Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 10

Status
Not open for further replies.
Now I'm starting to worry about all of you in the storm zone! Stay safe and keep us posted! When is it supposed to hit?
 
8 to 9 inches tonight and then around 12 inches tomorrow. They upgraded the storm now, 23 inches between 8 pm tonight to 8 pm tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
You were right Kris, I should have given him a reduced dose.:oops: Smokys BG is at 295 on AT2 meter 14 and a half hours since his last shot. He will be in pinks in the morning and I still need to give him half a dose of the steroid yet.:confused:
 
March 14, Smoky's AMPS was 230 which surprised me. I skipped his shot last night since his PMPS was 116 on AT2 meter and 181 on Relion meter. I found that unusual since the pet meter usually runs higher.
I gave him 1.5 units this morning which I've done before but worried since I am at work today.
 
That's very strange...I've never seen a pet meter lower than a human meter. I don't know enough about the AT to make a stab at why it was lower...but maybe if it does it again check it on yourself to see if it is lower than the human meter on you?
 
March 14, Smoky's AMPS was 230 which surprised me. I skipped his shot last night since his PMPS was 116 on AT2 meter and 181 on Relion meter. I found that unusual since the pet meter usually runs higher.
I gave him 1.5 units this morning which I've done before but worried since I am at work today.
Maybe a wonky AT strip?
 
I made it into work but it will be tricky getting home after work. I'm just glad it will still be daylight when I leave work. I have a 4 wheel drive car and only live a mile from work but you never know.
 
I made it into work but it will be tricky getting home after work. I'm just glad it will still be daylight when I leave work. I have a 4 wheel drive car and only live a mile from work but you never know.
I hate driving in snowstorms even though they're a fact of life here and we have plowing/snow clearing infrastructure galore. I hate freezing rain even more. :mad:
 
We so rarely have snow/ice here that a few years back when we did...well let's just say EVERYONE slept at work. Kids were stuck at school with teachers, the interstate was completely closed down by wrecks, and people were stranded in their cars. Terrible!
 
Smoky BG at 169 for PMPS at 13 hours since am shot. I gave him half a dose of budesonide last night and skipped his shot. His BG was 116 last night. I'm trying to think what is a safe dose to give him for tonight. Maybe 1.5 units or just 1 unit? I'll be giving him his pm shot late today, 13 and a half hours since his morning shot. Is it OK to do that or should I skip his shot tonight? I'll be giving him his regular 1 mL of budesonide as well.
 
Smoky BG at 169 for PMPS at 13 hours since am shot. I gave him half a dose of budesonide last night and skipped his shot. His BG was 116 last night. I'm trying to think what is a safe dose to give him for tonight. Maybe 1.5 units or just 1 unit? I'll be giving him his pm shot late today, 13 and a half hours since his morning shot. Is it OK to do that or should I skip his shot tonight? I'll be giving him his regular 1 mL of budesonide as well.
You've given 1 u in the past on a similar PS numbers. Why not stick with that? I think you should give the shot late rather than skip it. If he's lower tomorrow AM because of it you can dose - or not - accordingly. I think the positive effect of budesonide on his IBD is bringing his numbers down.
 
You've given 1 u in the past on a similar PS numbers. Why not stick with that? I think you should give the shot late rather than skip it. If he's lower tomorrow AM because of it you can dose - or not - accordingly. I think the positive effect of budesonide on his IBD is bringing his numbers down.
Thanks Kris, I was thinking about the steroid bringing his BG up so wasn't sure what dose to give given that factor.
 
I never heard of a pancreas booster. I'll have to check into that. Smoky didn't do well on regular steroids so my vet recommended budesonide for him.
 
I never heard of a pancreas booster. I'll have to check into that. Smoky didn't do well on regular steroids so my vet recommended budesonide for him.
I saw it on this forum and did a bit of research into it. A lot of the reviews are good and claim to make a difference in pancreatitis pets. I figured it is worth a shot to help support Chuck's pancreas.
ETA: here's the link to the thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/exciting-supplement.173867/#post-1916642
 
OK I'm confused again. I thought the goal was for his BG to go down over time. Smoky's BG is all over the place it seems as though there is no pattern to it. I'm giving him his shot soon and it's hard to figure out a good dose to give him with the steroid in play. I'll need to look at the meter and see what his BG was on Wed night for PMPS.
 
