Switching from Caninsulin to ProZinc?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy1980

Member Since 2016
My vet has prescribed Caninsulin for my cat about a week ago. He gets 2 units twice a day. I think he needs more because he is still pushing 20-23 BG in the morning. It will lower to about 7 after 4 hours. I'm due to take him for a recheck and glucose check in another week. Do you guys think he needs more insulin or a longer lasting one like Prozinc? I've thought about lantus too but I don't like having to buy the pens? Can I just switch and monitor his glucose? Is there any difference other than how long it lasts?
 
My vet has prescribed Caninsulin for my cat about a week ago. He gets 2 units twice a day. I think he needs more because he is still pushing 20-23 BG in the morning. It will lower to about 7 after 4 hours. I'm due to take him for a recheck and glucose check in another week. Do you guys think he needs more insulin or a longer lasting one like Prozinc? I've thought about lantus too but I don't like having to buy the pens? Can I just switch and monitor his glucose? Is there any difference other than how long it lasts?


Caninsulin (Vetsulin) is a very harsh, fast acting insulin. It tends to bring the numbers down very quickly. You said the morning preshot was around 20-23 mmol/L (360-414 US) and then the +4 hour after shot was 7mmol/l (126 US) That is bascially how Caninsulin works with most kitties. The drop comes early and is usually at the low point around the =4 to +5 hour after the shot. Then over the time between shots the glucose numbers will rise again. Caninsulin does not usually last a full 12 hours with most kitties. Quite often the effects of the insulin will wear off around the +9-+10 hour post shot.

We have had some members here who have done well on Caninsulin, but it is a type that requires close monitoring with home-testing...which is really a necessary thing to do with any insulin.... but especially with the harsher fast acting insulins like Caninsulin.

Considering that the 2 units dose twice a day is getting your kitty down to 7mmol/l (126US) then that shows the insulin is working, and you would not want to increase that dose. You have to look at how low the dose is taking your kitty.

Prozinc is a good insulin and has worked well for many members. Lantus and Levemir are other good long-lasting insulins as well.

If you are able to monitor your kitty, before each shot and especially in the first 4 or 5 hours after the shot, I might suggest giving it some more time at the dose you are on and seeing how the numbers go. It would be VERY helpful if you could set up a spreadsheet to record your readings. This is useful for yourself, your vet and any members who want to offer any advice,

This is the link to setting up a spreadsheet.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

You can use the one with the world numbers and it automatically converts to the US system on another tab so that US members (who have a different glucose numbering system) can follow your readings;

https://drive.google.com/previewtemplate?id=1JQ136YHkxNhhku9AML_OKGHkrg3Ixe27BWAdWONlnP0&mode=public


If you have any problems with setting up a spreadsheet just let us know. There are some "techie gurus" who can help you out (I had to have help with mine :( )
 
I've thought about lantus too but I don't like having to buy the pens?

What are you concerned about with the pens? We use the regular insulin syringes just like with a vial and just pull the insulin out of the pen. If you take the cap off, there's a rubber stopper just like there is with a vial, and since each pen only holds 300 units, you're more likely to be able to use every drop in the pen instead of having the insulin lose it's "oomph" and have to be thrown away.
 
Thanks guys. I was looking for the spreadsheet but couldn't find it. For the Lantus pens, aren't they expensive? Can you re-use it? I'm not sure what they are. I know I can get a box of 100 syringes for Caninsulin at about 50 dollars.
 
Are you in Canada, Kathy? If so, a 5 pack of Lantus pens will be around $150 (US), but they will last you 10 months or more. That works out to being less than $15 a month for insulin.

I'm not sure how much Lantus syringes are in Canada, but in the US they're about $13-$25 for 100 depending on where you buy them. As Chris mentioned, you treat the pen just like a vial and draw the insulin out with a syringe. We just prefer to buy the pens because they are more cost effective. A vial of Lantus is 1000 units of insulin--and most of it will go bad before you can use all of it. Because the pens are a smaller container (300 units), you use all or nearly all the insulin before it goes bad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top