Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 10

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Smoky

Member Since 2016
It's been about two weeks so starting a new thread.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/switching-from-vetsulin-to-prozinc-part-9.173642/

Today is Smokys 6 month anniversary since his diagnosis of FD. He goes back to the vet today for a recheck. She wants to see how he's doing on the steroid so far. It's been a week since our big move and still have a bit of unpacking and organizing to do yet.:facepalm: March 6 AMPS was 162:) he didn't have the budesonide last night so maybe that's why? I gave him 1 unit and will check later to see how he is doing.
 
It's been about two weeks so starting a new thread.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/switching-from-vetsulin-to-prozinc-part-9.173642/

Today is Smokys 6 month anniversary since his diagnosis of FD. He goes back to the vet today for a recheck. She wants to see how he's doing on the steroid so far. It's been a week since our big move and still have a bit of unpacking and organizing to do yet.:facepalm: March 6 AMPS was 162:) he didn't have the budesonide last night so maybe that's why? I gave him 1 unit and will check later to see how he is doing.
Is this the (bossy) diabetes vet? It'll be interesting to see what she thinks of his recent lower BGs and their possible connection to the budesonide.
 
Yes it's the pushy vet and she has given up on me I think. I stand firm in what I can do for treatment options for Smoky. I won't put him through countless tests and blood work every couple of weeks. She has already told me that I am doing far more for him than most pet owners. ;)
 
Yes it's the pushy vet and she has given up on me I think. I stand firm in what I can do for treatment options for Smoky. I won't put him through countless tests and blood work every couple of weeks. She has already told me that I am doing far more for him than most pet owners. ;)
Stand your ground, Lisa. :D
 
OK so I took Smoky to the vet. She asked me if I just wanted the recheck done. The vet is the one who told me I had to bring him in to get a refill called in. I'm sure she would have ordered blood work if I had let her. I would have had a $250 bill instead of $40 plus another $40 for the steroid. She is trying to get the budesonide compounded into a liquid. He is having a very hard time with swallowing the capsules.
I just updated Smokys SS and his BG is in the blue so happy about that. I'm giving him the steroid tonight. I'll post a little later about details from the vet visit.
 
Update on vet visit for Smoky: The vet was amazed that his BG numbers were so good except for a few pinks. She actually asked me if I brought a copy of his SS for her to look at.:eek: apparently he is improving with the budesonide. His stools are more formed and there are a lot more of them. I also noticed his urine balls are half the size that they were.


The vet said that all of that is a good thing as it usually means he is getting more nutrition from his food. He gained almost half a pound since the last visit and is now at 8 lbs 15 oz. She is calling in a refill for me for the budesonide in a liquid instead of the capsules.
 
Update on vet visit for Smoky: The vet was amazed that his BG numbers were so good except for a few pinks. She actually asked me if I brought a copy of his SS for her to look at.:eek: apparently he is improving with the budesonide. His stools are more formed and there are a lot more of them. I also noticed his urine balls are half the size that they were.


The vet said that all of that is a good thing as it usually means he is getting more nutrition from his food. He gained almost half a pound since the last visit and is now at 8 lbs 15 oz. She is calling in a refill for me for the budesonide in a liquid instead of the capsules.
This is great news, Lisa!!! Did you tell her that most of the SS numbers are from a human meter? ;) Half a pound weight gain is significant in a kitty. I'm so pleased for you and Smoky! :D
 
Well Kris, I didn't actually tell her what meter I used most of the time.;)
I did tell her I used a human meter on the days he was in hypo numbers. She saw the 28 and thought it was an AT2 reading!
I had asked her what numbers I should be looking for with PS and nadir and she gave me a blank look. She just said 100 to 300 are good numbers but didn't say for what.
 
Well Kris, I didn't actually tell her what meter I used most of the time.;)
I did tell her I used a human meter on the days he was in hypo numbers. She saw the 28 and thought it was an AT2 reading!
I had asked her what numbers I should be looking for with PS and nadir and she gave me a blank look. She just said 100 to 300 are good numbers but didn't say for what.
We know how to read/understand numbers better than most vets. Sue often said to aim for low 200s at PS and low 100s or high double digits at nadir as a general guide to good numbers.
 
I usually have a no shot number if BG is under 150. I know the steroid will raise it some though. Now I feel like Susan did with dosing Timmie last night.:oops:
I will give him the 1 unit for tonight and test him before bed.
 
I'm not sure if this has been suggested... When my angel kitty, Bubba, was in congestive heart failure he was on a lot of pills. A huge potassium pill at first then switched to gel. I would cover the pill in his pate. Angle it long ways so it didn't go down sideways. I would then "shove" it (very gently) into the back of his mouth and he swallowed it down much easier. I would do this from behind, leaning over him. I would gently raise his chin and kiss his nose while he swallowed the pills. His other pills, I would wad up in a chunk of pate and wipe them into the back of his throat and he swallowed them with no issues, with a kiss on the nose every time. By the end he was a pro at taking pills. Idk if Smoky would allow this method or if it would work but it might be worth a try.
 