That definitely is the goal Lisa. Generally speaking, I'd say the goal is to get the cat regulated...yellows at preshot and high double digits at nadir. Then maybe OTJ...but regulation is the overall goal as that should be obtainable and remission isn't always.

Scanning over Smoky's SS, I see that his AMPS has generally been higher than his PMPS. As his numbers have come down, he's stayed fairly consistent that way. His numbers are really NOT bad. They're in yellows and blues most of the time, which is lovely. And if you just let your eyes scan the colors, you can see they get lower as you go through the SS.

The steorid just DOES make it harder. He's actually doing really well with it...lots of kitties on steroids are in the pinks and reds and we just have to dose around it. That tells me it probably is helping him and he's feeling better...thus having lower BGs.

190 is darn close to 200...looks like you gave 1.5? I think that was a great choice. Giving 1 on a 150/160 has gotten you good numbers in the morning...1.5 on a 190 should get you another good AMPS (maybe even a bit lower!).

I'm not sure if this clears anything up for you at all...does it?
 
Actually it does help me out a bit. Thanks for the info. The steroid is to help him with the IBD and the inflammation from that. Are blue PS's a bad thing or should I be trying for yellow BG numbers? The budesonide tends to raise his BG in the am.
 
Blue preshots are good. Basically you want 2 shootable numbers but if you're getting that you want those lower preshots that you can still shoot. So the budenosiude is affecting AMPS? When do you give it again?
 
Blue preshots are good. Basically you want 2 shootable numbers but if you're getting that you want those lower preshots that you can still shoot. So the budenosiude is affecting AMPS? When do you give it again?
Smoky get the steroid in the PM and the effect almost always shows as a higher BG in the AM.
 
Actually it does help me out a bit. Thanks for the info. The steroid is to help him with the IBD and the inflammation from that. Are blue PS's a bad thing or should I be trying for yellow BG numbers? The budesonide tends to raise his BG in the am.
He's doing well, Lisa. Given the variety of health concerns you're working around there's very good progress showing on his SS.
 
I was not able to get a big enough blood sample this morning so I skipped his shot. I didn't want to shoot blind or keep sticking him a bunch of times. It's rare that I can't get a blood drop.
 
Smoky was 160 for PMPS! That's 24 hours without insulin. I think I will try the tip Kris gave me she tried with Teasel. I fed Smoky and can wait 30 minutes and see if his BG is high enough to give insulin. Or shld I just give a reduced dose and if so how much? Keep in mind though I'll be giving him the steroid before bed which does raise his BG.
 
Smoky was 160 for PMPS! That's 24 hours without insulin. I think I will try the tip Kris gave me she tried with Teasel. I fed Smoky and can wait 30 minutes and see if his BG is high enough to give insulin. Or shld I just give a reduced dose and if so how much? Keep in mind though I'll be giving him the steroid before bed which does raise his BG.
This is a good time to try the feed/wait/test thing. When I did it I was successful. The first time I lowered the dose 0.5 u and the second time only 0.25 u. Both times he was absolutely fine.

Look at Jan. 16 and Jan. 22 on my SS where you see "note" in red near AM and PM shots.
 
It's been about 35 minutes now so I can go and test him again. I checked his BG after 40 minutes and it only went up to 167. I think I will just give him 0.75 units and see how he does on that.
 
Last edited:
It's been about 35 minutes now so I can go and test him again. I checked his BG after 40 minutes and it only went up to 167. I think I will just give him 0.75 units and see how he does on that.
Hi Lisa,

I suggest that you put in the actual BG just before shooting on your SS. You can add a note about waiting, etc. It will be helpful if this happens again.
 
