 157(R)

I think I'm supposed to dose by the AT2 meter reading, right,? So that might be 1.6 or 1.8 units?
 
The Relion meter read 157 and I gave him 1.6 units. He's still not eating much so I gave him some pro plan true nature beef and liver in gravy. It's 6% carbs.He seems to really love it. I'm a little worried about him going too low on the 1.6 unit dose
 
Ugh....I hate that feeling when you give a dose and then wish you could take some of it back!

There's a gravy food with only 6% carbs?!?! I might have to go get some of that!
 
I got that food from Dr Pierson's newly updated list. I found the link to it on Main Health forum. He was 115 at +3 but the steroid I give him for the IBD usually raises his BG a bit overnight. I also left him a half can of food in his timed feeder for overnight.
 
Ugh....I hate that feeling when you give a dose and then wish you could take some of it back!

There's a gravy food with only 6% carbs?!?! I might have to go get some of that!
Or when you give a dose and wish you had given a little more :blackeye:. ProPlan true nature beef and liver in gravy, is this a pate? I'm feeling lazy so I am just asking you instead of looking up LOL
 
It's not a pate, more like a stew.
It reminds me of weruva which he won't eat by the way. He loved the weruva for weeks and now he won't touch it.
 
I think 0.5 would be fine. As you say, you gave that a few nights ago and all was well...and he gave you a nice green that night!
 
Always go with safety when you know you can't stay up to monitor. That way, you can sleep soundly knowing he is safe. :)
 
Just a thought I had, should I be aiming for green preshot numbers? Or should I try to give a dose that allows for a high enough BG to be able to give insulin?
 
This is just a theory...but I wonder what would happen if you lowered the daytime dose a smidge. Four out of the last five evening numbers have been either too low to shoot, or required a significant drop in dose. If you lower the AM dose a little, it might make it so you can give two shots again. That's preferred so that his pancreas isn't sputtering along all alone for 12 hours/day.
 
Just a thought I had, should I be aiming for green preshot numbers? Or should I try to give a dose that allows for a high enough BG to be able to give insulin?

In the short-term, you want two shootable numbers. In the long-term, you want pre-shots between 50-120 on a human meter, 68-150 on AT2. Those are 'normal' ranges, and indicate that insulin support is no longer needed. But as long as he needs insulin, the goal is two shots/day so his body isn't stressed half the day. Sometimes you can do that by adjusting one of the doses down a little. Sometimes you can do it by switching to an 11/13 schedule, and sometimes you can't do it because the numbers get all wonky and you just have to do the best you can.
 
Smoky BG at 176 for am test. Trying to decide dose so he has a shootable number tonight. I thought a reduced dose of 1.5 units might work. Anyone have any thoughts or suggestions for me?
 
Hmmm...well it looks like you gave 1.6 on that same number 2 days ago and it got you a shootable, but lower than normal, preshot. Then yesterday, 1.8 got you an even lower and not shootable preshot. 1.5 might work...I'd be inclined to go 1.4 and see if that worked. I know I know, 1.5 and 1.4 are basically the same, but it just feels good to me lol. Of course, I have no idea if that will really work. Lowering the dose is harder than raising it and you kind of have to guess. If that doesn't work, you could go lower again tomorrow.
 
1.4 or 1.5 both seem like good things to try. So whichever feels better to you (although at this point, maybe you already shot anyway?).

That's not a bad pre-shot after a night of no insulin!
 
Smoky PMPS was 135. I would imagine it might have been lower had I not given him a reduced dose. I need to know if 135 is too low to shoot. What dose is a good one for him if not too low to give a shot?
I have about 30 minutes to figure something out. Can anyone help me out here? I'm looking over his SS now.:bookworm:
 
On your 4/16 PM cycle, you shot a .5 on a similar number and it was fine. You might even go with .6 since you still had a fair amount of safe dropping room on that cycle.
 
That being said, a NS is always an option. I hate the 130's. I feel comfortable shooting in the 140s. I don't shoot in the 120's. But those dang 130's are tricky. Definitely grab a before bed test if you shoot anything. And go with what makes you comfortable.

PS I love that you lowered the AM dose and are still just barely shootable tonight. :)
 
I could try the 0.6 unit dose tonight. He does get the budesonide before bed. The steroid does raise his BG a bit. I think sometimes that it also may even prevent him from dropping too low.
 
Wow! I gotta say Smoky is surely impressing me these days! I do think you could do a 0.5 or 0.6 as either would probably be safe with the budenoside on board. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top