When you get the budesonide in liquid, Lisa, dab a bit on your finger and taste it to see if it's bitter or not. I always do that with pet meds so I know beforehand what I'm up against. That little taste won't hurt you.
 
I picked up the budesonide in liquid form.
Smokys PMPS was 215, am was 234 so I guess I shld have given him 1.5U for am.
I'm thinking that the 1.5 unit dose wld be good for tonight. I don't usually give him the steroid until right before bed.
 
March 12: Smoky AMPS was 254 and I am thinking of trying 1.8U this morning. Is that too much? I can test him later plus trying to figure out what dose to give for the curve tomorrow.
Smokys +4 was 120, shld I check him again before PMPS?
 
Last edited:
He fights me sometimes about having his BG tested. He is not one of those kitties who runs to the testing site. He is very food and treat motivated but still resistant to the testing aspect. I gave him the 1.8 units and he ate about 6 oz of food this morning.
 
Poor Smoky does have to take quite a few meds. We have only been at our new place two weeks today so the cats are still a bit stressed out yet. He is being more sociable and has a very good appetite.
I noticed that Teasel seems to be doing well on the Lantus the second time around:) even though it's still early days yet.:joyful:
Going to go grab a nap before his next test, didn't sleep much last night. Maybe DST having an effect.:eek:
 
March 13: Smoky BG at 273 using Relion meter and 353 using AT2 meter. I want to dose according to human meter as that is what I use for day to day. Any advice on dose for am? I'm thinking I should try 2 units since I am home to monitor today.
 
Last edited:
March 13: Smoky BG at 273 using Relion meter and 353 using AT2 meter. I want to dose according to human meter as that is what I use for day to day. Any advice on dose for am? I'm thinking I should try 2 units since I am home to monitor today.
Yes, try the 2 u dose. You know what to do if he starting going too low. :)
 
Yep I just bought him some HC food yesterday. We are expecting a big snowstorm in southeastern Pennsylvania on Tuesday.:nailbiting: I'm hoping our power doesn't go out. I worry about that with the insulin needing to be kept cold.
 
Yep I just bought him some HC food yesterday. We are expecting a big snowstorm in southeastern Pennsylvania on Tuesday.:nailbiting: I'm hoping our power doesn't go out. I worry about that with the insulin needing to be kept cold.
Unless the power is out a very long time your fridge should stay cold enough inside to keep the insulin at a safe temperature.
 
We are getting that storm too tonight. Keeping things cold shouldn't be an issue. If the power goes out fill a cooler with bags of snow to make an insulin fridge so you can keep the fridge closed.
 
We are getting that storm too tonight. Keeping things cold shouldn't be an issue. If the power goes out fill a cooler with bags of snow to make an insulin fridge so you can keep the fridge closed.
But you don't want to accidentally freeze the insulin.
 
LIFE got in the way of the curve again. o_OWe're trying to prepare for the upcoming storm which is supposed to be 14 to 18 inches here. I did manage to get a few spot checks in though.
 
Smokys BG numbers for today: AMPS- 273 on Relion meter, 353 on AT2 meter.
+3 at 156, +5.5 at 101, +8.5 at 172,
PMPS- 181 on Relion meter, 116 on AT2 meter. Am I missing something here? Smokys BG dropped again, is that normal?
 
Here's my next question: 116 is too low for a shot but I'm giving him the budesonide tonight. I know that will raise it somewhat but not sure what to do now.
 
Here's my next question: 116 is too low for a shot but I'm giving him the budesonide tonight. I know that will raise it somewhat but not sure what to do now.
Could you try stalling up to an hour in 20 minute increments without feeding to see if he gets closer to your OK to shoot number? Something I did with Teasel a few times was just feed him, wait about 45 minutes, test his BG (which would by raised by food) and then give a reduced dose.
 
He didn't eat too much today and was extremely hungry. I gave him some food about 30 minutes ago. I thought maybe he could skip tonight and start new tomorrow. I cld also give him half a dose of the steroid as I don't want to skip that again. What do you think? I may also have to give him his am dose earlier than usual with the snow coming and getting to work earlier
 
He didn't eat too much today and was extremely hungry. I gave him some food about 30 minutes ago. I thought maybe he could skip tonight and start new tomorrow. I cld also give him half a dose of the steroid as I don't want to skip that again. What do you think? I may also have to give him his am dose earlier than usual with the snow coming and getting to work earlier
Yes to all, Lisa. You have to do what works for you. Smoky will be back in blue and yellow very quickly. He looks darker on his back in your new pic. Is his coat growing in some?
 
Yes his coat has almost grown back in Kris. He still has some hair coming in on his side where he had the ultrasound done. My camera on my phone isn't great, I think I need an upgrade.:rolleyes:
The snow forecast is now up to a possible 23 inches here.:eek:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top