Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 12

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Smoky

Member Since 2016
Onward to another chapter: Part 12. I'm in newer territory tonight with Smoky. PMPS was 120, this was 12.5 hours after his am shot.
I need some suggestions or ideas on a dose for him tonight.
 
26 March PMPS 131 NS and +4 197
13 March PMPS with AT2 116 NS and +2.5 295
Since this is a PM cycle, I only looked at your other lower PMs. If it were me, I think Smoky would be OK with 0.25U, just to get a little bit in him. Can you get some additional tests tonight? At least 1 before bed?
 
If not, the next step is to stall for about 20 minutes without feeding. So then the question is...did you feed him yet?
 
This doesn't happen very often....but I'm going to respectfully disagree with Yong. I wouldn't shoot a 120. If you can't stall and re-test, I would skip.
 
That's OK too :). Can you try to get another test tonight still? To see how he does? It's good data to have and it's how I decided on my opinion, not professional advice in any way :cat:
 
I just worked a 12 hour shift so am too exhausted to stay up and monitor him tonight. I'll be giving his budesonide before bed, that usually brings up his BG a bit anyway.
 
In the interest of peer review (I think different opinions are part of what makes this such a wise place), here is my thinking on the skip: We don't have any data from the evening cycle's nadir. Also, 120 is in the range of a normal, non-diabetic cat.

If you wanted to stay up and monitor, it might be okay to give a small dose, but I don't think it would be worth it since the data is likely an outlier at this point.
 
OK he threw me for a loop on the holiday.
He was 138 for PMPS so am thinking shld I give insulin or not? I'm doing a curve tomorrow so don't know if I shld skip shot again
 
Ugh. I hate the 130's. I feel like 120's are too low, 140's you can shoot (with a lot of data and experience), but 130's.....grrr.....

Can you get a mid-cycle? If so, then maybe shoot a lower dose. The thing is, you don't want him to hypo tonight because that will throw off the curve. So if starts to go low, you'll need to steer with food and prop him up.
 
Just a quick note to add: Smoky has not eaten anywhere as much as he normally does. He doesn't appear to be sick but only ate 4.5 oz for breakfast, 3 oz for lunch, and maybe 1 oz for dinner so far.
I know that sounds like a lot but he has been eating twice that much daily
 
OK he threw me for a loop on the holiday.
He was 138 for PMPS so am thinking shld I give insulin or not? I'm doing a curve tomorrow so don't know if I shld skip shot again
Back on Jan. 29/17 AM you gave 1 u on a PS of 144 and got a green 58 as your low number. You could try 0.75 u or even 0.5 u if you don't want to get to the 50s tonight.
 
You're right Kris but that was before he started taking the budesonide. The steroid may keep him from dropping too low if I give him 1 unit of insulin tonight
 
So that might account for the low number tonight. What does your gut say? You've got three possible doses: .25, .5, or .75. I think you'd be fine with any of them since you can handle it if he starts to go low, but also last night's no shot didn't seem to throw things too far off. I think you're in the realm of numbers that just require some guessing, hoping, and the skill to handle it (which you have). I know that is absolutely no help at all though.
 
OK I just gave him 0.5U five minutes ago.
When is a good time to do another check?
He barely ate any of his dinner tonight. I fed him about 30 minutes before his shot
 
I assume you're leaving the food out so he can go back and get more if he decides? If you're concerned about him not eating enough, do you have bonito flakes, fortiflora, or treats that you could crush up and add to the top? Maybe entice him to eat a little more?
 
I vote for a +2. That way, you can at least get an idea of it he's going to drop early in the cycle.
 
I assume you're leaving the food out so he can go back and get more if he decides? If you're concerned about him not eating enough, do you have bonito flakes, fortiflora, or treats that you could crush up and add to the top? Maybe entice him to eat a little more?
He doesn't like bonito flakes or fortiflora. He is a very picky cat, picked up his food about 30 minutes ago so I can get in a test later
 
This is a terrible answer, but.....I don't think there's really any way to know without just testing later in the cycle. It does look like he's responding with just a little dose, so that's a good sign. But it could also be from not eating much. Since he's eating now, he may keep himself from going too low. If you're going to go to sleep, can you leave food out for him so he can keep grazing?
 
April 17: Trying to do a curve today with Smoky but am a bit confused. I used the Relion meter and AT2 just for AMPS and PMPS today. I thought the AT2 usually reads a bit higher than the Relion does.
AM reading on Relion at 199, AT2 at 135.
I retested using both meters and got the same results. I'm not sure what to think or which number to give the dose by.
Any ideas?
 
April 17: Trying to do a curve today with Smoky but am a bit confused. I used the Relion meter and AT2 just for AMPS and PMPS today. I thought the AT2 usually reads a bit higher than the Relion does.
AM reading on Relion at 199, AT2 at 135.
I retested using both meters and got the same results. I'm not sure what to think or which number to give the dose by.
Any ideas?
This is puzzling! I suggest using the AT number because you do the curve with your AT meter. Maybe give 0.5 u again and see what happens?
 
Should I just do the curve another day? I haven't done one in a while so kind of didn't want to wait another week. I'm also testing him for ketones since its been a while since I did that.
 
This is puzzling! I suggest using the AT number because you do the curve with your AT meter. Maybe give 0.5 u again and see what happens?
Thanks Kris. I hope my AT2 meter isn't crapping out on me. I was also thinking no more than 0.5 units. He only got down to 98 at +5 last night so that dose seems safe enough to me. Plus he didn't even eat a 3 oz can for breakfast, he has been vomiting a little bit the last few days. I'll have to give him the cerenia for a few days.
 
Thanks Kris. I hope my AT2 meter isn't crapping out on me. I was also thinking no more than 0.5 units. He only got down to 98 at +5 last night so that dose seems safe enough to me.
Do you have a new battery for the AT meter? It should still be OK though - mine has been going strong over a year now.
 
I don't have another battery for it. I bought it at end of Nov last year so it's not really that old yet. I've only used it a few times.
 
Last edited:
Have your test strips for either meter expired? It's probably fine. Someone else on here had the AT2 give them a couple of lower readings too.

I agree that doing the curve is a good idea as long as you're giving insulin.
 
Thanks Kris. Good idea, I'll check it out.
Smoky was negative for ketones but is being a brat about the food this morning. He won't eat the food that is good for his allergies and IBD so just gave him a can of FF. He is eating that now but it will probably mess up the curve a bit since I have to wait for him to eat and then wait 2 hours for next test.:banghead:
 
Have your test strips for either meter expired? It's probably fine. Someone else on here had the AT2 give them a couple of lower readings too.

I agree that doing the curve is a good idea as long as you're giving insulin.
Nope, the strips are pretty new. I'm going to try Kris's idea and see if I can use battery from Relion in AT2 meter for curve today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top