Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 10

Status
Not open for further replies.
He does seem to be a little nauseous I think. He was hanging his head over the water bowl over the weekend. He doesn't hesitate to start eating but hasn't been eating much of his food once he starts eating. How long after a meal should I wait to give him the cerenia?
I'm not sure about that, Lisa. I still have some from a long time ago and the bottle says "orally once daily" and that's all.
It's hard to tell sometimes with him. I haven't given the cerenia to him lately.
I have been trying out some new kinds of food due to food allergies and the IBD over the last two weeks. What symptoms should I be looking for?
Not sure - Teasel's sister has food allergies that show up as crusty spots on her face and the back of her hind legs. They're not itchy and she's fine otherwise.
 
I gave him a 1/4 tab of cerenia right before his lunch so about 2 and a half hours ago. His BG was 108 at +4 hours and I think he may be having a flare up of either pancreatitis or the IBD. I do have bupe I can give him if needed.
He starts to eat and then walks away from his food. I'm getting ready to go out and pick up more food for him. I wanted to test him again at +8 hours but he seems to feel really crappy right now.
 
I think I might have to give Smoky some of the bupe for a few days. He seems to be having a flare up of his pancreatitis right now.
 
Do you think it's from the accidental chicken? Or would that just effect the IBD? I do wish pet foods were better regulated! It's so difficult to be sure we're getting what we think we're getting. I hope Smoky feels better soon!
 
I think I might have to give Smoky some of the bupe for a few days. He seems to be having a flare up of his pancreatitis right now.
I'm sorry he's having a flare, Lisa. It's hard to manage another chronic disease along with FD. Thank heavens he responds well and predictably to insulin.
 
Yep , poor kitty has to deal with a triple whammy. The FD, IBD, and pancreatitis.
He still has really stinky poop which the vet says could be from the IBD, pancreatitis, or both. We have to put a candle in the utility room where there boxes are at. It almost seems as though the food goes right through him as soon as he eats it. I'm having a really hard time seeing him look so sick all the time. He doesn't really ever seem to have a good day anymore.
 
Yep , poor kitty has to deal with a triple whammy. The FD, IBD, and pancreatitis.
He still has really stinky poop which the vet says could be from the IBD, pancreatitis, or both. We have to put a candle in the utility room where there boxes are at. It almost seems as though the food goes right through him as soon as he eats it. I'm having a really hard time seeing him look so sick all the time. He doesn't really ever seem to have a good day anymore.
I'm sorry to read this.
 
Thanks Kris. He does look forward to his meals and treats. He doesn't want to be touched a lot. Is that a sign he may be experiencing discomfort or pain?
 
Thanks Kris. He does look forward to his meals and treats. He doesn't want to be touched a lot. Is that a sign he may be experiencing discomfort or pain?
That sounds like a pain response to me. Does it improve if he's had bupe for a couple of days? Looking forward to meals and treats is a positive. Sometimes we have to grab onto any little positive behaviour. I know he's gained a little weight. That's another positive.
 
Yesterday I came home from work and found Smokys feeder still full of food. He barely ate anything all day. He ate sporadically from then until bedtime.
I gave him both cerenia and bupe Tues and Wed night. He ate enough to get his insulin but just stays in a box of blankets in the bottom of the closet. I'm wondering if I should give him the bupe twice a day to see if he improves or not.
 
Hmmm...maybe. I don't know enough about bupe to know how often you can give it. Does it say? I want to say it's every 8 hours, at which point, you probably could.
 
Smoky was 149 for PMPS but does not have much of an appetite yet. He has 3 pre-filled syringes left of the bupe so will have to call vet about getting more for him. Is it safe to give him 1 unit of insulin tonight? He ate about 3 oz for dinner.
 
Smoky was 149 for PMPS but does not have much of an appetite yet. He has 3 pre-filled syringes left of the bupe so will have to call vet about getting more for him. Is it safe to give him 1 unit of insulin tonight? He ate about 3 oz for dinner.
I see that you decided on a no shot for tonight. He might have been OK with 1 u but it's only one dose. He'll get back on track.
 
I decided on the no shot for tonight due to Smoky eating so little in the last 48 hours.
He is still hiding in the box in the closet so I know he is still feeling crappy. I was up with him until 1:30 am and had to go to work on 4 hours of sleep. I'll be giving him the bupe in a few minutes and then going to bed.
 
Last edited:
I gave Smoky some novel protein wet food to try. Nature's Variety Instinct, one was lamb and the other rabbit. He liked them somewhat but the interesting part was after he used the litter box. It usually stinks so much after he poops that we have to light candles. My roommate told me there was no odor this time. I gave him some FF turkey pate and the odor came back.:confused:
The odd thing was that he usually goes right to the kitty box after eating but didn't do that after eating the NV. Can cats be allergic to FF?:eek:
 
I gave Smoky some novel protein wet food to try. Nature's Variety Instinct, one was lamb and the other rabbit. He liked them somewhat but the interesting part was after he used the litter box. It usually stinks so much after he poops that we have to light candles. My roommate told me there was no odor this time. I gave him some FF turkey pate and the odor came back.:confused:
The odd thing was that he usually goes right to the kitty box after eating but didn't do that after eating the NV. Can cats be allergic to FF?:eek:
I think it 's possible, especially in kitties with sensitive tummies. It can be an intolerance if not a full blown allergy.
 
I think I will give him the same food tomorrow, NV, and see how he does. He was 180 for PMPS and I'm getting ready for his pm shoot. Now, what dose to give tonight?:bookworm: going over his SS.
I'm thinking to just stick with the 1.6U dose for tonight.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top