Switching from Feline to Human meter, help needed with spreadsheet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angel's mommie

Member Since 2017
Hello everyone! Am back from a month in India (will fill in the SS by and by -- the vet tech who came to give Angel his insulin shots recorded his readings on paper), and switched from Feline to Hoomin meter (Bayer Contour next) today -- those Alphatrak strips have been just too 'spensive to continue. Please, could someone help with the SS? Is it possible to convert the old Feline meter SS to a Human meter one (preferable option?) Or do I need to switch to a whole new SS, preferably another sheet within the same worksheet? Thank you!
 
Hello everyone! Am back from a month in India (will fill in the SS by and by -- the vet tech who came to give Angel his insulin shots recorded his readings on paper), and switched from Feline to Hoomin meter (Bayer Contour next) today -- those Alphatrak strips have been just too 'spensive to continue. Please, could someone help with the SS? Is it possible to convert the old Feline meter SS to a Human meter one (preferable option?) Or do I need to switch to a whole new SS, preferably another sheet within the same worksheet? Thank you!
Yes...I can switch it over and you will have the same SS. I'll send you a private message as I need to get some info from you. Can do easy!!!:)

Welcome back.
 
What's the conversion from AlphaTrak to a human meter, by the way?
Heather&Dagron: I've always wanted to know, but from all I've read, there does not seem to be an easy or precise conversion for complicated reasons (I'd also called Alphatrak to ask, but they would not give me a precise answer), but if you'll look at the four samples I've taken below, you'll get a sense of the approximate relationship between the two, also keeping in mind that all meters are legally allowed to be 10% or some such thing off (sigh) so are approximations at best:

Feline meter (Alphatrak II) 80 = 59 on Human meter (Bayer Contour next)
F 158 = 121 H
F 89 = 75 H
F 187 = 140 H
 
Last edited:
@Heather&Dagron and @Angel's mommie

Not only is there no easy or precise conversion, there shouldn’t be between human meters and pet meters with the assay methods and technology currently used.

There has not been enough research to see how they might correlate and the small scatterings of data taken by members here and there (including me) are indicative of the inconsistency in comparisons.

The TR protocol does reference that a plasma equivalent pet meter, such as the AT2, is approximately 30-40% higher at the lower ranges and further, they suggest that at the lower limit of the range of the TR protocol, 18 mg/dL be added so that a reduction point of 50 on a human meter becomes 68 on the AT2. This was done so that pet meter users would have some idea of where a safe reduction point would be.

I did a multitude of comparisons between my AT2 and my ReliOn Micro (you can see them on Gracie’s SS under the “AT2/Micro Comparison” tab). Let me give you some examples of the variation from different days with low numbers on the Micro:

AT2 Micro
76 38
58 35
52 30
81 46
59 44

That’s just a few of the comparisons I did using the exact same AT2 and the exact same Micro. As you can see, there is no consistency. For me, I tested a lot and the AT2 strips would have really been expensive over the long haul but if they hadn’t been, it would have been the only meter I would have used. It’s the one I trusted when numbers were headed down.

Based on the data I collected, I concluded:
  • if I wanted to know what her number was on the AT2, I tested with both of them from the same blood sample and the number I always trusted was the AT2 number
  • making a comparison between the two is purely speculative and there is not enough consistency to draw safe conclusions
  • never get complacent about a low number on the Micro by assuming it’s much higher on the AT2; sometimes it was, sometimes it wasn’t
  • when Gracie was really sick the last week of her life and was at numbers she had never, ever even been close to, the AT2 actually read less than the Micro....repeatedly.
It doesn’t matter what the numbers are in comparison to each other on the high end because the immediate concern of hypoglycemia is not there. It’s the reason why we don’t get wrapped up in when to take increases on the AT2. If the cat’s nadirs are 300 on the AT2 or the Micro, the cat needs more juice. you’re looking at trends and not specific numbers.

Here is an interesting discussion about Pet and Human Meter Comparisons.

The allowable variation between tests for a specific meter (not brand but the one you hold in your hand) is 20% from test to test.

I hope that helps. From time to time, we see the discussions arise again about pet and human meter comparisons. My advice is: avoid them.

Questions or thoughts?
 
Marje, thanks for that in-depth explanation. We just saw the vet on Friday and he is put out by me using a human meter. Keeps trying to get me to switch. I tried to explain to him that the numbers don't matter so much if I know what to do when I see X number. If Dagron didn't have to be sedated for blood draws, I'd suggest we each do a test at the same time.
 
Marje, thanks for that in-depth explanation. We just saw the vet on Friday and he is put out by me using a human meter. Keeps trying to get me to switch. I tried to explain to him that the numbers don't matter so much if I know what to do when I see X number. If Dagron didn't have to be sedated for blood draws, I'd suggest we each do a test at the same time.
You’re welcome.

I’ve run my meters against the vet’s AT2 and even the lab many times. As long as they are taking blood, you just ask them to bring a tiny drop off the end of the syringe; it doesn’t matter if he’s sedated or not. I actually found that there was variance between my vet’s AT2 and mine on the same drop of blood but it wasn’t much. When I used a One Touch mini (boy did I LOVE that meter but the sample size was too big), it was often very close to the lab’s value. My Micro was all over the place with the lab :eek: It didn’t really matter...I kinda did it just cuz I’m a biologist and I love numbers. If I wasn’t such a testaholic (which I needed to be with my Gracie girl), I’d have used the AT2 all the time.

My vet never gave me any issue about using the Micro and they shouldn’t. Next time your vet mentions it, you might just wink and say “are you buying the strips?”.
 
Marje and Gracie: thank you for that extremely helpful response. I'm going to follow your advice and stay away from the impulse to 'mentally convert' -- and will also keep a solid stash of AT2 strips for emergencies. In particular, I want to keep in mind the bit about not getting complacent about a low number on the Human Meter by assuming it'll be much higher on the AT -- something I actually did just today, when Angel read 33 on the Human Meter.
 
Marje and Gracie: thank you for that extremely helpful response. I'm going to follow your advice and stay away from the impulse to 'mentally convert' -- and will also keep a solid stash of AT2 strips for emergencies. In particular, I want to keep in mind the bit about not getting complacent about a low number on the Human Meter by assuming it'll be much higher on the AT -- something I actually did just today, when Angel read 33 on the Human Meter.
Good to be cautious with any number lower than 50 on a human meter and 68 on a pet meter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top