I tried a new food for Smoky from Dr Pierson's newly revised list of low carb canned food. I gave him the FF roasted turkey for dinner last night. I don't know if it was the food or not but his BG shot up into pink numbers for AMPS. It was 332 for am and 212 for PMPS. I gave him 1.5 units last night and thought about giving him 2U for am shot this morning.
I gave him 1.5 units on 2/26 in am with a BG of 321. He went down to 97 in 2.5 hrs which seems to be a pretty big drop. I am home to monitor today. Any ideas on dose for am would be appreciated.
 
I tried a new food for Smoky from Dr Pierson's newly revised list of low carb canned food. I gave him the FF roasted turkey for dinner last night. I don't know if it was the food or not but his BG shot up into pink numbers for AMPS. It was 332 for am and 212 for PMPS. I gave him 1.5 units last night and thought about giving him 2U for am shot this morning.
I gave him 1.5 units on 2/26 in am with a BG of 321. He went down to 97 in 2.5 hrs which seems to be a pretty big drop. I am home to monitor today. Any ideas on dose for am would be appreciated.
Hi Lisa,
It's possible that he dropped lower overnight and the pink is a bounce number. I wouldn't increase the dose to 2 u in case it is - adding fuel to a fire. It's hard to say with the food but, given the choice, I'd vote for an overnight low. I suggest you stick with 1.5 u and if you want to experiment, feed him that FF today when you can measure BG afterward - maybe a mini curve.
 
Thanks Kris,
I was just about to give him his am shot. He was actually at the 332 at +11 hours so may have been higher at +12 hours. I will try the mini curve tomorrow as I have to pick up some more food for him today.
I'll stick with the 1.5 units for am and do a few spot checks today. Thanks for your advice:bighug:I see that Teasel has been doing fairly well over in Lantus land
 
We were "talking" over on the other person's thread so I thought I'd come here to ask if you tried the same roasted turkey FF today.
 
Last edited:
You know I didn't even realized we high jacked someone's thread.:eek: I didn't try the FF roasted turkey today yet. I just finished my " shopping" list for smoky and am going to the local Petsmart soon.
 
March 20, Smoky back to yellow numbers again. AMPS was 228 so I gave 1.6 units for am. I forgot in my small town most of the stores close at 7 pm on Sunday. I can only get the FF roasted turkey and other specialty foods at pet stores. I found some Beyond grain free pheasant and sweet potato to try for his breakfast. I looked at the ingredients after I gave it to him. It has chicken and chicken broth in it which will probably irritate the IBD.:confused: Why would the company put that in there when it is supposed to be pheasant and sweet potato.:mad: I will check his BG a few times today and watch if he has any flare ups from the IBD. It's so difficult to find food that is completely chicken and fish free.:eek:
Smoky has also started to go under the bed or in a box of blankets in my closet after meals. I'm not sure what to think of this as it is a recent behavior with him over the last week.
 
March 20, Smoky back to yellow numbers again. AMPS was 228 so I gave 1.6 units for am. I forgot in my small town most of the stores close at 7 pm on Sunday. I can only get the FF roasted turkey and other specialty foods at pet stores. I found some Beyond grain free pheasant and sweet potato to try for his breakfast. I looked at the ingredients after I gave it to him. It has chicken and chicken broth in it which will probably irritate the IBD.:confused: Why would the company put that in there when it is supposed to be pheasant and sweet potato.:mad: I will check his BG a few times today and watch if he has any flare ups from the IBD. It's so difficult to find food that is completely chicken and fish free.:eek:
Smoky has also started to go under the bed or in a box of blankets in my closet after meals. I'm not sure what to think of this as it is a recent behavior with him over the last week.
I hope he's OK. One note, though, sweet potato is carbs. His PS is not bad at all, Lisa. Re the hiding after meals: is he showing any signs of stomach upset or nausea after eating?
 
It's hard to tell sometimes with him. I haven't given the cerenia to him lately.
I have been trying out some new kinds of food due to food allergies and the IBD over the last two weeks. What symptoms should I be looking for?
 
He does seem to be a little nauseous I think. He was hanging his head over the water bowl over the weekend. He doesn't hesitate to start eating but hasn't been eating much of his food once he starts eating. How long after a meal should I wait to give him the cerenia?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top