Switching from Novulin to Glargine

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitties Momma

Member Since 2011
Hello all. I inherited Milo a month ago. He was my mother’s cat. He has had diabetes for 4.5 years, Mom fed him a bad diet and never tested him. I had a diabetic cat years ago and knew when I saw Milo he needed help. I have taken him to the vet twice, he has a Libre monitor now. I also asked to switch him to Glargine as I know it’s better insulin. I have also done away with his kibble and he eats FF, Tiki Cat and canned tuna. His dose is 3U 2x a day of Novulin. Going down to 2U of Glargine 2x a day. Just wanted others stories on switching. Anything to be aware of?
 
Hello all. I inherited Milo a month ago. He was my mother’s cat. He has had diabetes for 4.5 years, Mom fed him a bad diet and never tested him. I had a diabetic cat years ago and knew when I saw Milo he needed help. I have taken him to the vet twice, he has a Libre monitor now. I also asked to switch him to Glargine as I know it’s better insulin. I have also done away with his kibble and he eats FF, Tiki Cat and canned tuna. His dose is 3U 2x a day of Novulin. Going down to 2U of Glargine 2x a day. Just wanted others stories on switching. Anything to be aware of?
@Wendy&Neko
 
When did you switch the diet? Could you put notes in the Remarks column of the SS when the diet changed. That column is a good place to note things that might impact blood glucose (BG). Going to a lower carb food should be done gradually, and he may need a lot lower insulin dose. Plus a sudden diet change can cause GI upset.

Typically when a cat switches from another insulin to glargine, we look at how low that insulin is taking the kitty. It'd be great if you had more night time data on Milo so we can see what his nadirs have been.
 
@Kitties Momma
Hi can you add to your signature Novolin then put Glargine 10-8, food you are feeding , date diagnosed and Libre
On your spreadsheet that blank line you put above 10-8 Please put Now Glargine and highlight it any color ,sometimes members don't see it in the remarks section.
By the way in your post above the link you have for your spreadsheet doesn't open , the one that does open
This is the one that works is this one
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1THIVXSV4krNXT48DjLH4qXgx8jlMPtGZ2gC7Dji00qk/edit
Milo’s spreadsheet.
Do link this one to your signature and get rid of the first one you have
On your spreadsheet up top where the color codes are that one you have colored Orange should be Lime Green BG<50

So you can you get rid of the first one and add this one to your signature :cat:
@Kitties Momma
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top